top of page

'The New Girl' by Ruth Heald


The New Girl: A totally addictive psychological thriller with a heart-stopping twist

Description

Behind her dream life hides the perfect nightmare. I couldn’t believe it when I got the call to offer me my dream job. It was right in the heart of the city with a flat provided. I jumped at the chance and within weeks I had made new friends and started to date a wonderful man. For the first time in years, I felt safe. It’s a world away from the life I ran from… But soon strange things begin to happen in my flat: odd noises in the night, the feeling that I’m being watched. When I discover an old dress hidden behind my wardrobe and wear it to work, the atmosphere chills instantly. The dress belonged to a girl my boss would rather forget. The girl before me who vanished without a trace. I tell myself not to worry; that I’m just imagining things. But when a young woman arrives on my doorstep, she warns me to leave my new life behind. She tells me there are more girls like me and we are more connected than I could have ever imagined. Then I come face to face with the reason I ran all those years ago and it soon becomes clear: someone knows my secret. And they will do anything to keep me silent. A totally gripping, unputdownable and twisty psychological thriller perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl and You.



BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The New Girl' by Ruth Heald.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Ruth Heald, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 25th January 2022.


This is the first book I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its interesting cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'A totally gripping, unputdownable and twisty psychological thriller perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl and You.

.' I am a fan of 'Gone Girl' so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 54 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Dorset and London, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have holidayed in Dorset many times and also visited London recently so I'm looking forward to seeing if I recognise any places named.


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonist is Sophie. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.



'The New Girl' discusses some topics that may trigger some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Ruth discusses/includes sexual assault and several others.



WOW!!! What an absolutely page turning domestic and psychological thriller!!! This is the first book I've read by Ruth but it most definitely won't be the last!!!



I started this in the morning and I couldn't put it down until I finished at 2am!!! Clear your schedules before you pick this up!!


This book is fantastically written with in depth and vivid descriptions that leave you hearing the keyboards typing in the office, feeling the chill in the air and leaves your heart pounding. The cover and synopsis suit the book perfectly.


The storyline is scarily realistic and extremely believable. The fact that Ruth has done her research definitely shines through so a huge congratulations!! There is nothing worse than reading a book which is filled with errors but I didn't find a single one here. The plot exposes the reality of many women, myself included, who have been in everyday situations that many take for granted but then get put into vulnerable positions. In this book Ruth explores many situations that either myself have been in or that I helped others through when I volunteered at victim support. I don't want to say to much as not to spoil it for future readers but some scenarios included being stuck in a job or relationship that may seem perfect on the outside but is completely different on the inside. As Ruth states in the letter at the end of the book 20% of women and 4% of men have experienced sexual violence since the age of 16 and the conviction rate is just 6%. However, these are only the recorded figures of those reports, many go unreported. I truly believe that anyone who reads Ruth's book and has been in any of the situations mentioned will hopefully find the strength to escape from them. I know I have spent alot of time talking about the theme of the book but they are such important subjects that I felt they should be spoken about. I've added all of Ruth's books to my Amazon wish list and as I was reading the synopsis of each I realised the majority of her books are based on everyday vulnerability of woman and I just want to praise Ruth again for choosing to write about them and thank you. Anyway moving on...



The plot is absolutely filled with suspense, twists, shocks, tension, romance, lies, friendship, deceit and so much more, everything you could want in a domestic drama and psychological thriller. I was completely absorbed throughout and it really felt like I was back in London again rediscovering Soho, seeing the Shard and much more. I loved how the book wrapped up and although I would have loved to see more done to certain people Ruth kept the ending realistic to what the outcome would actually be. Throughout the book my heart was pounding and I was filled with a range of emotions from sorrow to anger, disgust to shocked. I was absolutely blown away by the twists and was definitely not expecting them so another HUGE congratulations to Ruth. I have read so many books now it does get harder and harder to surprise me but you definitely managed it. I thought I had it all worked out until BOOM!!! ABSOLUTE BOMB SHELL!! I am looking forward to reading the rest of your books and if they are half as good as this one they are bound to be amazing!!


THIS IS A BOOK THAT SHOULD BE READ, SHARED AND TALKED ABOUT BY EVERYONE!!!


The characters were all strong and well developed. I really connected with Sophie from start to finish both due to us being female and some of the circumstances she was put in have been similar to my own. It is always great seeing strong female leads in books especially those who have not had a perfect life and represent reality. I enjoyed watching her personality develop and change from beginning to end and how she went from strength to strength whereas in other novels by another author she may have crumbled. I won't say anything about any of the other characters as I do not want to give anything away. However, there was a mix of personalities which all worked perfectly for the storyline and proves that what someone may seem like on the outside may be opposite to what their true personalities are.


I want to end my review by stating that if you recognise or relate to any of the subjects discussed in this book please tell a friend, contact the police or speak to victim support. You can even message myself. Please talk to someone. There are people out there who will listen. You are not alone.


CONGRATULATIONS RUTH ON AN ABSOLUTE SUCCESS!! This has got to be one of the most realistic fiction novels I have ever read and thank you for bringing such difficult themes to light in a way that may help many men and women. Welcome to my top author club and here is to your next success 🥂



Overall an absolutely page turning domestic thriller that will suck you in, keep you turning the pages hooked until you have finished and will blow your mind. Please be aware that it deals with several sensitive subjects and I have inclided a trigger warning.



Genres covered in this book include Psychological Fiction, Mystery, Suspense and Psychological Thriller amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of 'The Girl on the Train' , 'Gone Girl', 'You', KL Slater, Shalini Boland and anyone looking for a heart racing page turner.



304 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@RuthHeald @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author Bio:

Ruth Heald is the bestselling author of psychological thrillers THE WEDDING, I KNOW YOUR SECRET, THE MOTHER'S MISTAKE and THE WOMAN UPSTAIRS, and the relationship drama 27: SIX FRIENDS, ONE YEAR.

Ruth studied Economics at Oxford University and then worked in an eclectic mix of sectors from nuclear decommissioning to management consulting. She worked at the BBC for nine years before leaving to write full time. Ruth is fascinated by psychology and finding out what drives people to violence, destruction and revenge. She’s married with two children and her novels explore our greatest fears in otherwise ordinary, domestic lives.

You can connect with Ruth on Twitter @RJ_Heald, or Facebook /RJHealdauthor

Author social media:


Twitter: @RJ_Heald



Instagram: @ruthheald





Buy links:

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page