top of page

The Old Ducks' Hen Do by Maddie Please. Review.


Book Description


Recently retired, Denny Lambert is finding life just a little bit…well, dull. So when her stepsister

Juliette announces she’s getting married – again! – and invites Denny on a hen do with the Old

Ducks, Denny really can’t say no.


Denny knows something about the Old Ducks and their wild exploits, but she’s just glad to be

somewhere hot and sunny and away from her grey life back in the UK. She’s definitely not going to

be pulled into any Old Duck mayhem….


But when they arrive at their beautiful Mallorcan villa, Denny is in for a shock. Because right next

door is the man who once broke her heart – Bruno Browning. Now with the Old Ducks and an old

flame to contend with, Denny’s life suddenly feels anything but dull!


But if she’s learnt one thing from her time with the Old Ducks it’s that life is for living…and that’s

exactly what Denny is finally going to do!



BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'The Old Ducks' Hen Do' by Maddie Please



Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Maddie Please, Book And Tonic, Boldwood Books and Rachel's Random resources Tours.


Publication date 16th November 2023



This is the first book I have read by this author but it most definitely won't be my last! It is also the second book in 'The Old Ducks' Club' series but can be read as a standalone.



This novel consists of 26 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



Wow!! Check out this absolutely laugh out loud perfect summer read!!!


This book is beautifully written with vivid descriptions and stunning surroundings I was absolutely captivated throughout. The cover and the synopsis work perfectly with the storyline.


I absolutely loved this absolutely fantastic and hilarious feel good book! Maddie's evocative writing skills ensures the reader disappears into the storyline with the are and characters coming ito life all around you. She leaves you smelling the sea air, feeling the sun on your skin and leaves you with a smile on your face and feeling much lighter and happier than before you started. It is one of those books that are rammed with feel good moments, laughter, second chances, not acting your age, fun, friendship and absolutely everything that you could ever want in an addictive must read! The storyline is realistic and down to earth and the setting is picturesque. I was absolutely sucked in from the first to the last page of this laugh out loud feel good page turner. On several occasions I had to remind myself I was actually in the house and not in Mallorca myself as I was that lost in the storyline!! It is one of those books that I just could not put down and I ended up walking around with my kindle glued to my hands. Every time I thought I will just read one more chapter and then get on with some chores it ended in a way that there was no way I could leave it there so I had to read another and then the same happened until I very sadly came to the last page and its absolutely fantastic ending. I genuinely felt like I was on holidays and I was devastated when I came to the end and realised I'd have to pack my suitcase to leave the gorgeous Mallorca and return to rainy Wales after a stunning getaway. However I am absolutely landed that this book is just the second in what promises to be an absolutely stunning series and I cannot wait to get whisked away into the lives of The Old Ducks' lives again!!!! If you are looking for a stunning inspiring escapism that will make you laugh, smile, and that will turn a frown upside down then grab your copy of this amazing book and thank me later!!! If I am half the woman the Old Ducks' are when I am their age then I will be extremely happy!! An absolute must read ❤️💜



Although this is the second book in the series I had absolutely no problems reading it without the first book. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


A stunning and inspirational story of friendship, romance, second chances and being true to yourself. I absolutely love, love, LOVED it!!


The characters were all solid, realistic and I loved that they all had their own unique personalities. An absolutely fantastic group of friends that had me laughing out loud on too many occasions to count!! I absolutely LOVE the fact that these are all (meant to be) mature women over 50 who each prove that age is just a number!!! They are an absolutely fantastic, refreshing, fun group of characters that I cannot wait to meet again in the previous and future books in this series. I was absolutely delighted when I came to the end and realised that this book is actually the second in a series and I get to have fun with them all again as they very quickly became to feel like friends that I look forward to having fun with!!! The story is mainly told from Denny's perspective. I absolutely loved watching her coming out of the shell and the change in her from beginning to end was fantastic to see. I was rooting for her and Bruno throughout and had my fingers and toes crossed throughout for them to get their happy ever after and second chances but whether they do or not.... Well grab your copy and you'll find out yourself! Although the story was mainly about Denny and Bruno each and every one of the characters and members of 'The Old Ducks' were fantastically portrayed and each and every one of them came to life thanks to Maddie's fantastic descriptions and evocative skills. I won't say anymore as I don't want to turn this into an essay or spoil things for future readers but needless to say I cannot wait to meet them again!!! Congratulations Maddie on creating a fantastic group of characters set in a stunning location with a beautiful storyline. This would make a gorgeous film and I'm looking to meet the next characters you create along with meeting the gang again!!! All of these characters and more make this an unforgettable, stunning book that will have you putting on your sun cream, grabbing yourself a cocktail and being whisked away to Mallorca!!! They all came to life before my eyes and I am really excited to meet them all again!!!



Maddie congratulations on an absolutely fantastic novel and welcome to my top author list. Your book is a page turning laugh out loud and soul lifting success and I cannot wait to get stuck into more of your books! Here's to your next guaranteed success 🥂!!


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the first chapter of Maddie's 'A Vintage Vacation' which promises to be just as gorgeous as this book and is one I'm definitely looking forward to reading myself!!!


Overall an absolutely gorgeous book that will whisk you off to Mallorca and lift your heart and spirit. A page turning, addictive compelling novel that will leave you wanting more



328 pages.


This book is just £2.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £9.99 in paperback via Amazon,at time of review, which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews.



@TheOldDucksHenDo #OldDucksClub @MaddiePlease @MaddiePlease1 @theboldbookclub @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @BoldwoodBooks @BoldwoodBloggers @BookAndTonic @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnimited @Netgalley










Author Bio


Maddie Please is the author of bestselling joyous tales of older women. She had a career as a dentist

and now lives in rural Herefordshire where she enjoys box sets, red wine and Christmas.




Social Media Links









Purchase Link









3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page