top of page

The Perfect Date by Julia Crouch. Review


Book Description:


I thought I’d found the one… But then I found him dead.


The last time I saw Harry, he was smiling at me over a candlelit table. It felt like I’d known him forever. I sipped my wine, and let myself hope for a second perfect date.


But this morning, out on a bright sunny walk, my rescue dog starts barking. I follow to see what he’s found. That’s when I see Harry’s body. His handsome face is cold and still. I back away, trembling.


It should be the worst thing that has ever happened to me. But it’s happened to me before.


The last two men I dated are dead.


I can’t tell the police I knew them both. I’d be their number one suspect.


But I need answers. Am I going mad, or is this my fault? And if I don’t find out who is doing this, will I be next?


A totally unputdownable psychological thriller that will keep you gripped and gasping till the very last page. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Perfect Date' by Julia Crouch.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Julia Crouch, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 6th October 2023.



This is the third book I have read by this author. I have also read 'The New Mother' and 'The Daughters' which I would also highly recommend!



This novel consists of 42 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



What an absolutely fantastically written book with vivid descriptions that make your heart raise and keeps you on the edge of your seat!!! The cover, synopsis and title suit the book perfectly!!


This book has a very realistic storyline and one which I was completely invested in. Once I picked it up I could not put it down so if you are about to read this then make sure you clear your schedules. If your not going to read it then a) why the heck not?!?! And b) definitely your loss!!! . It is absolutely filled with family, drama, crime, deception, love, tension, lies, suspense and a few shocks and twists thrown in!!! It was a complete minefield of twists and turns and I just had no idea who to believe. I was definitely not expecting the twists or the ending so a HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to Julia. I have read thousands of thrillers so it is getting harder and harder to shock me but you managed to completely blow my mind! The fact that Julia has done her research shines through. There is not much worse than a book filled with errors that have could easily have been avoided through research. I loved the addition of Caz's dog Joe who had a personality of his own. I'm a massive animal lover and even run my own cat rescue (Golden Oldies Cat Rescue And Hospice) so any storylines with animals playing large parts are always a huge bonus for me and Joe was definitely a big part in this fab read! I absolutely loved the mind-blowing twist at the end which I would have never seen coming!!! As always Julia's fantastic evocative writing skills had me completely invested and absorbed from the very first to the very last word!!


This is one of the few books that I have listened to 100% on Audiobook. If I listen to a book on audiobook I usually also read the physical book between but this time I listened to the whole book and I was impressed! I must say a HUGE congratulations to the narrator Sarah Durham who did an amazing job bringing this story and the characters to life with both male and female characters. I have previously listened to Liz Lawler's 'The Nurse's Secret', 'The Doctors Wife', 'The Doctors Widow's and 'The Family On Smith Street' that were all also narrated by Sarah Durham and I would highly recommend listening to or reading them all as they are other fantastic page turners from other great authors!! I would listen to it in the car and while walking at any opportunity. I'm not only looking forward to reading more books by Julia but also to listening to more books narrated by Sarah!


I was completely invested in the characters, especially the gorgeous Joe!!! My heart went out to Caz who had been betrayed by her childhood friend, her mum had been left disabled and now her dates keep turning up dead!!! What I love about her is that she still stays strong when everything around her is tumbling and is determined to find out what is going on. I adored her relationship with her mum Ruth and both had me smiling and laughing on several occasions which helped to lift the dark and twisty atmosphere. I won't say anything else as this is the type of book that leaves you questioning many of the characters and I don't want to risk giving anything away. Regardless of how you feel about any of them though they each played their part is this gripping storyline perfectly!! Julia's evocative writing skills and Sarah's fantastic narration brings each and every one of them to life!!! Congratulations both!!



Congratulations Julia on one heck of a page turning psychological read!!! I absolutely loved reading this book and have already added all your previous books to my wish list. I look forward to reading more of your previous and future books. I would absolutely LOVE to see this turned into a movie which I can guarantee will be a sell out!! This is why you are in my favourite authour club!!! Here's to your next success 🥂


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the first chapter of Julia's 'The Daughters' which is actually one I have already read and if you enjoyed this book then I can guarantee you will love that one too. I would highly recommend reading it!!!


Overall an absolutely page turning, intense, heart racing psychological thriller that will get you addicted!!!



332 pages/ 9 hours 24 minutes



This book is just 99p to purchase, free with kindle unlimited, £8.99 on paperback and £16 for the audiobook via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@ThePerfectDate @SarahDurham @JuliaCrouch @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @HachetteUK @Hachette @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited @BookoutureAudio @Audible @Audiobook

























Author Bio:


Julia started off as a theatre director and playwright. While her children were growing up, she swerved into graphic design. After writing and illustrating two children’s books for an MA, she discovered that her great love was writing prose. The picture books were deemed too dark for publication, so, to save the children, she turned instead to writing for adults. Her first book, Cuckoo, was published in 2011, and she has been writing what she calls her Domestic Noir novels ever since. She also writes for TV and teaches on the Crime Writing MA at the University of East Anglia. She has three grown up children and lives in Brighton with her husband and two cats, Keith and Sandra.





Social Media Links






Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Julia Crouch here: https://www.bookouture.com/julia-crouch/





Purchase Link:



You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo





2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page