top of page

'The Mix Up' by Elizabeth Neep


Book Description:


What if you meet the love of your life, but he thinks you’re someone else? Anna and Marley are best friends. So when Anna rings Marley, panicking because she has to miss a tour of an exclusive wedding venue, Marley agrees to go in her friend’s place. After being totally ignored by the glamorous receptionist who can tell she doesn’t belong there, Marley meets handsome hotel manager Cameron. He assumes she’s Anna and instead of admitting that she’s not the blushing bride, but the unlucky-in-love single friend, Marley plays along to see what it’s like to be Anna for a day. After all, Marley is unemployed, single and was woken up that morning by her flatmate playing the bagpipes. Anna has a high-flying career and is planning the perfect wedding. Why wouldn’t Marley want to be her? Only she wasn’t counting on Cameron being so smart and funny. Or this spark between them that she can’t ignore. She hasn’t felt this way about a guy in forever. But he thinks she’s somebody better. Marley needs a way out of this mix-up to get her shot at true love. But her fictional fiancé is now standing in her way and it’s harder than she thought to stop living someone else’s life… A funny, uplifting and poignant story of friendship, love and finding your way. Fans of Dolly Alderton, Mhairi McFarlane and Holly Bourne will adore Elizabeth Neep’s wit and warmth.






BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Mix Up' by Elizabeth Neep.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Elizabeth Neep, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 27th May 2021.


This is the second book I have read by this author. I have previously read her previous book 'Never Say No' which I would highly recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated 'Fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Holly Bourne and Bridget Jones will adore Elizabeth Neep’s wit and warmth' . I am a huge fan of Bridget Jones so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a fan of Elizabeth and if this is half as good as 'Never Say No' it is sure to be a great read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 30 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in London, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually visited London on several occasions so am looking forward to see if I recognise anywhere.


This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonist is Marley. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them.


Well done Elizabeth!! Yet another amazingly successful page turner!!! I absolutely LOVED IT, considering I loved 'Never Say No' though I shouldn't be surprised, your a very talented author!!


The booknis extremely well written and the writing flows beautifully. It felt like Marley was telling me her story from across the table. The synopsis, title and cover work perfectly with the storyline.


I was absolutely hooked from page one until the fantastic ending. I completely absorbed this page turner in one sitting. I've read so many crime novels lately thay I really enjoyed reading something so light hearted that made me laugh out loud on several occasions. The storyline was unique and realistic and it just shows how easy it is for one small lie to spiral out of control. It also proved the saying 'be careful what you wish for' to be very accurate. I seriously could not put it down and every time a chapter ended and I thought I could go to sleep each one left me wanting more. An absolute breathe of fresh air!! The storyline is filled with friendship, envy, love, tears and laughter. The book ended perfectly although I would definitely love to read more about what they all get up to next.


The characters are all realistic, strong and well defined. I really enjoyed getting to know them and was completely shocked by Xavier (love the name too!!), not so much by Will. It most definitely shows that looks can be deceiving. Although this book is light hearted and such a fun read it definitely leaves you thinking. It was lovely to see all the different relationships between the characters grow, develop and change. The only thing I would have loved to know more about is what happens with Cameron, maybe a good idea for your next book (hint, hint Elizabeth).


Another HUGE Elizabeth on this fantastic book. I'm looking forward to your next success!! I would also love to see this book turned into a movie, Bridget Jones watch out!



Overall a beautifully written light hearted breathe of fresh air that is perfect to read anywhere and everywhere.


Genres covered in this book include Romance Novel, Humorous Fiction, Contemporary Romance and Holiday Fiction amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Bridget Jones and anyone looking for a light hearted page turner.



311 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@ElizabethNeep @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86











Author Bio:


Elizabeth Neep was born in 1990 in Derbyshire and now lives in London Bridge. After studying Law at the University of Nottingham and the University of New South Wales, she worked in magazine journalism, most noticeably writing for Dazed and Confused and PETRIe. Elizabeth now works as a non-fiction Senior Commissioning Editor and writes and paints in her spare time.




Buy Links:









22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page