top of page

'The Mother In Law' by Karen King

Updated: Aug 5, 2022


Book Description


Today is my wedding day. And I don’t know if I’ll make it out alive…


As I put my beautiful white wedding dress on, I try not to ignore my fears. I look in the mirror and feel more beautiful than I ever have before. I know marrying Sam is the right choice. He’s the best thing that’s ever happened to me.


I reach for my bright yellow roses, and I force myself to be as cheerful and sunny as those flowers. I won’t dwell on everything that’s happened recently – ever since we agreed to stay with his parents for the weeks ahead of the wedding.


Glancing down at my sparkling engagement ring, I pretend to myself I can forget about the ‘accidents’ I keep having, that I can’t believe are coincidental. Or about his mother’s barbed comments, and the dark looks she gives me.


And, just for today, while I walk down the aisle towards the man of my dreams, while I say ‘I do’, I’ll try to put the secret I know about the family I am marrying into right out of my mind.


Even though that’s one secret that – if I was my soon-to-be mother-in-law – I might just kill to keep…


An absolutely thrilling and gripping psychological suspense novel, perfect for fans of Shalini Boland, Shari Lapena, and The Woman in the Window.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Mother-In-Law' by Karen King.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Karen King, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 29th July 2022.


This is the third book I have read by this author. I have previously read Karen's 'The Stranger In My Bed' and 'The Perfect Stepmother' which I would also recommend reading.


I was originally drawn to this book by its interesting eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'An absolutely thrilling and gripping psychological suspense novel, perfect for fans of Shalini Boland, Shari Lapena, and The Woman in the Window.' I am a huge fan of Shalini and Shari so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a fan of Karen and if this is as good as 'The Stranger In My Bed' and 'The Perfect Stepmother' it is sure to be a gorgeous read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 48 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually visited and had holidays on England on several occasions so am looking forward to seeing if I recognise anywhere that Karen has based the book on.


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonist is Dana Wynters. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them.


Wow!!! Well fair play the first thing I must say is congratulations to Karen King on another HUGE success!! Absolutely fantastic!! I never did work out what was happening and that is quite a feat considering it is quite hard to shock me now thay I have read so many suspense and thrillers yet I never did see that coming!! Anyway on with my review....


As you can tell from the above I loved it!!! This book is very well and smoothly written it just drags you straight into the storyline and keeps you in there under you have finished. It is fast paced and includes some excellent subjects which I won't go into as I don't want to give anything away. A true page turner, this book has an absolutely compelling with an addictive storyline that kept me guessing throughout. I was continuously questioning who was doing what and who the. I loved the ending and thought it fitted perfectly. The storyline is realistic and believable making it easy to picture what is going on. Great descriptions throughout the book really put the readers in the story and gives them a good feeling of what is going on. Filled with suspense and tension this book is one must read psychological thriller!!


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


The characters were very realistic and well rounded and again their personalities reflected the storyline and how they would act, etc perfectly. The narration gave a really good in depth view of how Dana was feeling. It was like she was telling me her story over a cup of tea and it made the hairs on my arms raise when certain events were happening. It is very thought provoking and makes the reader question what they would do in that situation. I really felt sorry for a certain character when I found out what was going on and what had happened but at the same time I also knew they weren't innocent. I was absolutely shocked when one of the characters true personality came to light and it took me a while to believe it even though I was "seeing" it happening myself. However I can't say too much due to not wanting to give anything away. Needless to say I was completely invested in both Dana and the storyline.


I am looking forward to reading more psychological thrillers by this very talented author. Going from romances to psychological thrillers cannot have been an easy feat but you absolutely smashed it!!


Well done Karen on yet another fantastic, gripping book!! This is exactly why you are one of my favourite authors!! Here's to your next success 🥂


Overall a page turning, gripping and addictive psychological thriller that will have your heart racing.


Genres covered in this novel include Thriller, Noir Fiction, Psychological Thriller, Domestic Fiction, Mystery, Women's Psychological Fiction and Psychological Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Shari Lapena, Sheryl Browne, Sam Hepburn, Shalini Boland,'The Woman in the Window' and anyone looking for a psychological thriller with a twist you won't see coming!!


285 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle or free on kindle unlimited (at time of purpose) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews



@KarenKing @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86











Author Bio


Karen King is a multi-published author of both adult and children’s books. Currently published by Bookouture and Headline, Karen writes about the light and dark of relationships. Her eleventh romantic novel, The Spanish Wedding Disaster, has recently been published and her third psychological thriller The Mother In Law is out in July, with a fourth one in February 2023.


Karen has also had 120 children’s books, two young adult novels, and several short stories for women’s magazines published. Her thrillers The Perfect Stepmother and The Stranger in my Bed and her romantic novel The Cornish Hotel by the Sea became International Amazon bestsellers.


Karen is a member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association, the Society of Authors, the Crime Writers’ Association and the Society of Women Writers and Journalists. She now lives in Spain where she loves to spend her non-writing time exploring the quaint local towns with her husband, Dave, when she isn’t sunbathing or swimming in the pool, that is.



Author Social Media Links






Bookouture Email Sign Up: https://www.bookouture.com/karen-king











Purchase Link










31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post

©2020 by Bookworm86. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page