top of page

'The Missing Widow' by L.G Davis

Updated: Oct 23, 2022

Book Description


The Missing Widow: A heart-pounding psychological thriller packed with nail-biting twists by L.G. Davis


I thought we would be safe here. But I was wrong.



My son Clark and I live in a beautiful cabin outside a rural town, somewhere nobody will find us. I could not have found a more perfect place to start over, shielded by the trees and far away from prying eyes. But when I find a newspaper clipping on my porch, it drives fear into my bones. Widow wanted for murder screams the headline. And that’s my face in the picture, circled with red marker. I look out into the forest, but I can’t see anyone. How did they find me? And what do they want?


I don’t know where to run next, or how to make sure my son is safe. And deep down I know the only way I can finally be free is to find out what really happened that night a year ago, when my dear husband Brett died.


I’m sure I didn’t kill him… did I? But that night is a blur, and as I try to prove my innocence, the dark secrets I uncover force me to question everything I believed. The people I trusted most are not who I thought they were. And the person who is coming for me is very close to home…


An utterly heart-pounding and twisty psychological thriller that will keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, Behind Closed Doors and The Girl on the Train.


Previously published under the title The Widow's Cabin.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Missing Widow' by L.G Davis.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for L.G Davis, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 18th October 2022.


This is the second book I have read by this author. I have also read 'Liar Liar' which I would also highly recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching beautiful cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'Anyone who loves Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train and Behind Closed Doors will be utterly gripped.' I am a huge fan of 'Gone Girl' so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of L.G Davis and if this book is half as good as 'Liar Liar' it is guaranteed to be a page turner. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 40 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in the fictional town of Willow Creek, Tennessee, USA 🇺🇸.


This book is written in first person perspective and main protagonist is Meghan Wilton. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them.


This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions that really set the scene and kept me on the edge of my seat. The cover and synopsis suited the storyline perfectly.


OMG!!! MIND ABSOLUTELY BLOWN!!!!


Love, LOVE, LOVED this absolute page turner!! This book is extremely fast paced and kept me on the edge of my seat throughout. It was one of those true gems where if you had to put it down you had to race back as soon as you could to find out what was going to happen next. The plot is unique which is always a bonus after reading so many psychological thrillers. The storyline is absolutely ram packed with mystery, deceit, secrets, lies, romance, tension, suspense, death, friendship and OMG the twists just kept on coming again and again!!! Just when I thought everything that could happen had happened BOOM there was another shocker around the corner. Every time I kept telling myself one more chapter the one I was in ended at a point where there was no way I could stop reading so I absolutely devoured it in one sitting!! I WAS absolutely blown away and considering I read approximately 30 books a month that is certainly no easy feat so a HUGE congratulations on that Liz!!. I really could not recommend this book any more. It was based in a fictional town which sounded absolutely stunning and if it was real I would definitely love to visit Ruth's cottage, the Lemon Cafe and Ruth's Bakery!!!! I absolutely loved the absolutely mind blowing and cliffhanger ending which had my jaw dropping to the floor!! If you are looking for something unique, filled with suspense and that will blow your mind then this is definitely the book for you!!



DO NOT EVEN THINK ABOUT READING THIS UNTIL YOU HAVE CLEARED YOUR SCHEDULES AS YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO PUT IT DOWN!!!


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read an excerpt of L.G Davis' absolutely gripping 'Liar, Liar' which is another mind blowing page turner and one I have read myself and would highly recommend!!


I wasn't just 100% invested in the storyline but also in the characters. The every one of the characters were well defined, realistic and strong. Unfortunately I am not going to be able to say much at all about them as I don't want to run the risk of giving anything away. I will however say that my heart completely went out to Meghan who didn't deserve anything that she went through. I felt so sorry on her but I did enjoy watching how her character fought every step of the way and did everything in her power to protect her son. I do love seeing kick @$$ females in books and Meghan was definitely one of the toughest. She just went through absolute hell and yet kept fighting tooth and nail and I enjoyed seeing her get stronger and her character develop throughout. I will also say that I was absolutely gutted about a certain character especially considering what they did for Meghan at the end. There were several characters u could not stand but then you can't love everyone especially in a psychological thriller otherwise it wouldn't be much fun would it!! . Needless to say they all worked perfectly together to make this page turner as amazing as it is!!!


A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to L.G Davis on what promises to be a massive best seller!!! I WAS absolutely shocked by so many explosive reveals!!! This is why your on my favourite author list Liz and here's to your next explosive success 🥂!!!


Overall an absolutely addictive, mind blowing page turner that will keep you up with a racing heart until you've finished!!!


Genres covered in this book include Mystery, Thriller & Suspense Literary Fiction, Thriller, Psychological Fiction, Suspense, Thriller, Women's Psychological Fiction, Domestic Fiction, Psychological Thriller, Domestic Thriller and Mystery amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of 'Gone Girl', 'The Girl on the Train', 'Behind Closed Doors' and anyone looking for an explosive thriller that will just blow your mind!!!


248 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle, free on kindle unlimited (at time of review) and £7.99 in paperback on Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews



@LGDavis @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










ABOUT THE AUTHOR



Liz's story began in a refugee camp in Angola, where she spent the first eight years of her life. After that, she spent some years in Namibia (her home country), South Africa, and Germany. She now lives in Vienna, Austria, with her husband and two children. Liz wrote her first full-length novel at eighteen and hid it in a box under her bed. Several others soon followed it. Her passion lies in writing edge-of-the-seat psychological thrillers that give readers the same rush they would get on a rollercoaster.




AUTHOR SOCIAL MEDIA



Twitter: @LGDavisAuthor



Instagram: @lgdavisauthor


TikTok: @lgdavisbooks







Purchase Link









19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

コメント

5つ星のうち0と評価されています。
まだ評価がありません

評価を追加
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page