top of page

'The Murder Of Miss Perfect' by Mark Eklid


Book Blurb


Detective Chief Inspector Jim Pendlebury almost died at the end of his last big case. Three years later, he is struggling to cope with forced retirement and the frustration of failing to convict the teacher accused of killing an 18-year-old student after seducing her. Now, he must try one more time to search for the vital piece of missing evidence the Police failed to find during the initial investigation .

Whatever the cost, this time he will make sure justice is served for the cruel murder of the beautiful young woman the media dubbed Miss Perfect





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


 Review for 'The Murder Of Miss Perfect' by Mark Eklid. 


Read and reviewed for ZooLoos Book Tours, Mark Eklid and Spellbound Books. 


Publication date 22nd July 2022.


This is the first book I have read by this author.


 I was originally drawn to this book by its  eye catching cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Spellbound Books. I have yet to read a book published by Spellbound Books that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book). 


This novel consists of a prologue and 31 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Yorkshire and Scarborough, England, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture.


This book is written in a mix of third and first person perspective and the protagonists are DCI Jim Pendlebury, David Wilson (Bales), DI Clare Larson and Jane Featherby. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. To have the benefit of both first and third person perspective ensures you don't miss out on anything.


This book is very well written with vivid descriptions that really set the scene for the reader. The cover and synopsis suit the storyline perfectly. 


OMG I COULDN'T BELIEVE WHAT HAPPENED ABSOLUTELY MIND BLOWN SO MANY TIMES!!!! 


The storyline was intriguing, multi-layered and fast paced. I became completely invested in the storyline which took place over several locations. The plot was filled with murder, secrets, tension, suspense, mystery and everything you could want in a crime thriller.


This book just absolutely blew my mind and is one of the most unique styles of story telling I have ever seen!!!! What Mark does in this book I have never seen before and I have read hundreds of crime books!!! I just absolutely could not believe it!!! However, it wasn't just the once I was genuinely gobsmacked but on several occasions!!!! I actually shouted out WTF when these things were happening giving giving my partner the shock of a lifetime!!! I then couldn't stop telling him about it end even as a non reader he was shocked and didn't think anyone would do that!!! "OMG I am gutted I can't say more as I could just rave and rave about what goes on but I really don't want to spoil it for future readers. I normally write more about the characters but I won't this time as I feel I would give too much away. I will say that they are very strong and realistic and I was completely invested in both them and the storyline and would love to meet many of them again. I was absolutely devastated about certain ones and would have never expected many things in a million years!!! This book would make an absolutely amazing movie which would be a guaranteed sellout!!


DON'T, JUST DON'T EVEN OPEN THIS BOOK UNTIL YOUR SCHEDULES ARE CLEARED AS YOU WILL BE COMPLETELY SUCKED IN UNTIL THE END!! 


Congratulations Mark on an absolutely addictive and explosive psychological thriller. I don't think I have ever been as shocked as I was when reading this page turner!!! You have just hit my top 3 favourite male authors and I cannot wait to read more of your work and seeing what explosive bombshells you come up with next!! Here is to your next success 🥂 


Overall an absolute mind field of crime, bombshells, twists, turns and everything that will keep you up turning the pages of this addictive page turner!!!


Genres covered in this book include Police Procedural, Crime Thriller, Psychological Fiction, Contemporary Fiction, Mystery,  Psychological Thriller, Noir Crime and Crime Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Ian Rankin, Stuart MacBride, Peter James, Shalini Boland and just anyone and everyone looking for a book that will blow your mind!!!


288 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle or free on kindle unlimited (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!! 


Rated 5/5 (I LOVE, LOVE, LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook. 


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews 



@Bookworm86 @bookworm1986 @SpellboundBooks @ZooLoosBT @SpellBoundBks @MarkEklid










Author Bio


Long before Mark first became a published author, writing was his living.

 

His background is as a newspaper journalist, starting out with the South Yorkshire Times in

1984 and then on to the Derby Telegraph, until leaving full-time work in March 2020.

 

Most of Mark’s time at the Telegraph was as their cricket writer, a role that brought national

recognition in the 2012 and 2013 England and Wales Cricket Board awards. He contributed

for 12 years to the famed Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack and had many articles published in

national magazines, annuals and newspapers.

 

Writing as a profession meant writing for pleasure had to be put on the back burner but

when his work role changed, Mark returned to one of the many half-formed novels in his

computer files and, this time, saw it through to publication.

 

The Murder of Miss Perfect is his first novel for SpellBound, but Mark has previously self-published Sunbeam (November 2019), Family Business (June 2020) and Catalyst (February

2021). The earlier three are to be re-published through SpellBound soon.

 

All four are fast-moving, plot-twisting thrillers set in the city of his birth, Sheffield.

 

Mark lives in Derby with his partner, Sue. They have two adult sons and have been adopted

by a cat.

 

Follow him at:


 

 

 

 

 



 

 

Buy Links -







26 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page