top of page

'The Party' by Nora Valters

Updated: Nov 27, 2022

Book Description


This will be a party to remember. For all the wrong reasons.


Ruth loves her life in London – she has a high-powered career and a handsome and successful fiancé. This Christmas she’s bringing him back to her home town to meet her family and school friends, one of whom, Holly Murphy, has a new baby.


But, as the Christmas Eve party is in full swing, the unthinkable happens – Ruth drops the baby, injuring the little boy.


Or did she?


Ruth becomes convinced she didn’t cause the baby’s injuries, that they were inflicted before the party, that the Murphys are not the lovely family they appear to be.


Determined to discover what really happened to the child, Ruth digs for the truth. And won’t stop even when she’s shunned by her old friends, alienated from her fiancé, and sacked from her dream job.


But are her suspicions justified? Or is she in the grip of a deadly obsession that threatens to utterly destroy her perfect life?


The Party – the gripping psychological thriller perfect for fans of Mark Edwards, K.L. Slater and Miranda Rijks




BLOG TOUR REVIEW 


Review for 'The Party' by Nora Valters. 


Read and reviewed for Nora Valters, Inkubator Books and Zooloo's Book Tours. 


Publication date 16th November 2022.


This is the first book I have read by this author. 


I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated 'The Party – the gripping psychological thriller perfect for fans of Mark Edwards, K.L. Slater and Miranda Rijks.' I am a HUGE fan of all three of these authors so am looking forward to seeing if this statement is true. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Inkubator. I have yet to read a book published by Inkubator that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 30 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Salisbury, Wiltshire and London, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture.I have actually holidayed in Wiltshire so am intrigued to see if I recognise places based on anywhere I visited while there. 


This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonist is Ruth. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. 


'The Party' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Nora discusses cruelty child abuse. 


OMG!!!! WHAT DID I JUST READ!!!! I DID NOT EXPECT THAT!!! MIND BLOWN MUCH!!! 


Wow!!! This book is fantastically written and had me hook, line and sinker from beginning to end. The descriptions were so in depth and vivid that the hair on my arms was standing on the ends and my heart was pounding throughout. The synopsis, title and cover were perfect for the storyline.



Well, Well, Well Nora!!! Sign me up for your next tour as if this is anything to go by it is guaranteed to be an absolutely mind blowing page turner!!! One of the things I love the most about this book is that it is completely unique!! I have never come across a storyline like this one and after reading hundreds of books this is getting harder and harder to come by so WELL DONE NORA on creating suce a one of a kind plot!!! I was absolutely absorbed throughout this page turner. It is filled with tension, friendship, family, lies, suspense and omg the twists!!! It ticks absolutely every single box when looking for an absolutely riveting psychological thriller!! I DID NOT see the twists and turns coming at all and I was left absolutely gob smacked not once, not twice but several times!!! A MASSIVE CONGRATULATIONS Nora! It is getting harder and harder to shock me but by God you did that over and over and over!!! What an ending!!! One of the most gripping unputdownable nerve wracking psychological thrillers I have EVER read!!! You lady have one hell of a talent and I cannot wait to get hold of your previous and future books. I cannot remember the last time I was so hooked by a book but you managed that big time!!! ! There was so much going on and it was very fast paced and kept me on the edge of my seat throughout. Nora's writing style and depth had me so engrossed that when I looked up to see the miserable Welsh weather it took me a moment to realise I was even reading!! This is also one of those books that you sit there and have absolutely NO IDEA who to trust or who to believe? Is Ruth losing the plot? Is Holly and Shane telling the truth? Are Ruth's friends hiding something? Who can be trusted? Well, you'll just have to pick up a copy to find out!! 


Clear your schedule before you start as I read this in one sitting as I could not put it down!! I was absolutely hooked!! I would absolutely love to see this turned into a movie!!!! 


It wasn't just the storyline I was completely invested in but also the characters. Every single one of them seems to be up to or hiding something and you question who to trust the whole time. It is really hard to say what I feel about each of the characters without risking giving anything away. I will say that I absolutely despised Ruth's father and the way he treated her and her mother. It was absolutely disgusting and I was extremely pleased by the ending. I also wasn't a fan of. Kofi and the police and the way they treated Ruth was disgraceful regardless. Anyway, no I really can't say any more.... Arggghhh!!! Pick up a copy, get sucked in and pop me a message when you've finished as this is one of those books I need to talk about!!! 


Congratulations Nora on a true page turner! This may be the first book I have read by you but it most definitely will not be my last!! Here's to your next success 🥂 


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the first chapters of Nora's 'Now You Know' and 'Her Biggest Fan' which are promising to be just as addictive as this book and I cannot wait to get stuck into them!!! 


Overall an absolutely heart racing, nerve wracking, unputdownable addictive psychological thriller!!!  



Genres covered in this novel include Suspense Thriller, Domestic Fiction, Mystery, Women's Psychological Fiction, Domestic Thriller, Literary Fiction, Thriller, Suspense, Psychological Thriller, and Psychological Fiction amongst others. 

 


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Mark Edwards, K.L. Slater, Miranda Rijks, Gone Girl' , 'The Girl on The Train', 'The Wife Between Us', Liane Moriarty, Lisa Jewell and anyone looking for an explosive thriller filled with bombshells you won't see coming!! 

 

312 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle, free on kindle unlimited and £9.99 in paperback (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!! 


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook. 


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews 



@TheParty @NoraValters @ZooLoosBT @ZooloosBookTours @inkubatorbooks @Inkubator @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 



  






Author Bio


Nora Valters grew up in the New Forest in the south of England and has lived in London, Manchester, Bournemouth, Oxford and Dubai.


She studied English Literature and Language at Oxford Brookes University before embarking on a career in marketing and copywriting.


Her debut psychological thriller Her Biggest Fan was published in October 2020. Now You Know came out in June 2021 and Here For You in January 2022. The Party was released in November 2022 and she’s currently writing her fifth novel, which will be out soon.


Nora loves to travel and has journeyed around the world. She enjoys exploring new places, painting, hiking, and is an avid reader. She’s also a bit obsessed with dogs…


Subscribe to be notified by email when Nora’s next novel is released, for giveaways, price promotions, book recommendations as well as exclusive extra content at www.noravalters.com/subscribe




Purchase Link










46 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page