top of page

'The M Word' by Eileen Wharton

Book Blurb


Roberta Gallbreath is middle-aged and menopausal.


She dislikes her children, detests her ex-husband and despises her colleagues.


When her mother dies, Roberta is left with a pile of letters and a mystery surrounding her son. The letters reveal Roberta’s heritage is not what it seems and she is soon on a mission to become a better person.


Told with humour and emotion, The M Word is the tale of one woman’s journey to find out where she came from. As she looks to the past for answers, more questions are raised. Will Roberta discover who she really is?








BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'The M Word' by Eileen Wharton.


Read and reviewed for ZooLoos Book Tours, Spellbound Books and Eileen Wharton.


Publication date 18th October 2022.


This is the first book I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and hilarious sounding synopsis and title. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Spellbound Books. I have yet to read a book published by Spellbound Books that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).



This novel consists of 29 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is based in Newcastle, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture.



This book is written in first person perspective with the main protagonist being Roberta Gallbreath. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them.



OMFG!!! I CANNOT REMEMBER THE LAST TIME I LAUGHED SO MUCH OR SO HARD 😂 😂 ABSOLUTELY HILARIOUS!


I genuinely didn't think a book could get any funnier after reading some crackers this year, but this book completely smashed it!! I was in absolute stitches so many times I lost count I absolutely loved this book which I just could not put down and flew through in one sitting. This may be the first book I have read by Eileen but it most definitely won't be my last!! In fact as soon as I have finished writing this up I'm off to add all her books to my Amazon wish list!! This book is such a refreshing and larger than life read. I absolutely devoured it in a day and got quite a few funny looks when I burst out laughing while reading it outside the school waiting for my son... I advise you not to do this!! Thinking about it I wouldn't read it at a cafe either as I spat my tea out reading it a few times as I was not expecting some of the absolutely hilarious comments/insults I came across!! I literally laughed out loud and had tears streaming down my eyes. I have read many books that made me laugh but very few that had my jaw dropping one second and then howling in laughter the next within the first few sentences!!! One of the things I loved about this book along with it being absolutely hilarious was that there was some romance involved but also an emotional story too. Eileen managed to weave quite a sad storyline into an absolutely hilarious rom com which made the reader go through all the emotions, sometimes together and sometimes seperately!! She also described the online dating scene perfectly 😂. It was quite a unique storyline too and not PC prohibited which makes a nice change. I must say I don't know whether to love or hate the ending!! I loved what happened at the end but OMG Eileen WTF are you doing to me??? That last sentence is one of the most explosive bomb shells I've ever seen at the end of a book!!


I hope to God you are making this a series and writing it right now as I cannot wait to read more on Roberta and what the hell happens next!!!


I love the # signs dotted around the book as it actually read like a diary at points, along with the letters and diary entries. The short chapters mean you can easily finish a chapter quickly and then pick up back where you left off when your ready, not that I needed to do this as I flew through it so quickly. It is such an easy and fast paced read you can easily read it anywhere although best not in public!! I must say that even my non reading partner laughed out loud when I read him some of the sections of the book and he absolutely loved the Eddie Hall reference!!


Roberta constantly made me laugh with her stuff them, shove it and blunt as fu<|< attitude which I absolutely LOVED!! WE DEFINITELY need more Robertas in this world!! Eileen Wharton captured her essence perfectly in her writing while also showing what life can be like for older women plus also adding in the romance and emotional essence of the story perfectly. Roberta was definitely entertaining with her attitude and some of the things she came out with had me bursting out laughing on many occasions!! I adored her friendship with Tammy and how open they were with each other, along with insulting... Its never a true friendship if you can't tell your friend that nobody else likes you or that you “Can’t make a silk purse out of a sow’s arse,” when giving them a makeover. My heart did go out to Roberta though after seeing how her mother treated her. However, I also felt sorry on her mother, Michael and Bertie (to a degree). However, I certainly DID NOT feel sorry for Fliss who I thought to be quite self centred and definitely b|t#hy or Andy who was an absolute tw@twaffle!! I did have mixed feelings for Mick the D|c|< but I won't go into any more details on the characters as I don't want to spoil it for others so you'll just have to pick up a copy to find out!! However, love them or hate them they all come together perfectly to make one of the most hilarious, page turning and unputdownable books I have ever read!!!



If your feeling down or could just do with a good laugh you NEED Roberta in your lifes!! Grab you copy today!! AN ABSOLUTE must read!!!


A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to Eileen on what promises to be yet another massive best seller!!! The most hilarious book I have read this year! This is why you are on my favourite author list and here's to your next explosive and hilarious success which I beg you to bring out soon, I just NEED to know what Roberta does next and what happens in her non stop 100mph life🥂!!!


Overall a fast paced, hilarious, romantic and cheeky laugh a minute book that will have tears streaming down your face!!


Genres covered in this book include Contemporary Fiction, Humour, Family Drama, Family Life Fiction, Women's Contemporary Fiction, Women's Writers & Fiction, Fiction and General Humorous Fiction amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Bridget Jones, Tracy's Hot Mail and absolutely anyone looking for a laugh a minute!!!



224 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle, free on kindle unlimited and £7.19 in paperback via Amazon at time of review which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5 /5 (I loved it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews





@Bookworm86 @bookworm1986 @ZooLoosBT @EileenWharton @SpellBoundBks @SpellboundBooks














Author Bio


Eileen Wharton is an Oscar winning actress, Olympic gymnast, and Influencer. She also tells lies for a living. Her first novel was published in 2011 to worldwide critical acclaim. And she’s won awards for exaggeration. It did top the Amazon humour chart so she’s officially a best-selling author. She currently has five ‘lively’ offspring ranging from thirty-three to fourteen years of age, and has no plans to procreate further, much to the relief of the local schools and police force. She lives on a council estate in County Durham. She has never eaten kangaroo testicles, is allergic to cats and has a phobia of tinned tuna. She’s retired from arguing with people on the internet.



Follow her at:







Buy Link











11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page