top of page

'The School Of Hard knocks' by Oliver Strong

Book Description


Rick and his crew live where the law is what you make it and the taxman doth fear to tread. While a war rages he profiteers on the misery of others, a parasite of dignity.

Despite his plan to sit it out from the sidelines he's drawn in. As time passes the choice between his conscience and cold hard cash is not so simple.





BOOK REVIEW



Review for 'The School Of Hard Knocks ' by Oliver Strong.



Read and reviewed for Oliver Strong.



Publication date 10th April 2018



This is the second book I have read by this author. I have also read Frank Midgette's Case Files: The Dead Pan which I would also highly recommend!!



This novel consists of 17 chapters. The chapters are short in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!




This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonist is Captain Rick Katusa. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


OMFG THIS BOOK IS ABSOLUTELY HILARIOUS!! AN ABSOLUTE MUST READ!! IF YOU ARE EASILY OFFENDED THEN LOOK NO FURTHER!!



The first thing I want to point out is that although this is a science fiction book, if you are not a fan of science fiction PLEASE DO NOT LET THIS PUT YOU OFF!! I am not a fan of science fiction at all but OMG THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I HAVE EVER LISTENED TO!!! Honestly I genuinely cannot remember the last time I laughed so much and was so devastated to come to the end of a book!!! I was gutted when the book finished and I had to say Goodbye to Rick, Annyah and the rest of the team. If you are easily offended then this book really is not for you!!! It has got to be one of the most politically incorrect books I have ever read and I absolutely LOVE it!!! It is a breathe of fresh air to have a book that isn't limited in all the PC rubbish which has gone beyond now!! I have never read a book that had me spitting out my tea in laughter so quickly!!! I had the audiobook playing in my kitchen and my partner burst out laughing every time he heard it playing and was actually interested in a book which is a first so well done Oliver!! I absolutely loved the soundtracks and music that was played on the audiobook which made it all the more realistic and gripping. I have to say this is the best audiobook I have EVER listened to!!!! Well done Oliver on an absolutely addictive storyline and well done Simon for bringing this fantastic story to life!! Rick is one of the worst yet best characters I have ever "met" and God forbid you get on his wrong side!!! Rick takes absolutely no cr@p and during this fast paced read you will see his attitude towards his enemy Neg Aanyah. Rick is captain of his ship Sonnet and is a stripper along with his team that consists of mild mannered tactical officer Sam, Dyson, Peters, Allen by and Graham. I absolutely loved going on this adventure with them and watching Rick's lover Shaniqua getting her butt whopped by Aanyah, Sam joining Rick's other enemy Earth corps, Rick insulting custom officers, exploring Piraxis and so much more especially the extremely unexpected marriage!! This is one of those books filled with the type of characters that are completely unforgettable and I would absolutely love to see more of them all!!


This is only the fourth book that I have listened 100% on Audiobook. If I listen to a book on audiobook I usually also read the physical book between but for the second time I listened to the whole book and I was impressed! I must say a HUGE congratulations to the narrator Simon Williams who did a great job bringing this story to life. I would listen to it in the car and while walking at any opportunity and Simon did a fantastic job on both male and female characters voices!!! I'm not only looking forward to reading more books by Oliver but also to listening to more books narrated by Simon!


CLEAR YOUR SCHEDULES BEFORE PICKING UP THIS ABSOLUTE PAGE TURNING MUST READ AS YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO PUT IT DOWN. However I advise avoiding reading it in public due to so many lol moments you may get a few funny looks!!!


A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to Oliver who wasn't afraid to make a book that is the opposite of PC!! AN absolutely hilarious read and a breathe of fresh air! You have definitely made my favourite author list!! Here is to what is guaranteed to be your next explosive success 🥂!!



Overall an unforgettable rollercoaster ride filled with the craziest adventures with the most insulting and hilarious cast of characters you will ever meet!!



Genres covered in this book include Dystopian Science Fiction, Science Fiction, Dystopia, First Contact, Fantasy, Humour and First Contact Science Fiction amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as you, your friends, your dog, your great uncles cousins friend, your 29th cousin removed, your grandparents, your mother in law. I could go on but seriously everyone should read this book!!



292 pages/ 11 hours 22 minutes


This book is just £3.49 to purchase on kindle, free on kindle unlimited, £11.99 in paperback and £20.03 via Amazon at time of review which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews





@TheSchoolOfHardKnocks @OliverStrong @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads















Author Bio


Oliver Strong is an independent author, based in the UK, with over 10 books self-published in the Sci-Fi genre.


Please click on the top left of this page (My Books) and download a free sample of all e-books, a free e-reader for mac/windows/android and a free sample of available audio books in mp3 format



Social Media Links





LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/oliver-strong-990194231/



Instagram: https://instagram.com/telemachus426?igshid=YmMyMTA2M2Y=



Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6903798.Oliver_Strong



Website: https://www.strongbooks.co.uk/




Purchase Link


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post

©2020 by Bookworm86. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page