top of page

'The Silent Mother' by Liz Lawler



Book Description:


The phone rings. It’s the call every parent dreads. My beautiful son is dead. He’d been the centre of my world from the moment he was born. Now my perfect life is shattered. In the midst of my grief, I receive an anonymous letter telling me that Tom’s death was not an accident. So I’ve come to the apartment where my only child lived to find out what really happened. Tom was newly qualified as a doctor, he had a bright future ahead of him. Nothing about the day he died makes sense. As I get to know the medical staff Tom worked with and his friends living nearby, I’m drawn into a tangled web of lies. Whispers and rumours circulate along the hospital corridors and I start to question how well I really knew my precious boy. But a mother knows when things don’t add up. His girlfriend has been keeping her pregnancy secret. His best friend betrayed him in the weeks before Tom’s death. His neighbours all have something to hide. Which one of them would kill? As I get closer to the truth, the stakes become more dangerous. And I realise I could be next on their list…







Extract from Chapter One


21 AUGUST


Ruth wheeled her overnight suitcase to the door. Apart from the bed showing evidence of a restless sleeper with its tangle of sheets, the room was as tidy as when she’d checked in. She stepped out into the corridor and let the door close behind her, breathing deeply to calm her racing heart. It had been beating uncomfortably since receiving his voicemail yesterday. Something in his voice said she needed to be worried. She stared at the black screen of her mobile, willing it to light up and display a new message. She didn’t want to call. He’d asked her not to, leaving her blind to what was going on, though it hadn’t stopped her sending him a text when she arrived at the hotel. She hoped to surprise him by letting him know she was already in Bournemouth and not travelling this morning. She hoped they would meet up, but he hadn’t replied. She had to respect his wishes. They were similar creatures, needing time alone to filter out anxiety so they could focus on staying calm. She listened to the message again. ‘Mum, sorry to do this to you without warning, but I’m in a bit of bind to be honest and could do with your moral support. Don’t be shocked, but I had to go before a magistrates’ court. Try not to worry. I haven’t murdered anyone. But I’m now up before a judge tomorrow at Bournemouth Crown Court. Don’t call. Please. We’ll talk tomorrow. And wear your no-nonsense suit. You look a warrior in it. My barrister is named Jacob Cadell. He seems good. So, fingers crossed. Okay, hope to see you there… and love you.’ Her stomach dipped at hearing the false bravado again. Thomas was not easily unnerved. She couldn’t remember him ever being afraid. Despite telling her not to worry, she was worried. Very worried.





Author Bio:

Liz Lawler had a 20-year career as a nurse and later became a general manager of a five star hotel before her career as an author began. She is the author of 'Don't Wake Up', a Physiological Medical Thriller, which is an Amazon Best Seller and has over 1000 five star reviews. Her second book 'I'll Find You', a Physiological Thriller, is also an Amazon Best Seller. Liz has three children and lives in Bath with her husband. She originates from Chatham, Kent, but has lived in Somerset for a number of years now. She is part of a large family, and has eleven brothers and sisters who grew up sharing anything from socks to a chair at the table. Liz has always had a love for books from a very early age, but found her passion for writing at a later stage in life and has been unable to put the pen down since. She is signed to Bookouture.com for her next two books, and her books have been translated in over 12 languages. She loves books and all things bookish! If you have time, say hello to her on Twitter @AuthorLizLawler or on her Facebook page.





Buy Links:





14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page