top of page

'The Perfect Hideaway' by Alys Murray

Book Description:    Annie Martin is thrilled to have moved from the hectic buzz of L.A. to the small town of Hillsboro, Northern California, where the most happening bar only plays honky-tonk and nowhere does a good matcha latte. But the best thing about Hillsboro? The Anderson sisters. At their noisy family dinners, Annie can almost forget the mistakes she made back in the city, trying to fit in. Annie has repaid the sisters’ friendship with some obvious-but-effective matchmaking and now there’s only one Anderson still looking for love. But Rose is surprisingly prickly about an enforced happy-ever-after, and when a meticulously planned meet-cute ends drenched in the town fountain, Annie realizes this project calls for someone with a deeper knowledge of the Hillsboro bachelors. Local reporter and all-around grouch George Barnett has been a thorn in Annie’s side since she came to town. He knows all too well that everyone has secrets and he thinks the story of why social media darling Annie Martin swapped stilettos for sneakers might be the scoop that makes his career. Annie is sure her skeletons are under triple lock and key, so she offers him an exclusive, if he’ll help her find a match for Rose. But the more George and Annie try to control the love lives around them, the less they’re able to sway their own hearts. As Annie’s infectious laugh begins to bring down George’s barrier of surliness, can he open his heart and let her in for real? And can Annie be brave enough to trust the man who could be her future, with the secrets of her past? A heart-warming story of friendship and finding love in the most unlikely of places, fans of Robyn Carr, Debbie Macomber and Carolyn Brown will adore The Perfect Hideaway.



BLOG TOUR REVIEW  Review for 'The Perfect Hideaway ' by Alys Murray (previously 'Wildflower Promises')  Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous  This is the first book that I have read by this author and is the third novel in the 'Full Bloom Farm' series. Although this book is the third in the series it can definitely be read as a standalone and you wouldn't be able to tell its part of the series. I am looking forward to reading more of her books!  I was originally drawn to this book by  its beautiful cover and title & interesting blurb. It is also a different genre to what I normally read so it was a perfect excuse to step out of my comfort zone and try something new. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book). This novel consists of 23 chapters and an epilogue which are a nice length so that you can read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!  This book is written from the perspectives of Annie and George and it is set in California. I always enjoy reading books written from several persons perspectives as it feels like I get to know the characters better and get a bigger picture of what is going on. The way it was written made me feel like I was right next to Annie and George and going through all the emotional turmoil with them This novel is very smoothly written and flowed lovely. It had me hooked from the first page to the very last. It's a very light hearted and beautiful story of finding love in the most unlikely of places. There was drama, tears, laughter, love, secrets and lies all around, everything that makes the perfect romance. It almost brought me to tears and I'm a very hard hearted person!!!  The characters were all strong and well defined. I loved all their personalities, flaws and quirks and I feel that they all worked together perfectly in this book. Annie remind me of myself not very long ago in wanting to be liked by everyone and I liked seeing a bit of my old self in a character. I also love the fact that although she could have bought a huge mansion she bought the complete opposite.  The descriptions were excellent and the locations beautiful. They made me feel that I was really in the storyline. The ending was perfect and I would love to read more of their story and lives. I am also looking forward to reading more books by Alys Murray who has made a new fan of me.  Overall a perfect light hearted, beautiful summer romance read.  Genres covered include Fiction, Romance novel and Contemporary romance.  I would recommend this book to fans of the above and anyone looking for a lighthearted read.  247 pages. This book is £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!  Rated 5/5 (I loved it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.  Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews  #ThePerfectHideaway #AlysMurray #Bookouture  #NetGalley #BookReview #BlogTour #BooksOnTour @AlysMurray @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86  https://kcmw86.wixsite.com/bookworm86 https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks https://m.facebook.com/Bookwork86/?__tn__=%2As-R



Author Bio: Alys Murray is an author who writes for the romantic in all of us. Though she graduated with a degree in Drama from NYU’s Tisch School of the Arts and a Master’s in Film Studies from King’s College London, her irrepressible love of romance led her to a career as an author, and she couldn’t be happier to write these stories! Currently splitting time between her home state of Louisiana and London, she enjoys kissing books, Star Wars, and creating original pie recipes for all of her books. Tobey Maguire is her Spider-Man. https://alysmurray.com/ https://www.facebook.com/alysmurrayauthor https://www.instagram.com/writeralys/ https://twitter.com/writeralys







10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page