top of page

The Mistake I Made by Sam Hepburn. Review


The Mistake I Made: A totally gripping psychological thriller with a jaw-dropping twist by Sam Hepburn


Book Description


A man is dead. And only I know why.


As we sit drinking wine by the river and I gaze into his dark brown eyes, I know I have finally met the man of my dreams. I have been hurt before, but this time will be different.


He has a terrible past and everyone tells me he can’t be trusted, but they don’t know what I know. I know deep down that together we can overcome anything.


Because sure he has secrets, but who doesn’t?


But now a man is dead. And the police are knocking on my door.


Was trusting him the biggest mistake I could make…? I don’t know where to go or who to turn to. What if I am next?


This addictive and gripping psychological thriller is perfect for fans of The Housemaid, The Family Across the Street and The Family Upstairs.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Mistake I Made' by Sam Hepburn.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Sam Hepburn, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 11th August 2023.


This is the third book I have read by this author. I have previously read her previous book 'Gone Before' and 'The Good Mother' which I would highly recommend.



This novel consists of a prologue and 42 chapters and is set over two parts. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


WOW!!! What an unexpected ending!!!! Well done Sam you have absolutely smashed it yet again with yet another fantastic page turning psychological thriller!!!!


This book is fantastically written with vivid descriptions that put you straight in the picture. The cover, title and synopsis suited the plot perfectly and I much prefer this cover to the original, very eye catching!! The storyline is absolutely captivating, intriguing and just a huge WOW!!! Sam manages to catch me out each time I have read one of her books and this one is no different. She is such a talented author who manages to make the reader think they are on one path when the next minute they have been led to an entirely different place!!! This is one of those amazing books that I had no chance of putting down and every time I said one more chapter I just HAD to read one more and then another because it kept ending in a way there was no chance of me not reading more!! The next thing I know I had devoured the whole book in several hours and was sitting for ages after still thinking WTF have I just read and how does Sam manage it each and every time!!!! There was no way in hell I was ever going to guess that explosive twist of an ending at all!!! A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to Sam for blowing my mind!! I have read hundreds of crime and psychological books that it is getting harder and harder to shock me but you managed it BIG TIME!!!

It is absolutely ram packed with suspense, twists, lies, shocks, secrets and everything that makes a psychological thriller/drama unputdownable which is exactly what this book is. I was completely absorbed throughout and read it in one sitting. I was kept on the edge of my seat and biting my nails while my heart was in my throat. Another absolutely HUGE success by this very talented author!!!


The only mistake here would be not picking up this book and not clearing your schedules before you pick it up as you will NOT be able to put it down!!!!


The characters were vivid, complex and realistic. Thanks to Sam's fantastic, creative and evocative writing skills it wasn't just the storyline that came to life before my eyes but each of the characters jumped out of the pages too. They all had their own unique personalities, strengths and weaknesses and you are constantly kept trying to work them out and wondering who could be trusted and who couldn't. Looks can definitely be deceiving!! This is such an epic read but I won't say any more as it's too risky that I may give something away and I really don't want to spoil this page turner for future readers. Pick up your copy and get sucked in today!!!


Congratulations Sam on what promises to be a HUGE success and I hope your busy writing your next novel as I for one cannot wait!!! I would love to see this book turned into a movie and I can guarantee it will be a huge hit!!


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the prologue and the first three chapter of Sam's absolutely addictive 'Gone Before' which is another explosive page turner and one I have read myself and would highly recommend!!


Overall an unputdownable, nail biting, page turning psychological thriller with explosive twists




330 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle and £8.99 via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews






@TheMistakeIMade @SamHepburn @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger
























Author bio


Sam Hepburn read modern languages at Cambridge University and, after a brief spell in advertising, joined the BBC as a General Trainee. She worked as a documentary maker for twenty years and was one of the commissioners for the launch of BBC Four. Since then, she has written several books, including psychological thrillers Gone Before and Her Perfect Life, and novels for young adults and children. She won the 2017 CWA Margery Allingham Short Story award and has been nominated for several other prestigious prizes, including the CILIP Carnegie Medal for her YA thrillers.


Sam has worked and travelled widely in Africa and the Middle East, and is a trustee of the Kenyan’s children’s charity, I Afrika. She now lives in London with her husband and children.



Author social media


Website



Facebook



Instagram



Twitter



Newsletter sign up






Purchase link







1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page