top of page

'The Runaway Sisters' by Ann Bennett

Title: The Runaway Sisters

Author: Ann Bennett

Publication Day: 15/09/20


Description:


The story of two sisters fighting to survive in the darkest days of World War Two. A heartbreaking tale of resilience and bravery, about having the courage to sacrifice yourself in order to save the ones you love…


Devon, 1940: When fifteen-year-old Daisy is evacuated from her home in London, she knows she must look after her younger sister Peggy. She is the only one who can reassure Peggy that life will go back to normal, holding her close and reading to her from their one battered children’s book.


But when the sisters are taken into the countryside, Daisy quickly realises that not everyone at home is on the right side of the war. Forced to work in fields alongside orphan children, she finds herself drawn to a young boy called John, who has tried and failed to escape many times before. He protects the other children, and his bravery inspires Daisy.


Then Peggy gets sick and Daisy knows that, to save her life, they must run away. But now Peggy is not the only one Daisy is desperate to protect. As the sounds of German engines grow louder above her, Daisy is faced with an impossible choice: escape with just her sister, or risk her life to save others?


Perfect for fans of Lisa Wingate, Diney Costeloe and Shirley Dickson, The Runaway Sisters is a tale of heartwrenching loss and uplifting courage. It’s a story about family, and the light that can be found in the dark clouds of war.







BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Runaway Sisters' by Ann Bennett


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 15th September 2020


This is the first book that I have read by this author. I am looking forward to reading more!


I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful cover and intriguing and emotional blurb. I was also looking for an I between book to fit between my usual crime and thriller genre and this looked perfect. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 29 chapters which are short to medium in length so ideal to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonists are Helen and Daisy. I enjoy books written in third person with several protagonists as it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters.


This book is based in in the UK. I love books set in the UK as I live in Wales, UK and sometimes I have been to the places so can picture them better.


This book is very well written with beautiful descriptions that had me completely absorbed in the storyline. It was written very smoothly especially with the multiple timelines that blended in well together and gave the bigger picture in the best way that it could have.


The storyline was heart wrenching and emotional, packed with suspense, drama, romance, tension and much more. I could not put it down and it will be one of those books that stay with me for a long time after. The story of Daisy, Peggy, John and the other orphans was heart breaking and then the added spark discovered at the end.


The characters were very realistic and had a variety of personalities. Some I loved and some I hated with a passion. I enjoyed reading all about how their lives changed from the beginning of the war to many, many years later.


I believe Ann did alot of research into the war and it is sad to know that this could have easily been a true story. I have definitely got another top author to add to my favourites list.


Overall a page turning, heart wrenching historical novel that will stay with you for a long time after you've finished reading.


Genres covered include Historical Fiction and Historical Romance.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of a good book!!!


272 pages.


This book is £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I loved it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@AnnBennett @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86


https://kcmw86.wixsite.com/bookworm86


https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks







Author Bio:


Ann Bennett was born in a small village in Northamptonshire and now lives in Surrey. Her first book, A Daughter's Quest, originally published as Bamboo Heart, was inspired by her father's experience as a prisoner of war on the Thai-Burma Railway. The Planter's Wife (originally published as Bamboo Island) a Daughter's Promise and The Homecoming, (formerly Bamboo Road) are also about the war in South East Asia.


Ann is married with three grown up sons and works as a lawyer. For more details please visit www.bambooheart.co.uk


Author Social Media Links:


Twitter: https://twitter.com/annbennett71






BUY LINKS:


Amazon: https://geni.us/B08B65D853Social


Apple: http://ow.ly/MCo950Aa3IP


Kobo: http://ow.ly/bglK50Aa3Ho


Google: http://ow.ly/TQOn50Aa3GJ


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page