top of page

'The Next Wife' by Liz Lawler

Book Description:


I should never have married him. I ignored the warnings. It’s what you do when you’re in love. Ignore what you don’t want to see.


My husband is everything I ever dreamed of. A handsome, successful doctor who swept me off my feet.


Our new life together is perfect.


He’s perfect.


But am I good enough for him? I never seem to get anything right. And I’m starting to feel a little afraid of the man I married.


He’s taken away my bank card and my phone. I don’t know what to think or what to do. I gave up everything for him and now I’m trapped.


Then a stranger comes to our door. She tells me that I can’t trust my husband.


That I should ask him what happened to his first wife.


Totally gripping, chilling and with a twist you won’t see coming, The Next Wife is a dark, heart-stopping story of what really goes on behind closed doors. Fans of My Lovely Wife, B A Paris and JP Delaney will be completely enthralled by this addictive read.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Next Wife' by Liz Lawler.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 3rd November 2020


This is the first book that I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and intriguing synopsis. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 55 chapters.The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Bath, UK 🇬🇧 . I always enjoy when books are set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. This makes it easier to picture the scenes. I have, in fact, visited Bath so am hoping to be able to set the scenes smoother in my head.


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonists are Martha and Tess. I enjoy books written in third person with several protagonists as it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


This book is extremely well written and the fantastic descriptions definitely add to the dark atmosphere. The synopsis and the cover worked very well with the plot. I am most definitely looking forward to reading more books by this very talented author.


The storyline is extremely compelling and addictive as well as very dark, even more so as it is something that sadly happens on a daily basis, I myself have had some of the events of the book happen to me. It was gripping from the beginning and throughout completely page turning and nail biting. It is most definitely a roller-coaster ride of emotions from tension, suspense to genuine fear for Tess. There were moments where I was relived, shocked and at all times I was on the edge of my seat. I am glad to see more and more books being brought out that focuses on the subject of domestic violence as it comes in all different forms. I was not expecting the end at all which is always a bonus for me as its getting harder and harder to shock me!!


The characters all played their roles very well. I definitely had a soft spot for Cameron and Martha and felt very proactive of Tess. Sara did annoy me at the beginning because if she hadn't said what she did Tess may have left alot sooner. It's quite hard to review the characters too much without giving much away. I think it's fantastic what the surprise character did, good on him and I agree 10000 % with his actions. I did find a small amount of sympathy for another which also shocked me!!


Please if yourself or someone you know is going through this PLEASE get help, PLEASE talk to someone. You can even message me, just someone!!


Overall an extremely dark but sadly realistic addictive and gripping page turner.


Genres covered in this novel include Mystery, Suspense, Thriller, Psychological Fiction, Drama and Psychological Thriller amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as ANYONE looking for a good book.


320 pages.


This book is £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@LizLawler @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author Bio:


Liz Lawler grew up sharing pants, socks, occasionally a toothbrush, sleeping four to a bed. Born in Chatham and partly raised in Dublin, she is one of fourteen children. She spent over twenty years as a nurse and has since fitted in working as a flight attendant, a general manager of a five star hotel, and is now working with trains. She became an author in 2017 when her debut novel Don’t Wake Up was published by Twenty7.






Buy Links:






26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page