top of page

'The Mistress' by Jill Childs

Book Description:


It wasn’t until that night that I found out he had been cheating. I never would have guessed it of Ralph – I was still head over heels in love with him then. I would have done anything for my husband… that is, until I found out what he was really hiding.


The night it happened, I was late home from a parent-teacher conference. Things hadn’t been the same between us recently and I was hoping we could start over – make things right over a bottle of wine and an early night like the old days. I couldn’t have been more wrong.


I sometimes think I never really knew Ralph at all. Because I never thought he’d be capable of doing what he did. It wasn’t only dangerous, it was very, very wrong. And I’m not talking about the affair with Laura.


As I said, I came home that night hoping to finally fix things with the man I love. The very last thing I expected was to find my husband murdered.


No marriage is ever what it seems from the outside. A compulsively unputdownable domestic thriller from a USA Today bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Silent Wife.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Mistress' by Jill Childs


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 14th September 2020


This is the first book that I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its colourful cover and intriguing blurb. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 55 chapters which are short in length so ideal to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is written in first person perspective and the protagonists are Laura in part one and Helen in part two. I enjoy books written in first person perspective as you get to know the person more and it feels like they are talking directly to you. In this case there are two protagonists which makes it even better as you can see things from both points of view.


This book is based in in the UK. I love books set in the UK as I live in Wales, UK and sometimes I have been to the places so can picture them better.


This book was very well written with a suspense filled storyline and in depth descriptions that really drew me in. I loved how it flitted from past to present to give the bigger picture while doing it smoothly without confusion.


I really enjoyed reading from both Helen and Laura's perspectives and seeing an affair from both sides of the story, well both females involved. Both characters were quite strong but Helen was definitely the strongest in character and personality. I actually felt sorry for Laura by the end which I would never have guessed I would at the beginning as I actively disliked her. This shows the talent the author has to get you to show empathy for both characters.


The storyline is fast paced and kept me turning the pages until late at night. I thought I knew what was coming, in a way I suppose I wasn't surprised by a certain event but the finalé definitely was not what I was expecting! What a bang that ended on and I must say what a cliffhanger!!!!


This would look amazing as a film if done right and I am definitely looking forward to reading more books by this very talented, now top 10 author!!!


Overall a fantastic psychological thriller that will grip you in suspense from beginning to end!!


Genres covered include Psychological Fiction, Mystery, Domestic Thriller.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of 'Ginger Girl' and a good read in general.


293 pages.


This book is £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I loved it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@JillChilds @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86


https://kcmw86.wixsite.com/bookworm86


https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks


https://m.facebook.com/Bookwork86/?__tn__=%2As-R





Author Bio:


Jill always loved writing – real and imaginary – and spent thirty years travelling the world as a journalist, living overseas and reporting wherever the news took her. She's now made her home in south-west London with her husband and twin girls who love stories as much as she does. Although she's covered everything from earthquakes and floods, wars and riots, she's decided some of the most extraordinary stories are right here at home - in the secrets and lies she imagines behind closed doors on ordinary streets just like yours.






Buy Links:


Amazon: https://bit.ly/3bxrLul

Apple: https://apple.co/3d1tYNv

Kobo: https://bit.ly/2YIHmku

Google: https://bit.ly/3e72k2V

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comentários

Avaliado com 0 de 5 estrelas.
Ainda sem avaliações

Adicione uma avaliação
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page