top of page

'The Niece' by Georgina Cross


Title: The Niece


Publication Day: Sept 2nd 2022


Author: Georgina Cross



Description:


I love my family. But can I trust them?


Walking down an airport corridor I see her. My mother’s sister. There is no mistaking we’re related; we have the same long, black hair and brown eyes. But my aunt is the one person in the world my mother told me never to trust.


Nothing feels real right now. My beloved mother was my whole world—she taught me everything and she said she would always be there for me. My last memory is of her screaming at me to get out. Then the flames took her, and she was gone.


Now I have to live with my aunt and I hope she’s changed after all these years. But when I secretly watch her speaking to her friends, she makes it sound like I’m a stranger in her home.


She leaves her bedroom door open and I hear her on the phone to the police late at night. I start to wonder if she had something to do with the terrible fire that ripped my life apart. And my blood turns to ice when the detective asks, what are you hiding?


Is my aunt trying to protect me, or is it time to teach her a lesson?


An utterly addictive psychological thriller about a family with a dark secret at its heart that will make you question everyone you trust. Perfect for fans of The Wife Between Us, The Woman in the Window and Gone Girl.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW 


Review for 'The Niece' by Georgina Cross


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Georgina Cross. 


Publication date 2nd September 2022. 


This book was previously titled 'The Girl In Your House'. 


This is the third book that I have read by this author. I have also read 'The Stepdaughter' and 'Nanny Needed' which I would highly recommend!! 


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and intriguing title and synopsis. The synopsis stated that this book is 'Perfect for fans of The Wife Between Us, The Woman in the Window and Gone Girl'. I am a huge fan of 'Gone Girl' so am looking forward to seeing if it lives up to this claim. I am also a huge fan of Georgina and if this book is half as good as 'The Stepdaughter' and 'Nanny Needed' it is bound to be a page turner!! I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 34 chapters which are short to medium in length so perfect to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case! 


This book is based in Alabama, USA 🇺🇸. 


This book is written in first person perspective with the main protagonist being Tara Jenkins. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. The way it was written made me feel like I was right next to Tara throughout. 


Wow!! WTAF?!? JUST WOW!!!! Where do I even begin? What an absolutely gripping, intense psychological thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat, flying through the pages and full of suspense!!


This page turner is filled with twists, turns, red herrings, lies, family, secrets,shocks and explosive twists you won't see coming!!! I have read hundreds of books and this has been the one that has shocked me the most this year and it has definitely hit my top 3 biggest twists of all time!!! I WAS absolutely hooked from beginning to end and just could not put it down. I started it in the morning and couldn't put it down until 2am. I loved the fact that it had a suspense packed atmosphere throughout and OMG did the hairs on the end of my arms raise!! My heart was absolutely pounding throughout and I was on the edge of my seat. When the big reveal came my mind was absolutely blown away and this is definitely one of the few books that will stay with me for a very long time. Unbelievably explosive!! It was also heartbreaking and tragic so get the tissues ready as I shed several unexpected tears at the reveal. It really does show how one event can change so many lifes!!  This book was previously titled 'The Girl In Your House' and retitled 'The Niece' which I think is a much more appropriate and suitable title. 


I read approximately half of this book on kindle and listened to approximately half on audio book. I must also give a huge congratulations to the narrator Lauryn Allman who not only brought the storyline to life by really portraying the emotions through his voice but by doing absolutely fantastic impressions of males and females so a HUGE congratulations Lauryn!! I cannot imagine that this was anywhere near an easy feat!!! I am looking forward to discovering more books read by yourself as you definitely have a fantastic "book" voice!! I sometimes struggle to absorb the storyline through an audio book but if you are the same as me I can promise you will not have that problem with this amazing narrator!! 


Do not even attempt to start this until you have cleared yiur schedules as you will not be able to put it down!!! 


The characters were strong and realistic and I was completely invested in them from beginning to end. I need to be careful here that I don't say too much and give anything away so I'll keep it quite short. I really clicked with Tara and my heart went out to her and Cassie when their new family unit comes under threat. It was also heartbreaking how quickly Tara was shunned from her family after a potentially innocent event. They are a sweet just trying to make ends meet and when Tara is asked to take on her dead sisters niece then how can they say no?? My heart absolutely broke at a certain point in this book. Tara and Cassie are such likeable and friendly characters which definitely helped me become completely absorbed in the storyline. Cassie and Hannah formed such a beautiful bond with Hannah taking Cassie under her wing. Unfortunately I am not going to give any if my thoughts on the rest of the characters, I've been thinking and thinking but there doesn't seem to be a way for me to give my honest opinion of them without giving too much away. However, if you have read this, and you'll be mad not too, feel free to pop me a message and let me know what you thought of the characters and the storyline!! 


Congratulations Georgina on an absolutely explosive page turner!!! Also a HUGE CONGRATULATIONS on writing a book that has shocked me the most this year!!! I read about 30 plus books a month so this is no easy feat but you managed it!!! This is exactly why you are one of my favourite authors!!! Here's to your next success!!! 🥂 


Overall a mind blowing, suspense filled psychological page turning thriller with an explosive ending you WILL NEVER SEE COMING!!! 


Genres covered include Suspense, Mystery, Psychological Fiction, Thriller and Psychological Thriller. 


I would recommend this book to fans of any of the above as well as fans of 'The Nanny' , 'The Couple Next Door', 'The Wife Between Us', 'The Woman in the Window' and 'Gone Girl'. and 'The Family Upstairs' and for fans of page turning books that leave you shocked. 


282 pages/9 hours 26 minutes 


This book is £1.99 to purchase on kindle, £7.99 on paperback and £18.29 on Audible or £7.99 on Audible if you are an Audible member via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!! 


Rated 5/5 (I loved it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook. 


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews 


@GeorginaCross @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 













Author Bio:


Georgina Cross is the author of works of domestic suspense, psychological suspense, and thriller.


Georgina has been writing since she was a child. Notebooks & printed pages filled with stories: adventures growing up in New Orleans and tales from Malaysia & England where her family lives. After graduating from Louisiana State University, she enjoyed a career in marketing & communications and founded Susie's Wish non-profit which sends patients with life threatening illnesses to the beach. She spends time with her husband and their combined family of four sons watching scary movies and basketball tournaments and is thrilled to be a full-time author.





Author Social Media Links:














Buy Link:









13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

コメント

5つ星のうち0と評価されています。
まだ評価がありません

評価を追加
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page