top of page

'The Player Next Door' by Elizabeth Davis

Updated: Oct 20, 2022

Book Description


Logan Walsh doesn't do relationships.

Clare Thompson doesn't do casual.

What could possibly bring them together?


Finance bro Logan and tabletop game designer Clare couldn't be more different. They know this because their apartments face each other, and they've noticed. But not, you know, in a creepy way.


Still, when they get stuck in the elevator together, sparks fly and they each see an opportunity: Clare needs her co-workers to believe that she is capable of a one-night stand to get them to buy into her new role-play character, and Logan needs a steady girlfriend to prove his maturity to his boss.


After one night together, they're keen to get on with their respective plans. Except Clare can't understand why her hook-up seems to want to date her, and Logan is confused that Clare isn't responding to his flirting.


A kiss in the rain might clear up any confusion over their chemistry, but this whole 'relationship' thing is a two-player game, and both want to win. With their hearts and their pride on the line, could the prize be love?

.........................................................................................................









BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'The Player Next Door' by Elizabeth Davis.


Read and reviewed for Elizabeth Davis and Headline Eternal.


Publication date 11th October 2022.


This is the first book I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its intriguing sounding synopsis and title. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Headline. I have yet to read a book published by Headline that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).



This novel consists of a 43 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is based in London, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 , UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture.



This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonist being Clare and Logan Walsh. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


'The Player Next Door' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Elizabeth discusses



This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions that really set the scene and kept me turning the pages. The cover and synopsis suited the storyline perfectly.



I absolutely adored this lighthearted, funny and heartwarming read. It is filled with romance, laughter, friendship and fun. I love the unique storyline that takes two completely opposite people and forces them into a situation together due to their jobs being at risks. I burst out laughing in the first few chapters where Logan was being told he needed to grow up and settle down to keep his job and Clare was being told she had to loosen up and start sleeping around in order to connect with the character she wants to create and make realistic situations in the game. It was such a fast paced read and I flew through it in a day! I just couldn't put it down and every time I went to I had to pick it back up again to find out what happened next. There were several moments where I burst out laughing so I recommended you avoid reading this in public!! I made the mistake of reading it while waiting for my son to come out of school and I had a few funny looks!! There were also moments when I said awww out loud as well as shouting at the characters!! The only thing I really disliked was the sexist and toxic workplace but at the same time it had to be done for the sake of the storyline. I would love to see this being made into a movie, I will be the first in the ticket line!!!


Clear your schedules ladies and gents as this book is unputdownable!!


I wasn't just 100% invested in the storyline but also in the characters. Every single one of the characters were well defined, realistic and strong. I love the fact that although Logan and Clare couldn't be any more different they just clicked and worked perfectly together. I really enjoyed "watching" their relationship changes throughout the book. I have to admit considering how cocky and full of himself Logan was at the beginning of the book as I went on I grew to like him and thought he was extremely sweet at times. It wasn't just Logan and Clare's relationship I enjoyed reading but also the strong female friendships which were lovely too. I connected with Clare straight away and I cannot go without mentioning the fantastic Kiki the dog who got the ball rolling!


A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to Elizabeth on what promises to be a massive best seller!!! Welcome to my favourite author list and here's to your next explosive success 🥂!!!



Overall an absolutely addictive, page turning rom com that will have you in stitches laughing!



Genres covered in this book include Humorous Fiction, Romantic Comedy, Contemporary Romance Fiction, Contemporary Fiction, Romance Novel and Fiction amongst others.


314 pages.


This book is just £2.19 to purchase on kindle and £9.19 in paperback via Amazon at time of review which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I loved it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews



@Bookworm86 @bookworm1986 @ElizabethDavisRomance @ElizabethDavis @HeadlineEternal











Author Bio


Elizabeth Davis wrote her first book as an elementary school assignment when she was eight years old. It was called Silly Excuses—a book about fantastic excuses young children can tell their parents when misbehaving. Not only did she pass the project with flying colors, but her teacher was so taken with the book that she had it published in the school library. Elizabeth has been writing ever since and is currently the author of the Sanctorum Order series, which consists of thrilling contemporary romances.


She lives in The Netherlands with her husband, their son, and family cat. http://www.elizabeth-davis.com.



Purchase Link







2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page