top of page

'The Marriage' by K.L Slater

Book Description:


Ten years ago he killed my son. Today I married him. Ten years ago my darling son Jesse was murdered and our perfect family was destroyed. My strong, handsome boy, so full of life, became a memory, a photo I carried with me everywhere. But today I’m finally close to finding happiness again. My ash-blonde hair has been curled into ringlets. Carefully placed white flowers frame my delicate features. The small, drab chapel has been prettied up with white satin, and there are tiny red hearts scattered on the small table where I will soon sign the register with my new husband. The man who killed my son. My friends and family can’t understand it. My neighbours whisper in the street whenever I walk past. How can I love a man like Tom? They don’t really know me at all… The most unputdownable psychological thriller you’ll read this year from the bestselling author K.L. Slater. If you love The Wife Between Us or Gone Girl, you’ll be totally hooked on The Marriage.



BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Marriage' by K.L. Slater.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and K.L. Slater.


Publication date 20th March 2021.


This is the second book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'The Girl She Wanted' which I would also highly recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching and beautiful cover and its intriguing synopsis. I have also previously read 'The Girl She Wanted' by Kim which I loved so am hoping this will be just as good. The synopsis also stated 'If you love The Wife Between Us or Gone Girl, you’ll be totally hooked on The Marriage'. I am a huge fan of 'Gone Girl' so I'm intrigued to see if it lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 60 chapters. The chapters are short to medium to long in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Mansfield, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 , UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually visited Nottinghamshire on several occasions so am looking forward to see if I recognise anywhere mentioned in the book. (Written before I've read the book)


This book is written in both first and third person perspective with the main protagonists being Bridget (first) , Tom (third), Audrey (third), Ellis (third) and Jill (first) . The benefits of third person perspective especially with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. With there being several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on. The fact that this book is a mix of both is fantastic as you get to go alot more in depth with the characters thoughts and feelings thannif it was just third or first person perspective.


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


OMG!! Love, love, LOVED IT!!!! Well done Kim you have absolutely done it again. Completely smashed it!!! Fantastically written with vivid descriptions that completely absorbed me into the chapters. The cover and synopsis suited the plot perfectly.


The storyline was realistic and completely addictive. I could not put it down and read it in one sitting. I cannot remember the last time a book made me question myself so much!! Completely packed with lies, secrets and explosive twists I was on the edge of my seat biting my nails throughout. I was not expecting the shocking (several) twists so a HUGE congratulations Kim, its getting harder and harder to shock me but you managed it several times. The setting was perfect for the storyline and I loved that you got to see so much from so many characters perspectives. I truly thought I knew what was going on and was pleasantly surprised when I was completely wrong (not something I normally admit to!!). Completely unputdownable!!


The characters were all very well portrayed and unique with their own strengths and weaknesses. I went from feeling sorry for some to disliking them to wanting to fight their corner. The book is jam packed with deceit and one thing I did enjoy was that everything was explained at the end. Nothing worse than loose ends. I am also very pleased with the way the book ended.


Another hugely successful novel by K. L Slater who is one of my favourite authors. I cannot wait to read what she comes up with next!!! Well done Kim, keep them coming!!!



Overall a highly addictive non stop psychological thriller that will keep you hooked and guessing throughout!!!


Genres covered in this novel include Psychological Thriller, Suspense, Thriller and Psychological Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of 'Gone Girl' and C. L.Taylor


356 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@KLSlater @Montlake @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author Bio:


For many years, Kim sent her work out to literary agents but never made it off the slush pile. At the age of 40 she went back to Nottingham Trent University and now has an MA in Creative Writing. Before graduating, she received five offers of representation from London literary agents which was, as Kim says, ‘a fairytale … at the end of a very long road!’ Kim is a full-time writer and lives in Nottingham with her husband, Mac. https://klslaterauthor.com/ https://www.facebook.com/KimLSlaterAuthor/ https://twitter.com/KimLSlater



Buy Links:







18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page