top of page

'The One Before' by Miranda Smith

Book Description:


I love him. I trust him… But what if I’m wrong?


Whisper Falls is a fresh start for Madison and her fiancé Cooper. The safe, quiet town on the shores of a beautiful lake is the perfect place to spend the rest of their lives.


But then Madison learns that Cooper’s high-school girlfriend Celia disappeared after a party. Three days later, her body was found in the lake.


And the town thinks it wasn’t an accident.


Madison loves Cooper, but she can’t help wondering. She has to know the truth.


But if she starts asking questions, what other secrets will be revealed? Will she meet the same fate as the woman who came before her?


A dark, gripping psychological thriller with a brilliant twist, The One Before is perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter, Gillian Flynn and Rachel Caine.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The One Before' by Miranda Smith .


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 4th November 2020


This is the first book that I have read by this author. It most certainly will not be my last!!!


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching and intriguing cover and intriguing synopsis. The blurb also stated that it is perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter. I am a HUGE Karin Slaughter fan so am looking forward to see if it lives up to this statement!! I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 66 chapters.The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Whisper Falls, USA 🇺🇸.


This book is written in a mix of first and third person perspective and the main protagonists are Celia (Third person perspective) Madison (First person perspective) and Helena (Third person perspective). I enjoy books written in both first and third person with several protagonists as it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. You alse get to bond more in first person perspective with the character. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


WHAT did I just read!!!! WOW!!! I mean seriously Wow!! I was NOT expecting that lot fairplay!!! This has GOT to start with a MASSIVE WELL DONE MIRANDA SMITH!!!! Ooopps sorry, yes, needed a minute to get over that but I've just left you hanging there... Sorry.... Let me tell you more...


Firstly let's start off with the writing style, etc!! Extremely well written book which had me hook line and sinker!!! It is so smoothly and beautifully written I completely forgot I was even reading a book a few times. The blurb and cover really fit the storyline. This book did have a cover change and while I did like the previous covers the be new one suits it the best.


As you can tell I LOVED the storyline. I found it quite fast paced and loved the setting and just well... Everything!!! The first twist comes in at around 50% and that hit me a shocker immediately. Was not expecting that one... Or the rest. I'd assumed the identity of a certain person only to be completely side swept there and from that point on it just became explosive!!! Twists after shocks after turns!!! Arggghhh... Its so hard to NOT say anything about them as it will give too much away and spoilt it for future readers but it definitely left me speechless over and over!!! I have read hundreds of psychological books and I really do think this one is definitely in the top 3 when it comes to dropping bombshells. I am, in fact still she'll shocked!! Just brilliant fairplay and all links in and wraps up perfectly!!!


THE plot throughout is rammed with suspense, mystery, lies, surprises, tension and did I say surprises!!! Well done Miranda you have most definitely hit my favourite author list!!! I am looking forward to reading more of your books and when oh when is this going to be turned into the movie of the year!!! Gone Girl and many others have NOTHING on this one!!!


Loved the characters and thought they were portrayed perfectly with great character development. I was completely invested in them and thought they were all unique with their own quirks, I really seemed to click with Regina but also think she's a Marmite type of girl, love her or hate her. I was definitely surprised by the secrets that some were hiding and how well they were kept hidden too!!


Overall an absolutely page turning, explosive must read that will leave you shocked!!!


Genres covered in this novel include Mystery, Suspense, Thriller, Psychological Fiction, Crime Fiction and Psychological Thriller amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Gone Girl, Karin Slaughter, P. J Tracy, Carol Wyer, CL Taylor and just everyone to be honest!!! What are you waiting for??? Seriously grab your copy now!! .


278 pages.


This book is £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it!!!! ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@MirandaSmith @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author Bio:


Miranda Smith writes psychological and domestic suspense. She is drawn to stories about ordinary people in extraordinary situations. Before completing her first novel, she worked as a newspaper staff writer and a secondary English teacher. She lives in East Tennessee with her husband and three young children.









Buy Links:






35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page