top of page

'The Missing Piece' by Catherine Miller

Book Description:


Broken Heart Syndrome: A sudden and acute form of heart failure, brought on by emotional or physical distress.


After years of studying cardiac medicine, thirty-one-year-old Keisha knows the heart inside out. She knows the average heartrate for each age group, she can name every valve, and she can tell you exactly how much blood it pumps daily.


The one thing she doesn’t know is how to fall in love. And nor does she want to. The secret her tattoo covers is a reminder that the best way to protect a heart is to never let it feel in the first place…


Seventy-nine-year-old Clive is Subject Five in Keisha’s latest research project. He’s been in love since he was seventeen, ever since he met Nancy at a tea dance. But last night, his beloved wife was killed. Suddenly, he has no one to waltz with. He has woken up in hospital, a widower diagnosed with Broken Heart Syndrome.


These strangers, brought together by a broken heart, must face up to the truth of their pasts. Can Clive teach his new friend that until you’ve loved, you haven’t lived? And can Keisha help him see that it’s never too late for a second chance?


For anyone who has ever felt the pang of heartbreak and feared you might never heal again, this beautiful tale teaches us how to dust ourselves off and seek happiness again. Fans of Jojo Moyes, Josie Silver and Rosie Walsh will love this moving and uplifting story.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Missing Piece' by Catherine Miller.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 28th October 2020


This is the first book that I have read by this author. It most definitely will not be my last!!


I was originally drawn to this book by its interesting cover and intriguing sounding blurb. The blurb also states fans of Jojo Moyes will love this. I am a huge Jojo Moyes fan so am intrigued to see if it will live up to this statement. I was also looking for a genre change from my usual crime or thriller and the synopsis of this book drew me straight to it!! I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 54 chapters and an epilogue written in 4 parts. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Southampton, UK 🇬🇧 . I always enjoy when books are set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. This makes it easier to picture where the scenes are set at times.


This book is written in first and third person perspective with the main protagonists being Keisha (first) and Clive (third) . I tend to enjoy books written in first person perspective as as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. It is even better when there are several protagonists as you get to see even more of what is going on and get a feel for more characters more especially when one perspective is first person and another third person.


Well, well well!!! Where to even start? Ahhh I know.... Where has this author been all my life??? What an absolutely amazing and beautiful book!! Watch out Jojo Moyes you have competition here!!! Absolutely beautifully written, flowing lovely with very apt names of the 4 parts of the book!!


The storyline is beautiful and very unique which is definitely a bonus! I get so fed up of books using the same type of storyline this is definitely refreshing. I would LOVE to see this turned into a movie and is the most romantic book I have read for a long time. The story is full of heartbreak, loss, mystery and some comedy. I absolutely burst out laughing when reading the speed dating scenario which earned me some strange looks from my partner!!


I was completely invested in the characters who I absolutely loved. The only downfall is them being fictional as I would have loved to meet them!! What a complete mix of characters but they all worked out so perfectly with each other, I will actually miss them!! If you love Sheldon from the Big Bang Theory you will love his female counterpart Keisha!!!! Lucy reminded me of Penny and well I'd be fighting with Keisha over George who was, as us Welsh like to say, lush 😂. I don't think I've ever come across a book where I loved every character!!!


I am off to check out every single one of Catherine's other books on Amazon and pop them on my wishlist. Well done Catherine you have made my top author list. I cannot wait to read more of your amazing work. Congratulations!!!


Overall an absolutely page turning, unique, gorgeous romance story with characters you will fall in love with.


Genres covered in this novel include Contemporary Romance, Contemporary Fiction and Women's Fiction among others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as Jojo Moyes, The Big Bang Theory and anyone looking for the love story of the century!!!


332 pages.


This book is 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon or free on kindle unlimited which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@CatherineMiller @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author Bio:


When Catherine Miller became a mum to twins, she decided her hands weren’t full enough so wrote a novel with every spare moment she managed to find. By the time the twins were two, Catherine had a two-book deal with Carina UK. Her debut novel, Waiting For You, came out in March 2016.


Catherine was a NHS physiotherapist, but for health reasons she retired early from this career. As she loved her physiotherapy job, she decided if she couldn’t do that she would pursue her writing dream. It took a few years and a couple of babies, but in 2015 she won the Katie Fforde bursary, was a finalist in the London Book Fair Write Stuff Competition and highly commended in Woman magazine’s writing competition. Since then she’s had four novels published.


@katylittlelady





Buy Links:



27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page