top of page

'The Lost Promise Of Ireland' by Susanne O'Leary

Updated: Dec 24, 2021

Book: The Lost Promise of Ireland

Author: Susanne O'Leary

Pub Day: Dec 17th 2021


About the Book:

A completely gorgeous story about lost loves and small-town secrets that will sweep you away to the Irish coast. Maggie remembers her summers in the village of Sandy Cove in Ireland like they were yesterday. She and her family would swim in the crystal-clear waters, collect beautiful seashells and relax on the sand. So when she sees that her family’s old coastguard cottage is available, she wonders if renting it for the summer will finally help her move on from the man who just broke her heart. As soon as Maggie arrives she is delighted to find her childhood best-friend Sorcha and Sorcha’s cousin Brian still living in town. They enjoy cosy nights in the local harbour pub, with its stunning views across the ocean, as if no time has passed. And when Brian reveals he had a fierce teenage crush on Maggie, she can’t help but notice just how handsome he has become. But then Maggie finds a worn metal box hidden in the attic of the house, full of love letters she exchanged with a sweet American boy she met one summer. During their last night together, star-gazing on the beach, they promised to find each other again. Soon it becomes clear that Maggie is not the only one returning to Sandy Cove. Torn between her growing feelings for Brian and the romance she’s held in her heart for many years, Maggie realises that her summer may be more complicated than she’d expected. Will Maggie finally find a true love who can sweep her off her feet or will this holiday in Sandy Cove be her last? Fans of Mary Alice Monroe, Sheila O’Flanagan and Debbie Macomber will fall head over heels for this enchanting, feel-good romance.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Lost Promise Of Ireland' by Susanne O'Leary.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Susanne O'Leary , Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 17th December 2021.


This is the third book I have read by this author. It is also the third book in the 'Starlight Cottages' series but can be read as a standalone. I have previously read 'The Lost Girls Of Ireland' which is the first book in the 'Starlight Cottages' series and the second book 'The Lost Secret Of Ireland' which is the second book in the 'Starlight Cottages' series and both can also be read as a standalone and which I highly recommend.



I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'For fans of Debbie Macomber, Sheila O’Flanagan and Mary Alice Monroe.' I am a huge fan of Debbie Macomber so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Susanne O'Leary and if this is half as good as 'The Lost Girls Of Ireland' and 'The Lost Secret Of Ireland' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 23 chapters and an epilogue The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Ireland 🇮🇪 UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. The fact that this book is based in Ireland is even better as I have been on holiday in Ireland many times so may even recognise some places Emma has set the book around.


This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonist is Maggie Ryan. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


Well done Susanne you have done it again!!!! OMG! OMG!! I cannot remember the last time I was so gutted to come to the end of a book!! I absolutely fell in love and it genuinely felt like I was packing my bags and being whisked away from my Irish holiday when I read the last page. Absolutely gorgeous!!!


The book is so well written with its stunning and vivid descriptions that I genuinely felt that I was standing with Maggie throughout feeling the Irish breeze in my hair and smelling the ocean. The synopsis and cover suited the storyline perfectly.


Although this book is the third in a series it can be read as a standalone with no problems. In fact I never came across anything in the book that would make me think it was part of a series. The storyline was realistic and just beautiful. It starts off in such a sad place and from the rain a rainbow was born. I loved getting to know everyone on Sandy Cove and Starlight Cottages and enjoyed the atmosphere and my gorgeous surroundings. It genuinely felt like I was on holidays and after not having one for so long this was definitely the closest thing.


The storyline was filled with romance, stunning settings, love, secrets, deceit, friendship, community and family. It made me feel all bubbly inside and it had an air of mystery trying to work out what it was that a certain person was up to. There was plenty of laughter, hope, love and some tension and sadness mixed in. Absolutely everything you want in a romantic getaway. I loved the ending which is absolutely perfect and gives me yet another relationship to look forward to watching develop in your next book 🥂


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


The characters were all solid, realistic and I loved that they all had their own unique personalities. Maggie, Ellie, Lydia and Sorcha are such strong and determined women, one who had to get over the ordeal of a break up and lost love and the other dealing with the a very overprotective and overwhelming mum in law to be. I love it when the protagonist is such a strong female lead being a woman myself it's great to see, having four was an extra bonus!!! Maggie is such an independent woman and it was beautiful to see her relationship with Ellie, Lydia and Sorcha and the way they supported each other through thick and thin. Rory and Brian well phew, what handsome and romantic men. It wasn't just the main characters that made this book but also all the neighbours too, I really enjoyed meeting them all. I enjoyed meeting Ellie, Lydia, Jason, Saskia and Rory again along with new faces such as Brian and Paul and continuing to see friendships and relationships grow and bonds develop and secrets revealed. Susanne portrayed Irish Country life perfectly and it was exactly the same when I went on holidays for a fortnight many years ago, the close knit community where everyone knew each other and was so helpful.


Susanne I fell in love with yet another of your heart warming, page turning and stunning books which took my heart away and left me gutted when my holiday ended. This is exactly why your on my favourite author list!! I have already added all your books on my wish lists and I cannot wait for my next Irish adventure!!! Please get these put on the big screen!!


Overall an absolutely stunning, heart warming romance that will have you heading off to Ireland in the blink of an eye.


Genres covered in this novel include Romance Novel, Contemporary Romance and Holiday Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Debbie Macomber, Nicholas Sparks and just anyone and everyone whether you are looking to get away or for romance this is the book for you!!!



272 pages.


This book is just £2.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@SusanneOLeary @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86








AUTHOR BIO

Susanne O’Leary is the bestselling author of more than 20 novels, mainly in the romantic fiction genre. She has also written three crime novels and two in the historical fiction genre. The wife of a former diplomat, she has also been a fitness teacher and a translator. She now writes full-time from either of two locations, a rambling house in County Tipperary, Ireland or a little cottage overlooking the Atlantic in Dingle, County Kerry. When she is not scaling the mountains of said counties, or doing yoga, she keeps writing, producing a book every six months. Social Media



Buy Link:




19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page