top of page

'The Perfect Suitor' by Cole Baxter

Book Blurb

Will he mend her broken heart? Or does he have a darker plan? Three years after the tragic death of her wonderful husband, Charlene continues to mourn. As she struggles to pick up the pieces of her shattered life, she meets Samuel. Handsome and educated, this charming man is the perfect suitor, and Charlene slowly lets her guard down and opens her heart to him. But Samuel is not the man he appears to be. He has a dark compulsion. And an even darker secret. When he begins acting strangely, Charlene suspects something is wrong. Her fears only grow when she notices she is being followed. Unsure whether she can really trust Samuel, Charlene takes matters into her own hands and starts to investigate. What she finds is beyond her worst nightmares. Will Charlene find the strength to confront the shocking truth before her life is shattered all over again? The Perfect Suitor – the stunning psychological thriller perfect for fans of Mark Edwards, Cathryn Grant, Daniel Hurst.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Perfect Suitor' by Cole Baxter.


Read and reviewed for ZooLoos Book Tours, Cole Baxter and Inkubator Books.


Publication date 16th March 2022.


This is the first book I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching beautiful cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. The synopsis stated 'The Perfect Suitor – the stunning psychological thriller perfect for fans of Mark Edwards, Cathryn Grant, Daniel Hurst.' I am a huge fan of Mark Edwards so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Inkubator Books. I have yet to read a book published by Inkubator Books that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 40 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in New York, USA 🇺🇸.



This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonist is Charlene Bell. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on.


WOW!!! I WAS NOT EXPECTING THAT TWIST!!!


This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions that really set the scene and put you in the storyline. The cover and synopsis suit the book perfectly.


The storyline was captivating from the first page until the last and I was completely invested in it. It was absolutely rammed full of romance, deceit, heartbreak, tension, twists, suspense and everything you could ask for in a page turning psychological thriller. I just could not put this book down and finished it in one sitting. The storyline is sadly very realistic, I won't go into it in too much detail as I don't want to spoil it for future readers. The way it was written genuinely felt like I was siting next to Charlene while she was telling me her story over a cup of tea. I loved the fact that it was set in New York and I really enjoyed exploring different areas with Charlene by my side. The book began with a shock and ends in another one and I would absolutely love to see this turned into a movie. This may be the first book I have read by Cole Baxter but it most certainly won't be my last!!!


Do not start this book until you have cleared your schedules as you will not be able to put it down!!


The characters were all realistic and strong and I was completely invested in Charlene throughout. My heart went out to her time after time as she went through so much tragedy and heartbreak and I really hope that she finally finds happiness. I absolutely loved watching her go from a heartbroken, soul destroyed hermit to a strong independent woman who absolutely kicked butt!! It is also nice to see a male author getting a female character "right" without all the typical female descriptions and characteristics I've seen many male authors use, if your female reading this then I'm sure you understand what I mean! I didn't trust certain characters at all and I was correct not to but another one absolutely hit me out of the blue and I was not expecting that from them at all!! I won't say more than that as I don't want to give too much away. Regardless of what I thought about who, each character worked perfectly to make this page turning psychological thriller!!!


Congratulations Cole on a huge success and I would like to welcome you to my favourite male author list 🥂 I am off to add all your past books to my wish list and I'm looking forward to your future ones too 😊


Overall an absolutely unputdownable psychological thriller with an explosive twist!!



Genres covered in this book include Psychological Thriller, Mystery and Psychological Fiction amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Mark Edwards, Cathryn Grant, Daniel Hurst and anyone looking for an explosive psychological thriller with a shocking twist!!!


390 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle or free on kindle unlimited (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@ColeBaxter @ZooLoosBT @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @inkubatorbooks









Author Bio

Cole Baxter loves writing psychological suspense thrillers. It’s all about that last reveal that he loves shocking readers with. He grew up in New York, where there crime was all around. He decided to turn that into something positive with his fiction. His stories will have you reading through the night—they are very addictive! The Perfect Suitor is his first psychological thriller with Inkubator Books.

Social Media Links


Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ColeBaxterAuthor/





Buy Links

Amazon UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/Perfect-Suitor-gripping-psychological-thriller-ebook/dp/B09V2Z351J

Amazon US https://www.amazon.com/Perfect-Suitor-gripping-psychological-thriller-ebook/dp/B09V2Z351J



24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page