top of page

'The Rose Girls' by Jennifer Chase

Book Description:


Like a precious doll, the girl leans against the towering pine tree with her long bare legs stretched out and her hands folded neatly in her lap. Her head tilts towards the sky, but this innocent child will never feel the warm glow of morning sun again; her fragile little body is cold, her tender heart is still.


When Detective Katie Scott receives a plea from neighboring Coldwater Creek to help with a tragic murder, she doesn’t hesitate. Fifteen-year-old Ivy Miller’s naked body was found tied to a tree, a freshly inked pink rose tattoo on her arm. The word “MORE” carved into her back means sweet Ivy could be the first of many…


Katie’s heart aches for the young girl whose life ended before it had even begun. But she has her work cut out with the inexperienced police department fumbling the case at every turn. There hasn’t been a murder in this small town for as long as anyone can remember, but why will none of the locals cooperate? Katie’s only lead is a blurry photograph of Ivy’s long-missing mother found in Ivy’s bedroom. If she can find out where it was taken, Katie knows she’ll have the first clue in a mystery that has been haunting Coldwater Creek for years.


But Katie’s world crashes down when Ivy’s two best friends are found murdered in the same woods days later. Inked with the same pretty flower, the rose girls were keeping a deadly secret. Katie will never forgive herself for not making the connection in time. As mothers cling to their daughters, terrified to let them out of their sight, Katie’s search leads her to an abandoned building deep in the forest where the last photo of Ivy’s mother was taken. But will she survive long enough to stop more heart-shattering tragedies?


A totally nail-biting, keep-you-up-all-night crime thriller from a USA Today and Amazon bestselling author. Prepare to pick your jaw up from the floor at that final twist! Fans of Lisa Regan, Rachel Caine and Melinda Leigh will be absolutely gripped!



BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'The Rose Girls' by Jennifer Chase.



Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Jennifer Chase, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous



Publication date 6th February 2023.



This is the fifth book I have read by this author. It is also the ninth book in her 'Detective Katie Scott' series. I have previously read 'Last Girls Alive' which is the fourth book in this series, 'The Fragile Ones' which is the fifth book in this series, 'Pretty Broken Dolls' which is the sixth book in the series and 'Silent Little Angels' which is the seventh book in the series which I also recommend. All books can be read as standalones.




I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'A totally nail-biting, keep-you-up-all-night crime thriller from a USA Today and Amazon bestselling author. Prepare to pick your jaw up from the floor at that final twist! Fans of Lisa Regan, Rachel Caine and Melinda Leigh will be absolutely gripped! ' I am a huge fan of Lisa Regan and Melinda Leigh so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Jennifer Chase and if this is half as good as 'The Fragile Ones', 'Last Girls Alive', 'Silent Little Angels' and 'Pretty Broken Dolls' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).



This novel consists of 55 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is based in California, USA 🇺🇸.



This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonist is Detective Katie Scott. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out on anything.




Wow!!! What can I say about this page turning, nail biting crime thriller!! It was absolutely fantastically written and had me completely hooked from the first page until the last. Fantastic descriptions that really painted the picture throughout and put me in the book.



The storyline itself was unique, fast paced and filled with nail biting suspension. It was packed with action and very importantly the storyline was believable. One of the things that I love best about this amazing book series is that it doesn't matter how long since you read the previous book Jennifer manages to sick you straight back into Katie's life as if you had only just closed the last page of the previous books. This book, jist like every book in this fantastic series, gripped me from the very first page until the last, had me on the edge of my seat throughout and I read it in one sitting as I just could not put it down and ended up carrying it everywhere with me!! I had no idea who the killer was so a HUGE WELL DONE Jennifer. It is getting harder and harder to shock me but you definitely did it this time. There were many red herrings throughout which did make me doubt myself at time. This book is filled with suspense, tension, mystery, lies, secrets, murder, gore and everything you could ask for in a psychological fiction. It kept me hooked throughout and I cannot wait to read more in this series, not only the ones after but the ones I have yet to read. The fact that Jennifer has done her research absolutely shines through so congratulations Jennifer. It is a pet hate of mine when authors don't do research into certain subjects as it spoils the storyline for me.



Clear your schedules before you start this page turner as you won't be able to put it down!!!



Although this is the ninth book in the series I had would have had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.



I really enjoyed meeting all the characters again especially Katie and Gav but also getting to meet several other characters. The characters were well defined and realistic. I loved the fact that there was a strong female role model, being female myself. Katie is definitely a very likeable character who is suffering ptsd and is a force to be reckoned with. I loved her relationship with her partner Gav who is also another great character. It is lovely to see partners (work partners) who work so perfectly together and have such a fantastic bond. Relationship wise I think that Denise is perfect for Gav and Chad is perfect for Katie. I did miss Chad and Denise in this book as we don't get to see them as much as usual but at the same time I loved exploring another place with Katie, Gav and John. They are also both wonderful characters who will stay with me for a long time. I must admit that my favourite character has got to be Cisco by far. I loved how much we got to "see" him in this book and as a huge animal lover myself having animals included in books is always a bonus for me!!! However much I'm invested in Katie, Gav and Chad I'm hundred times more invested in the amazing K9 that is Cisco. This team work perfectly together to make me want to pick up book after book and turn page after page in this addictive series.



Congratulations Jennifer on yet another fantastic book. I cannot wait until your next one arrives!!! Keep up the amazing writing!!! This is exactly why you are one of my favourite authors and this is one of my favourite series. 🥂



Overall a nail biting, addictive, page turning suspense packed action crammed psychological thriller that keeps you on edge.




Genres covered in this novel include Mystery, Organized Crime, Noir Crime, Murder Fiction, Psychological Thriller, Serial Killer Thriller, Traditional Thriller Mysteries, British Detective Stories, Serial Killers, Suspense, Thriller, Crime Fiction, Hardboiled, Noir Fiction, Psychological Fiction and Police Procedural amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Melinda Leigh, C. L Taylor, Angela Marsons, Lisa Regan, Rachel Caine, Carol Wyer and anyone who has read any of Jennifer's previous books.



385 pages.



This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle and £9. 99 via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@TheRoseGirls @JenniferChase @DetectiveKatieScott @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Netgalley @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger













Author Bio:


Jennifer Chase is a multi award-winning and best-selling crime fiction author, as well as a consulting criminologist. Jennifer holds a bachelor degree in police forensics and a master’s degree in criminology & criminal justice. These academic pursuits developed out of her curiosity about the criminal mind as well as from her own experience with a violent psychopath, providing Jennifer with deep personal investment in every story she tells.




In addition, she holds certifications in serial crime and criminal profiling. She is an affiliate member of the International Association of Forensic Criminologists, and member of the International Thriller Writers.





Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Jennifer Chase here: https://geni.us/B097H5XLDVsocial




Buy Link:



You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo





--

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page