top of page

'The Party At Number 12' by Kerry Wilkinson

Updated: Mar 17, 2022


Book Description:


Everyone’s invited. Someone will never leave. In a grand townhouse rented specially for the evening, Hannah beams at her guests under the sparkling chandelier. Her sisters, her mother and aunt, her best friends… although she’ll miss them all so much when she moves away, tonight is about celebrating the happy times and raising a toast to the future. But the next morning, one of the guests is found cold and lifeless in their pristine white bed. Hannah is desperate to call the police. After all, it must have been an accident. Perhaps too much wine, on a night where emotions were running high. But it soon becomes clear that every single person at the party has something to hide. A mother who’ll do anything for her daughters. Best friends with dark secrets between them. A sister with a jealous streak. What if one of them is a killer? And what if this is just the first victim? An absolutely unputdownable thriller that won’t let you sleep until you’ve reached the final page! Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, The Hunting Party and Shari Lapena.



BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Party At Number 12' by Kerry Wilkinson.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Kerry Wilkinson, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 11th March 2022.


This is the third book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'The Child Across The Street' and 'The Child In The Photo' which I would also recommend reading.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'An absolutely unputdownable thriller that won’t let you sleep until you’ve reached the final page! Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, The Hunting Party and Shari Lapena.' I am a huge fan of Lisa and Shari so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Kerry and if this is as good as 'The Child Across The Street' and 'The Child In The Photo' it is sure to be an excellent read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 45 chapters spread over 3 'sections'. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in England, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually visited England on several occasions so am looking forward to seeing if I recognise anywhere that Kerry has based the book on.


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonists are Hannah and Zack. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


Well, well, well Wow!!! What an absolute cracker of a book!!! This book sucked me straight in from beginning to the explosive ending. It was very well written with excellent descriptions which put me straight into the storyline. The blog and the cover suited the book perfectly.


WHAT THE HOLY SMOKES DID I JUST READ!!! ABSOLUTELY GOBSMACKED!!!


The storyline was fast paced and filled with drama, lies, twists, family, shocks, deceit and suspense. A sadly and scarily very believable storyline which kept me on edge throughout. I loved all the twists and turns and throughout it kept me guessing what was going on and who was doing what. I would NEVER have guessed at the ending so a MASSIVE WELL DONE to Kerry . I have read many thrillers and it's getting harder and harder for me to be surprised so great job there. I loved the storyline and just loved everything about it. It was all done perfectly!! I loved the fact that everything was tied up and explained at the end and there were no loose strings. An absolutely addictive page turner that kept my heart in my throat on the edge of the seat and absolutely absorbed me. The fact there were so many different red herrings and so many possibilities that all would have worked perfectly and then the absolutely EXPLOSIVE ending that there was no way I would have ever expected was absolutely fantastic!!! I could not put this book down!!! I was so invested in the storyline that I was up until 2am!! I would LOVE to see this turned into a movie!!!



It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


WARNING ⚠ DO NOT START THIS UNTIL YOU HAVE CLEARED YOUR SCHEDULES AS THIS BOOK IS ADDICTIVE!!!!


THE characters were fantastic, solid and completely believable, or are they?? You just have no idea who to trust and wow was I blindsighted! They all had such different and strong personalities and all suited the storyline perfectly. I really liked Hannah , she had such a strong personality and my heart really went out to her as all she wanted was a nice send off with family and friends and deep down she wanted to become the three musketeers again along with Sophie and Katherine. There were such a mix of personalities in number 12 and its hard really to say too much about any of them without giving too much away!!! My mind was absolutely blown when I discovered what really happened and yours will be too!!


CONGRATULATIONS KERRY ON YET ANOTHER ABSOLUTELY ADDICTIVE PAGE TURNER!!!! THIS IS WHY YOU ARE ONE OF MY TOP 5 MALE AUTHORS!!! HERE'S TO YOUR NEXT SUCCESS 🥂


Overall a compelling, page turning, mind blowing psychological thriller that will keep you up late at night.


Genres covered in this novel include Thriller, Mystery, Suspense, Psychological Thriller, Noir Fiction, Psychological Fiction, Police Procedural and Crime Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Lisa Jewell, Shari Lapena, C. L TAYLOR and anyone looking for a book with a twist they will never suspect!!!



349 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon or free on kindle unlimited (at time of review) which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@KerryWilkinson @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86












Author Bio:


Kerry Wilkinson is from the English county of Somerset but has spent far too long living in the north. It’s there that he’s picked up possibly made-up regional words like ‘barm’ and ‘ginnel’. He pretends to know what they mean. He’s also been busy since turning thirty: his Jessica Daniel crime series has sold more than a million copies in the UK; he has written a fantasy-adventure trilogy for young adults; a second crime series featuring private investigator Andrew Hunter and the standalone thriller, Down Among The Dead Men. https://kerrywilkinson.com/ https://www.facebook.com/KerryWilkinsonBooks/ https://twitter.com/kerrywk



Buy Link:



Audio:



Listen to a sample here:




29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page