top of page

'The Safe Place' by L.A. Larkin

Book: The Safe Place

Author: L.A. Larkin

Pub Day: Nov 9th 2021


About the Book:

Her heart pounds at the sound of footsteps outside her cabin in the woods. The snap of a twig tells her someone is close by. As she treads lightly towards the back door, she says a silent prayer—don’t let him find me… Ever since Jessie Lewis reported her boyfriend, fire chief and local hero, for beating her, she’s been an outcast from the small town of Eagle Falls. And when someone sets fire to a house in the woods, killing the entire Troyer family, the locals turn on her again, taking her very public argument with Paul Troyer as proof that she lit the match. Devastated that anyone could think her capable of murder, Jessie turns to Ruth. New in town, and an ex-FBI agent, Ruth could be the exact person Jessie needs to smoke out the murderer. But can she trust her with her life? Days later, another house linked to Jessie is set ablaze. Combing the ashes for answers, she catches sight of an inscription she hasn’t seen since her childhood—since she lost someone very close to her. Is the killer is coming for her next? As local wildfires take hold of the town and everyone is evacuated, Jessie knows she must put herself in unthinkable danger to catch the killer. And when she does, will she have the strength to take them down first? From USA Today bestselling crime author L.A. Larkin, The Safe Place is a thrilling rollercoaster ride for fans of Rachel Caine, Lisa Regan and Kendra Elliot. You will not be able to put this down!






BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Safe Place' by L.A Larkin.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for L.A Larkin, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 9th November 2021.


This is the second book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'Widow's Island' which I highly recommend.



I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'Fans of Rachel Caine, Lisa Regan and Kendra Elliot. will not be able to put it down!.' I am a huge fan of all of these authors so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of L.A Larkin and if this is half as good as 'Widow's Island' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 68 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is set in Washington, USA 🇺🇸.


This book is written in third perspective and the main protagonist is Jessie Lewis and Ruth Sullivan. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


'The Safe Place' discusses some topics that may trigger some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book L.A Larkin discusses/includes Domestic abuse and miscarriage.


Wow!!! What a fast paced heart racer!!!


This book is extremely well written with extremely vivid descriptions that leaves you feeling the heat and leaves you with sweat dripping down your face. The cover, title and synopsis suit the storyline perfectly.


The storyline is action packed and very fast paced. Although I enjoyed 'Widow's Island' also by LA Larkin I must say I preferred this one and the improvement in LA Larkin's writing technique is evident throughout. The storyline is filled with tension, family, loneliness, fear, stress, fire, suspense, murder and everything that will keep your heart pounding. I am please that this book highlights domestic abuse and danger of fires. Both of these are sadly regular occasions and the devastation that both events leaves have tragic consequences. I was absolutely blown away when the arsonist was revealed so a HUGE congratulations to LA Larkin as it is getting harder and harder to shock me but you managed to blow my mind. I like the fact that everything was wrapped up at the end as I hate loose endings. I would seriously love to see this turned into a series, it definitely has the potential to be a huge success. It is a massive success even as a standalone but I would love to see what happens next. This would also make a great movie!!!


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


There was a wide range of strong, realistic and unique characters. I loved how many strong female leads there are, being female myself I always seem to connect more to female leads and in this book there are 3 huge personalities who all kick @%%!!! Jessie and Ruth both came from bad backgrounds but wouldn't lay down and go anywhere without a fight. Sharnice Manning also had a huge larger than life personality with a brilliant attitude!! I would love to meet all these ladies again!!! Marcus Harstad and Sheriff Cuffy are chauvinistic pigs and absolute @#$€¿©[€$!!! There was also another 2 like that but u won't say more as I don't want to ruin anything for future readers. My heart went out to Bill who I genuinely thought was misunderstood and did right in the end although too little too late.


An absolutely fantastic read LA Larkin!!! Congratulations on a huge success and here's to your next one 🥂


Overall a heart racing, fast paced, non stop action packed psychological thriller that will keep you up late turning the pages



Genres covered in this novel include Mystery, Thriller, Suspense, Noir Fiction, Psychological Thriller, Crime Fiction, Police Procedural and Psychological Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Rachel Caine, Lisa Regan and Kendra Elliot.


394 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@LALarkin @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86











Author Bio and Social Media


L.A. Larkin’s crime-thrillers have won her fans all over the world. Described as a superb ‘chiller thriller’ writer by Marie Claire magazine and praised by Lee Child, Louisa likes to write stories with lots of plot twists and characters that surprise. She feels very privileged to be able to brainstorm her story ideas with friends in the police and the FBI. Website: https://lalarkin.com/





Buy Links:



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comentários

Avaliado com 0 de 5 estrelas.
Ainda sem avaliações

Adicione uma avaliação
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page