top of page

The Lost Man by A.S. Kelly



Book Description



I left at dawn on a rainy day.


I left as he slept, believing that he’d still find me in his arms when he woke up. I left, taking everything I’d promised him. I took it all, and neither of us would ever have it again.


I left, turning my back on everything I knew, believing I could never be part of it.


I left the man who loved me, the family who raised me. I left my home, my roots, my dreams. I left my whole life behind in search of a past that was never mine. I hurt everyone who loved me, and broke him into so many pieces that I know I’ll never deserve his forgiveness.


But I’m here, now, trying to rebuild everything I’ve destroyed. I’m trying to find what I thought I’d lost. And although he says that he’ll never be the same, though he says that there’s nothing left of him, I can’t abandon him again. I can’t say goodbye to us.


They say that you always find your way back to happiness, but I’ve found my way back to the only place I’ve ever felt at home.


I’ve found my way back to him.








BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Lost Man' by A.S. Kelly.


Read and reviewed for A.S. Kelly and Rachel's Random Resources Tours.


Publication date 3rd May 2023.




This is the first book I have read by this author. It is also the sixth book in 'From Connemara With Love' series but can be read as a standalone.


This novel consists of 46 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Letterfrack, Connemara, County Galway, Ireland, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually visited and had holidays in Ireland on several occasions so am looking forward to seeing if I recognise anywhere that A.S. Kelly has based the book on.



This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonists are Niamh and Noel. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on.


'The Lost Man' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book A.S. Kelly discusses depression.

An absolute stunner from the extremely talented AS Kelly!!! Well done A.S on another absolutely beautiful and perfect read!! This is the ideal beach read where you could sit there and turn around and just imagine the beautiful Irish surroundings.


The book is extremely well written with beautiful descriptions that completely drew me in. The synopsis and the cover match the storyline perfectly!!


This beautiful book may be the first book I have read by this author but I cannot wait to get stuck into more books by this very talented author, especially the rest books of this series. The storyline itself completely swept me away. Niamh walked away from her previous life which included her family and boyfriend Noel but she has now returned and is struggling to fit back in. All her family and friends make her welcome and try to make her realise that what has happened in the past wasn't her fault but she doesn't believe them. Noel was left heartbroken when Niamh left but now she is back. Can things go back to how they were before? Will Noel be once bitten twice shy? It is a gorgeous and emotionally packed story of second chances, romance, heartbreak, regrets, love, depression, tension, suspense, friends, family and everything you could ask for in an absolutely stunning page turner. I absolutely loved having the insights into both Niamh and Noel's lives' and what they got up to in the stunning Connemara. A.S. Kelly's evocative writing skills ensures the readers are absolutely sucked into the stunning storyline with the atmosphere and characters coming to life all around them.. I absolutely fell in love venturing into the beautiful Letterfrack, Connemara and Ireland in general. A.S. Kelly portrays life in a small village absolutely perfectly I became so invested in this book that it actually felt like going on a holiday and I absolutely dreaded coming to the end again where I had to unpack my suitcase and get back to reality. It was an absolutely compelling and addictive emotional read that kept me turning the pages until late at night. I loved discovering the pasts and histories of the characters and I was absolutely swept away in the story line. Connemara came to life around me and I cannot wait to return in the previous books in this stunning series that I have very quickly fallen in love with. The ending was absolutely perfect and I cannot wait for the next and previous books!! A.S. Kelly tackles the topic of depression in this gorgeous book and does a fantastic job of writing about a sensitive topic with sensitivity whilst bringing to light the symptoms and what may make it worse for the person suffering with it. This book would make a beautiful movie that I would be the first in the line to watch!! I haven't been to Ireland for a long time but my son keeps asking to go and this book has tempted me even more. This book is an absolutely gorgeous, cute and addictive book in what promises to be an absolutely stunning series!!


Do not turn a single page of this book until you have cleared your schedules and when you do get ready to go on a stunning holiday you will not want to leave!!


Although this is the six book in the series I would have had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader. However, to get the full history of the characters I would recommend that you read the books in order which is exactly what I am planning to go back to do.


It is always worrying when starting a new series as you have no idea who the characters are. It is very important for me to bond with not only the lead protagonists but also any characters that may make repeat appearances during the series too.


I became completely invested in the characters, along with the storyline, who were all absolutely fantastic with their own individual personalities and quirks. They all started feeling like friends so quickly having got to meet and know so many of them so well. I felt like I was leaving amazing people and friends and feel quite sad about that but am happy in the knowledge that I can go back to the first book in this series and meet them all again, getting to know more about them as I go through this series!!! I loved watching how Niamh and Noel's characters and personalities develop and go from strength to strength from the first page to the last. I also loved getting to meet all the other characters that make this amazing book such a colourful read. There are so many larger than life characters, each with their own personalities and every single one of them jumped out the pages at me. there were several different relationships that have come together from previous friendships that i really cant wait to go back to read all about in the previous books in this series. A.S Kelly is an absolutely phenomenal writer and her talent ensures that these and the other characters all leap off the pages and come to life in front of your eyes! Each of the characters have rich personalities and they will all stay with me for a long time and because there is such a range of personalities you are guaranteed to find at least one that you can relate to and connect with, if not many more. This is definitely one of those series which could go on and on and I wouldn't get bored. Here's to (hopefully) meeting them all again along with the next new faces of Connemara!!



Congratulations A.S. Kelly on an absolutely gorgeous success!!! I'm definitely looking forward to my next holiday to Connemara!! This is exactly why I would like to welcome you to my favourite author club and here is to your next success 🥂 !!!


Overall this is another perfect, stunning, page turning beach or fireplace read with a great gang of characters that will sweep you away.


Genres covered in this novel include Women Writers & Fiction, Women's Romance Fiction, Women's Contemporary Fiction, Romance Novel, Romantic Fiction, Contemporary Romance and Friendship Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of as well as fans of Fiona Valpy, Lucinda Riley, Barbara O’Neal., Jojo Moyes, Debbie Macomber, Susanne O’Leary, Pamela Kelly, Nancy Thayer. Amanda Prowse, Diane Chamberlain, Shari Low, Veronica Henry, Heidi Swain, Christy Barlow, Heidi Swain, Rachel Lucas, Nicholas Sparks and any lovers of a book that you can float away with at the beach!!!


414 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle and £11 in paperback (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@TheLostMan @FromConnemaraWithLove @ASKelly @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger



https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks










Author Bio



A. S. Kelly was born in Italy but lives in Ireland with her husband, two children and a cat named Oscar.

She’s passionate about English literature, she’s a music lover and addicted to coffee.

She spends her days in a small village North of Dublin, looking for inspiration for her next stories.

Rainy Days is her debut novel.



Social Media Links









Purchase Links



UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/Lost-Man-Connemara-Love-Book-ebook/dp/B0BX41YNKT/









11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

댓글

별점 5점 중 0점을 주었습니다.
등록된 평점 없음

평점 추가
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page