top of page

'The Night Away' by Jess Ryder

It was just one night away. I had no idea how devastating it would be…


My sister said I deserved a break. She offered to babysit so that my husband and I could have one night away, remember who we used to be before the sleepless nights.


But the next morning my phone rings. My sister is hysterical. Mabel’s cot is empty. My little girl is gone.


I race home with a horrible sick feeling flooding my stomach. The little sleepsuits still hang on the radiator but there is no gurgling or cooing on the baby monitor – just silence.


Now the police are questioning everyone. My sister, my husband, the girls from my baby group.


I want my little girl back more than anything and I will do whatever it takes. But I have a secret… Could the darkness in my past have put my baby at risk?


A truly gripping psychological thriller of manipulation and betrayal from bestselling author Jess Ryder. The Night Away will have you hooked until the final devastating revelation. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train or The Woman in the Window.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Night Away' by Jess Ryder.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 2nd November 2020


This is the second book that I have read by this author. I have also read 'The girl you gave away' which I loved and would highly recommend!!


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching and intriguing cover and intriguing synopsis. blown away by it. I have also read another book by Jess Ryder which I loved so hoping this will be just as good. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 44 chapters. The chapters are medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in London, UK 🇬🇧 . I always enjoy when books are set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. This makes it easier to picture the scenes.


This book is written in a mix of first and third person perspective and the main protagonists are a mystery character (to start, we'll call the mystery not to give away and first person perspective) Amber (Third person perspective) and Ruby (Third person perspective). I enjoy books written in both first and third person with several protagonists as it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. You alse get to bond more in first person perspective with the character. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


This book is fantastically written, another amazing success from Jess Ryder. It starts off with from 'A few weeks ago' and moves onto 'X days without/with Mabel'. It all flows really well and the descriptions really put you in the picture. The only niggle I have really is with the synopsis stating 'It was just one night away' when really it had been the second and would have been more but that's me being pedantic. I thought the cover worked perfectly with the timeline considering all the action that happened surrounding that door.


The storyline itself swept me straight up and didn't put me down until the last page. A true page turner. It is filled with twists, turns, nail biting suspense, lies, loss and drama. I was completely surprised at the first twist but couldn't say I was shocked as to who the person was... Its quite hard to describe what I mean without giving top much away but it's at about 69% the revelation I'm talking about for those who have read it. I was then kept on my toes with the rest of the shocks to come, nome of which I seen coming!! Anothrt major success for Jess Ryder. I am looking forward to reading more of her books and would love to see this one turned into a movie.


I was completely invested in the characters who all seemed to have something to hide which you find out piece by piece. I must say I wasn't a fan of Amber and her attitude towards Ruby. Argghhhh... Its so hard to say how I feel towards certain characters without giving too much away. I do feel there were only 2 real victims in all of this, I can't say who but it would be interesting to see what others think. I'm still also not sure about a certain character and how much involvement they truly had and how much they could be trusted. I will say I also could not stand Amber and Ruby's mother and find her attitude dispicable as a mum of three myself. Most definitely a mixed bunch but a mixed bunch that worked well in this case, or not so well depending on how your looking.


Overall a gripping page turning psychological thriller that will keep you guessing throughout.


Genres covered in this novel include Mystery, Domestic Thriller and Psychological Thriller amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Jess Ryder, C.L Taylor and Shalini Boland.


344 pages.


This book is £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon or free which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@JessRyder @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio:


Jess Ryder is the author of five psychological thrillers - 'The Ex Wife', 'Lie to Me', 'The Good Sister', 'The Dream House', The Girl You Gave Away' and her latest, published November 2 2020 - 'The Night Away'. All titles are published by Bookouture. She also writes as Jan Page. With many years' experience as a scriptwriter, she loves watching television crime drama. Jess is a passionate reader and particularly enjoys thrillers.


Jess lives with her partner in London, UK and has four grown-up children.









Buy Links:






11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page