top of page

'The Lucky One' by Jessica Payne



Book Description


The Lucky One: An absolutely gripping and addictive psychological thriller by Jessica Payne


Ten years ago, I survived a serial killer. They called me the lucky one, but they don’t know the truth I’ve been hiding ever since…


Then: We danced together that night, our dresses glittering in the swirling lights. We couldn’t have known that for one of us, it would be our last night alive.


Now: Back in my hometown a decade later—the place I’ve avoided because of the memories—I can’t shake the feeling that I am being followed. I tell myself it’s all in my head, but the prickle on the back of my neck feels like a warning. Then the anonymous messages land in my inbox: I’m watching. I’ve been waiting for you.


I want to feel safe, surrounded by my closest friends. But everyone has something to hide and it’s impossible to know who I can trust.


When my friend Esme goes missing, her phone ringing through to voicemail, it feels like the past is about to repeat itself.


Someone won’t let me forget what really happened that night. What I promised. How I escaped. If the truth comes out, I only hope they can forgive me... I can’t make the same mistake again. I have to keep us all safe. What if, this time, I’m not so lucky?


An addictive, nail-biting psychological thriller, The Lucky One will have you sleeping with the light on. Fans of Stillhouse Lake, The Girl on the Train and Gillian Flynn will be totally hooked!





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Lucky One' by Jessica Payne.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Jessica Payne, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 14th September 2022.


This is the second book I have read by this author. I have also read her debut novel 'Make Me Disappear' which I would definitely recommend!!!


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching unique cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'Fans of Stillhouse Lake, The Girl on the Train and Gillian Flynn will be totally hooked!.' I am a huge fan of 'Girl On The Train' so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a HUGE fan of Jessica and if this book is even a quarter as good as her debut novel 'Make Me Dissappear' it is guaranteed to be a page turner!! I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 89 chapters. The chapters are short in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Kansas, USA 🇺🇸.


This book is written in first person perspective with the main protagonist being Norah Silverton. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them.


This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions that will leave your heart pounding and you sitting on the edge of your seat throughout. The cover and synopsis suit the storyline perfectly.


Well, Well, Well what another absolutely EXPLOSIVE non stop, action packed suspense rammed psychological thriller by the fantastic Jessica Payne!!!


This book is filled with tension, suspense, secrets, murder, explosive reveals and an absolutely bombshell ending!!! I picked this up this morning and I just could not put it down!!! This is one of those books that I walked around anywhere I could just glued to the pages. I love the fact that the chapters were so short as it meant I could just read a chapter in between other jobs I had to do. The narrative was absolutely perfect sending shivers down my spine!!! This book came with one twist after another and you just did not know what was going to come next !! I felt like I was standing next to Norah throughout the book and my heart was literally racing at times. I must admit I wasn't shocked when the culprit was revealed although there were several other things that I didn't get. Please don't let this put you off though as I have read hundreds of crime and psychological novels and it is getting harder and harder to shock me and Jessica definitely managed that in 'Make Me Disappear' (her debut novel). I loved the fact that there were chapters from the past included and Jessica weaved them into the present chapters perfectly until the reader gets a complete picture of what happened and what is happening. Jessica has done an amazing job weaving these topics into an unputdownable psychological thriller.


It is set over/includes multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


Do not even think about picking this up until you have cleared your schedules as you will NOT be able to put it down!!!


I love the fact that this book includes an absolutely kick butt strong female character as a lead protagonists but there were some times where I was quite shocked by her naivety which is a shame as it made me struggle with the realism of her character. The police were portrayed as insensitive, especially in the case of Detective Cron. I wasn't as invested in these characters as I was in 'Make Me Disappear' due to the way they were portrayed or acted. However, the storyline made up for my dislike of the characters and I am looking forward to Jessica's next psychological thriller!!


Congratulations Jessica on an absolutely amazing, unputdownable, explosive page turner. Here's to your next success🥂



Overall an absolutely heart racing, explosive, unputdownable psychological thriller that will keep you up at night.


Genres covered in this book include Psychological Fiction,Mystery, Crime Thriller, Romantic Suspense, Serial Killer's, Psychological Thriller, Suspense, Thriller, Debut and Mystery amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of 'The Wife Between Us' , 'Gone Girl', 'The Couple Next Door', 'Stillhouse Lake' , 'The Girl on the Train', Gillian Flynn and every single person reading this review!!!


387 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle or free on kindle unlimited (at time of review) and £9.99 in paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 4 /5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@JessicaPayne @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @JessicaPayne







About the author


Jessica Payne is the author of THE LUCKY ONE and MAKE ME DISAPPEAR. She grew up in Kansas City, later moving to the Pacific Northwest where the mountains and Puget Sound became home. Beyond writing, she loves to run, rock climb, and explore the great outdoors with her daughter and husband. She is an RN and recently finished her degree as a nurse practitioner. When holding still, which isn’t often, you’ll find a book in her hand and a cat or dog (or both!) in her lap. Jessica writes suspense and thriller and is the host of #MomsWritersClub on Twitter and YouTube. You can find out more about her at her website, jessicapayne.net


Author social media



Twitter: @authorjesspayne


Facebook: @authorjessicapayne


Instagram: @jessicapyane.writer





Purchase Link






7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page