top of page

The Silent Bride by Shalini Boland. Review


THE SILENT BRIDE – Out June 1st

HAPPY PUBLICATION DAY SHALINII!!!




The Blurb


Alice and Seth are a perfect love story: the handsome doctor and his beautiful fiancée. They’re wealthy, well liked and made for each other—the envy of all their friends. Alice can’t wait for the day of their dream wedding. But when she arrives at the altar, she doesn’t recognise the man waiting to marry her.

When this stranger insists he’s Seth, her husband-to-be, the entire congregation seems to agree. Even her parents try to persuade Alice to go through with the wedding.

As panic sets in, Alice’s world comes apart. Where is the real Seth, and why have all traces of him disappeared from her life? Fearing she’s losing her mind, she sets out to uncover the truth and escape the nightmare she’s living in. But with everyone around her convinced by the fake Seth, how can she ever hope to find the man she loves?





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Silent Wife' by Shalini Boland.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Shalini Boland and Thomas & Mercer.


Publication date 1st June 2023.

HAPPY PUBLICATION DAY SHALINI!!!



This is the eleventh book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'The Other Daughter', 'The Wife', 'The Couple Upstairs', 'One Of Us Is Lying','A Perfect Stranger', 'The Family Holiday', 'My Little Girl', 'The Daughter In Law', 'Hidden' and 'Taken', all of which I highly recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. I am also a huge fan of Shalini and if this is half as good as 'The Other Daughter', 'The Wife', 'One Of Us Is Lying', 'A Perfect Stranger', 'The Family Holiday', 'The Couple Upstairs', 'My Little Girl', 'The Daughter In Law', 'Hidden' and 'Taken' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Thomas & Mercer. I have yet to read a book published by Thomas & Mercer that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists a prologue, 45 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Ringwood, Hampshire, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. The fact that this book is based in England is even better as I have been on holiday in England many times so may even recognise some places Shalini has set the book around.

This book is written in first person perspective with the main protagonists being Alice Porter and an unknown narrator. The benefits of books written in first person perspective with multiple protagonists are, as long as they are well written, it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them.


'The Silent Bride' discusses some topics that may trigger or upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Shalini discusses/includes gaslighting and domestic abuse.



WOW!! Where to even start?!? Firstly I must say yet again I was NOT disappointed by the very talented Shalini Boland!!! I started reading this book this morning and finished it in a few hours. Yet again being completely blind sighted by THAT ending!!


It is extremely well written as is every book I have read by Shalini with vivid descriptions that really put you in the storyline. The synopsis, title and cover work perfectly with the storyline. Every single time I told myself I'd finish the chapter and then put it down and every single time I was left with a sort of cliff hanger refusing to allow me to put it down.


If your planning on reading this I would recommend clearing your schedule as there is no way you will be able to put it down after you've read THAT prologue!!!


Shalini smashes it out of the ballpark yet again!!! I don't even bother reading the synopsis for Shalini's books before grabbing a copy as I can guarantee I will love it and won't be able to put it down!!! This book has an absolutely gripping storyline which I got completely sucked into. It is a great unputdownable page turner filled with suspense, mistrust, revenge, tension, accusations deceit, mystery, love, friendship twists, lies and absolutely everything you could want in an absolutely gripping domestic drama/psychological thriller!! The book is absolutely gripping from the very first page until the EXPLOSIVE twist at the end which I DID NOT EXPECT!!! I have no idea how this queen of crime comes out with such amazing twists but she manages it each and every time which is exactly why I love, Love, LOVE HER BOOKS!!! Shalini's evocative writing skills ensures the story and characters come to life all-around the reader ensuring they feel, see and hear everything the characters are! This epic page turner begins with with an unknown narrator throwing the reader straight into the action. We then move onto Alice's walk down the aisle to marry the man of her dreams Seth Evans. The day of her dreams is finally here and she cannot wait to say I Do!!! However, when her husband to be turns around he is not the man she agrees to marry!!! Where is Seth? Who are the people claiming to be his parents? Why can no one else see they are not the people they claim to be? After that huge bombshell Shalini takes us into Alice's past to before she gets engaged. We get to meet her family, her friends and see what happened in the lead up to the wedding. Why does something always come up any time Alice wants him to meet her family and friends? Does her sisters husband still have feelings for her? Will she get the partnership she has been promised in work? We are taken from the past to the present where Alice has more problems to deal with as she is hit with one problem after another!!! Where is she going to live now? Is that her abusive ex boyfriend she just seen in town? Thankfully she has such a supportive network of friends including Daisy and Laurence who she grew up with and are part of her three amigos, their partners Martin and Francesca plus her colleague and friend Miriam. Her family isn't as supportive and don't understand why she doesn't just start again with the 'new' Seth. I loved the storyline, especially the shocking plots that I would never have seen coming! Not just one either!! There's nothing worse than when you have worked everything out and your not even half way through a book so a massive well done for that!! I definitely did not even have the person involved in my suspect list AT ALL, wasn't even close to working out what was going on, soooo many red herrings and as for the epilogue don't even get me started!!!! Absolutely mind blown!!! I absolutely love the fact that I know Shalini will never fail and that every time I read one of her books I can guarantee it is going to be an absolute page turner. If you have never read any books by this extremely talented author then you are definitely missing out!! An absolutely explosive rollercoaster ride with family drama and a mind blowing twist.


I haven't been that shocked in a book in a while so WELL DONE Shalini!! This book is will keep you on the edge of your seat from beginning to end. I really could not compliment this book any more it is an absolutely gripping, addictive and shocking page turner.


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture



The characters were all well rounded and realistic with their own personality traits, strengths and weaknesses. It was very interesting watching how the bonds strengthened and weakened between characters throughout the storyline. I had mixed feelings for each of the characters throughout but one thing I love about the characters in all of Shalini's books is that she makes them jump out of the page and puts you right next to them throughout. Having so many different perspectives ensures you get to know each one and see what they are doing. I absolutely loved the last chapter, something I love with Shalini is that she always seems to dedicate the last chapter to a certain character in books and completely shocks you making you really want to see what happens next and several times I've been left hoping and wondering if that storyline will be carried on. There were certain characters I was suspicious of, others I really liked and others that really annoyed me with their attitude. However many of them shocked me when the truth is revealed!!! I can't say anymore as it's too much of a risk that I may give something away so I will end with saying regardless of how you feel about any of them they each play their parts perfectly to make this such a gripping and addictive page turner!!!



A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to Shalini Boland for another absolutely fantastic success!! I cannot wait to read more of your amazing work!! I really would love to see your books on the big screen one day, I can guarantee they will be a success if they are even half as good as the books you write!!! Here is to your next huge "blockbuster"!!! 🥂


Overall a page turning, gripping, epic psychological thriller with an explosive ending that will blow your mind!!.


Genres covered in this novel include Women's Psychological Fiction, Crime, Thriller And Mystery Adventures, Thriller, Mystery, Suspense, Psychological Thriller, Literary Fiction, Suspense Thriller, Psychological Literary Fiction, Psychological Fiction, Contemporary Fiction, Noir Fiction, Womens Psychological, Domestic Thriller, Mystery ,Thriller & Suspense Literary Fiction, Crime Thriller, Suspense Thriller, Psychological Suspense, Domestic Fiction, Domestic Thriller and Thriller amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl and The Wife Between Us and of course Shalini Boland and just anyone looking for an epic read with a twist. What are you waiting for?? Go grab your copy now!!!


267 pages.



This book is just £2.99 to purchase on kindle, free on kindle unlimited and £4.99 in paperback via Amazon at time of review, which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@TheSilentWife @ShaliniBoland @Thomas&Mercer @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited



















 

About the Author


Shalini Boland is the USA-Today bestselling author of seventeen psychological thrillers. With over two million copies sold, her titles are published by Amazon Publishing, Audible, Bookouture, and Grand Central Publishing.






Social Media Links







Purchase Links









7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page