top of page

'The Secret Admirer' by Carol Wyer

Review for 'The Secret Admirer' by Carol Wyer


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers


This is the second book that I have read by this author. The first being 'The Blossom Twins' which was the 5th book in the 'Detective Natalie Ward' series, this is the 6th. I thoroughly enjoyed 'The Blossom Twins' and look forward to reading this (written before I started reading).


Although this book is the 6th in a series it can definitely be read as a standalone. There are parts where events from previous books are mentioned but any details needed are given, including in flashbacks which I enjoyed reading even though I have read the book the event happened in. I won't say much more in case readers wish to read the previous books, I don't want to spoil it for them.


I was originally drawn to this book by its intriguing cover and blurb. I must admit I was also biased due to the author and the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 38 chapters and a prologue which are medium in length so not too bad for 'just one more chapter', like that ever happens for me, more like 3 or 4 more!!


This book is set in England which is always a bonus for me. I'm from Wales but visit England regularly on trips and holidays so have visited quite a few areas. This helps me picture places if they are mentioned in books and I have visited them.


This series has a strong female lead which is also a bonus, being female myself it's always great to see some strong females in books.


The story is told from several points of view I always enjoy being able to see from several of the detectives perspectives as you can read more about more of what is going on with the case, what various witnesses and suspects say and make your own decisions on their innocence or guilt.


The writing is smooth and very easy to read. The descriptions are excellent and I really felt that I was in the novel. I even got teary at the end!!


The characters all have fantastic personalities and I love how realistic they are. Murray and Lucy made me laugh on several occasions with their attitude. I really feel for Natalie and what she has been through and the relationship between Ian and Murray is also quite funny. Although it's a crime book I love that there are several parts that are more light hearted and made me laugh as it mixes it up a bit. I'm moving straight on to the next book in the series as I cannot wait to read more about them!!!!


The storyline was fast paced, intriguing and filled with mystery, murder, suspense, crime and deceit. A true page turning thriller.


I didn't guess what was going to happen which is always a bonus when it comes to crime novels.... Nothing worse than working it all out before your even half way through!


I would recommend this book to fans of murder, crime, thrillers, suspense, fans of Carol Wyer and just anyone looking for a fantastic read!!


370 pages


Free on kindle unlimited or £2.99 to purchase. I think this is a bargain for this book by a very talented author!


Rated 5/5 ( I LOVED 😍 IT) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon.Com and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads for more reviews


@CarolWyer Bookouture Bookouture Anonymous! @Bookworm1986

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page