top of page

'The Postcard From Italy' by Angela Petch

Updated: Mar 18, 2022


Book Description:


Italy, 1945. ‘Where am I?’ The young man wakes, bewildered. He sees olive trees against a bright blue sky. A soft voice soothes him. ‘We saw you fall from your plane. The parachute saved you.’ He remembers nothing of his life, or the war that has torn the world apart… but where does he belong? England, present day. Antique-shop-owner Susannah wipes away a tear as she tidies her grandmother’s belongings. Elsie’s memories are fading, and every day Susannah feels further away from her only remaining family. But everything changes when she stumbles across a yellowed postcard of a beautiful Italian stone farmhouse, tucked away in Elsie’s dressing table. A message dated from World War 2 speaks of a secret love. Could her grandmother, who never talked about the past, have fallen for someone in Italy all those years ago? With Elsie unable to answer her questions, Susannah becomes determined to track down the house and find a distraction from her grief. Arriving at what is now a crumbling hotel by the sparkling Italian sea, she feels strangely at home. And after an unexpected encounter with handsome wine waiter Giacomo, she can’t tell if it’s his dark eyes or his offer to help solve her mystery that makes her heart race. Together they find a dusty chest tucked in a forgotten corner of the building. The white silk of a World War 2 parachute spills out. And the Royal Air Force identity tag nestled in the folds bears a familiar name… With Giacomo by her side, and before it’s too late for her grandmother, can Susannah discover the truth behind a shocking wartime secret at the heart of her family? Or will it tear her apart? An absolutely stunning page-turner that will sweep you away to the olive groves and majestic views of the Italian coast. Perfect for fans of Kathryn Hughes, Fiona Valpy and Victoria Hislop.



BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Postcard From Italy' by Angela Petch.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Angela Petch, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 16th March 2022.


This is the second book I have read by this author. The first book was 'The Tuscan House' which I would also recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching and colouful cover and its captivating synopsis. I also wanted to read something a bit different from the same genres I've been reading lately and this historical novel seemed to attract my attention. I am also a fan of Angela and if this as half as good as 'The Tuscan House' it is guaranteed to be an excellent read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 42 chapters. The chapters are medium to long in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in both England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 UK 🇬🇧 and Italy 🇮🇹.The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture.


This book is written in third person perspective with the protagonists being Billy (1945 onwards), Antonella (1943 onwards) and Susannah Ferguson (present) . The benefits of books written in first person perspective, especially with multiple protagonists, are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on.


Another absolutely stunning holiday where I was swept away to Italy but sadly I need to unpack my suitcase after a gorgeous journey.


Well done Angela you have done it yet again!!! Another absolutely stunningly written book whose vivid descriptions completely arrested my attention. I could feel the sand in my toes and the wind in my hair. The cover and synopsis suited the storyline perfectly.



The storyline itself is captivating and heart warming but also devastatingly heart breaking in a way. A perfect summer read filled with mystery, romance, deceit, love, family, secrets and is perfect for anyone looking for an escape. I was absolutely hooked from page one until 2.30am in the morning when I finished having not being able to put it down. The overall atmosphere worked perfectly with the storyline and I felt myself surrounded by the sea, countryside and sounds of Italy and most definitely wanting to go back. There were two storylines that were woven together perfectly throughout along with romances. You have the storyline of Susannah who runs her antique shop but comes across a postcard hidden by her elderly grandmother. This postcard takes her on a journey to Italy where she discovers much more than she bargained for. You also have the storyline of Billy and Antonella running alongside it but in the past. Billy has woken with amnesia in Italy and discovers Antonella. Billy slowly gets his memory back and makes a journey to England. The both storylines are woven perfectly and I LOVED reading them both. The plot was very realistic making it all very easy to picture. I am so glad the way it all turned out and for me it ended perfectly. An absolutely stunning book that would make an absolutely gorgeous movie!!! I loved finding out all about both Billy and Antonello's history and backgrounds. I did have to Google a few words but being set in Italy I thought this was appropriate and it also shows that the author did her research on the language, either that or knows Italian. Angela's use of Italian throughout the storyline made it more authentic. The author emerges her readers into the storyline as well as the settings and actions and emotions of the characters. I fell in love with Puglia and would love to return in the next book the amazing Angela writes. I also wanted to say that I love the fact that she mentions Angela Marsons at one point as she is one of my favourite crime authors. I have noticed she appears in several books by several different authors and I love that authors support each other in this way. Some of the storyline is written in diary entries which, again, I found this made the plot more authentic and I really enjoyed becoming totally submerged into it.


This book is fascinating and gloriously intriguing, a devastating, beautiful, heartbreaking, compelling and riveting page turner. It is perfect for fans of historical and WWll stories and of course any fans of Angela's previous books. I for one am looking forward to reading the previous and next books in this series. I definitely believe Angela has done plenty of research and it shines through.


DO NOT PICK THIS UP UNTIL YOU HAVE CLEARED YOUR SCHEDULES AS YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO PUT IT DOWN!


Get ready to pack your suitcase and depart on a journey to history and Italy, you won't regret it or forget it!


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


The characters are absolutely fantastic as well as intriguing, unique and realistic. I loved discovering and delving into their history and background. I loved watching both Billy and Antonella's along with Susannah and Giacorna'e relationships develop as well as Billy and Antonella's friendship with Fortunata, Eva and Maria and Susannah's friendship/relationship with Frank, Nonno, Mario, Maureen Bella and along with the other characters, Although I absolutely adored many of the characters there were two I actually despised. I could not stand either Elsie or Sybil regardless of what happened with Elsie I had no sympathy for her and thought that the way William and Susannah were treated by her was disgraceful. However, you cannot get along with everyone and I absolutely loved the rest of the characters who all worked perfectly in this stunning storyline.


When you read this make sure you also read the letter from Angela. I always make sure u turn every page in a book and I absolutely loved reading Angela's letter and discovering how the story came to life and that she based Billy on her uncle William and Frank on her own father. I always enjoy reading how a story comes to an authors mind and this was one of the loveliest reasons I've come across.


Congratulations Angela on an absolutely stunning book that I fell in love with. Here is to your next success 🥂!!


Overall a devastatingly beautiful, heartbreaking and memorable historical page turner.


Genres covered in this novel include Historical Fiction, Romance Novel, War Story, Historical Romance, Diary Fiction and Holiday Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of historical and WWII fiction and anyone looking for a beautiful, romantic yet devastating page turner which will shock and leave you thinking about the story for a long time .


387 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle or free on kindle unlimited (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@AngelaPetch @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @Bookworm86







Author Bio:


Published by Bookouture, Angela Petch is an award-winning writer of fiction – and the occasional poem. Every summer she moves to Tuscany for six months where she and her husband own a renovated watermill which they let out. When not exploring their unspoilt corner of the Apennines, she disappears to her writing desk at the top of a converted stable. In her Italian handbag or hiking rucksack she always makes sure to store a notebook and pen to jot down ideas. The winter months are spent in Sussex where most of her family live. When Angela’s not helping out with grandchildren, she catches up with writer friends. Angela’s gripping, WWII, Tuscan novels are published by Bookouture. While her novel, Mavis and Dot, was self-published and tells of the frolics and foibles of two best-friends who live by the seaside. Angela also writes short stories published in Prima and People’s Friend. Blog: https://angelapetchsblogsite.wordpress.com



Buy Link:



Audio:



Listen to a sample here:


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page