top of page

'The Lost Girls Of Ireland' by Susanne O'Leary

Title: The Lost Girls of Ireland (Starlight Cottages Book 1)

Author: Susanne O’Leary

Publication Day: May 5th 2021

Description:

A heart-warming story about family secrets and one woman’s escape to dreamy Sandy Cove on the stunning west coast of Ireland.

The picturesque beach of Wild Rose Bay is the last place Lydia Butler thought she’d be. But having just lost everything, the run-down cottage she inherited from her Great Aunt Nellie is the only place she can take her daughter, Sunny. Hidden away in a tiny Irish village, she can protect Sunny from the gossip in Dublin, and the real reason they have nowhere else to live…

The cottage is part of the old coastguard station and other eccentric residents are quick to introduce themselves when Lydia arrives. Lydia instantly feels less alone, fascinated by the stories they have about Nellie, and she’s charmed by American artist, Jason O’Callaghan, the mysterious man who lives next door.

But the longer Lydia relaxes under the moonlit sky, the more the secret she’s keeping from Sunny threatens to come out. And as she finds herself running into Jason’s arms, she knows she must be honest and face up to the past she has tried to forget. Has she finally found people who will truly accept her, or will the truth force her to leave the cottage for good?

Will transport you to Ireland to relax on the shore and stare at the perfect emerald waters. The Lost Girls of Ireland is perfect for readers of Debbie Macomber, Sheila O’Flanagan and Mary Alice Monroe.

*previously titled: The Irish Rose






BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Lost Girls Of Ireland' by Susanne O'Leary. This book was previously titled 'The Irish Rose'.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Susanne O'Leary , Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 5th May 2021.


This is the first book I have read by this author. It is also the seventh book in the 'Sandy Cover' series but can be read as a standalone.


I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis. It also stated in the synopsis that this book is 'perfect for readers of Debbie Macomber, Sheila O’Flanagan and Mary Alice Monroe.'

I am a huge fan of Debbie Macomber so am looking forward to see if it lives up to this. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 29 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Ireland 🇮🇪 UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. The fact that this book is based in Ireland is even better as I have been on holiday in Ireland many times so may even recognise some places Emma has set the book around.


This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonist being Lydia Butler. The benefits of third person perspective especially with are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


OMG! OMG!! I cannot remember the last time I was so gutted to come to the end of a book!! I absolutely fell in love and it genuinely felt like I was packing my bags and being whisked away from my Irish holiday when I read the last page. Absolutely gorgeous!!!


The book is so well written with its stunning and vivid descriptions that I genuinely felt that I was standing with Lydia throughout feeling the Irish breeze in my hair and smelling the ocean. The synopsis and cover suited the storyline perfectly and I think the title change was definitely a good move as 'The Lost Girls Of Ireland' suits it perfectly. I was a bit disappointed when I first read it was being changed from 'The Irish Rose' as I thought that was such a beautiful title but after reading the book and understanding where both titles came from then this one was the best option.


Although this book is the 7th in a series it can be read as a standalone with no problems. In fact I never came across anything in the book that would make me think it was part of a series. I am however looking forward to reading all previous books and being whisked back to Ireland again. The storyline was realistic and just beautiful. It starts off in such a sad place and from the rain a rainbow was born. I loved getting to know everyone on Sandy Cove and enjoyed the atmosphere and my gorgeous surroundings. It genuinely felt like I was on holidays and after not having one for so long this was definitely the closest thing.


The characters were all solid, realistic and I loved that they all had their own unique personalities. Lydia is such a strong and determined woman who had to leave her glitzy and glamorous life and although she was mournful, as anyone would be, she picked herself and her daughter up and made the most of what they had and definitely made the right decisions. I love it when the protagonist is such a strong female lead being a woman myself it's great to see. Sunny is such a mature girl and i really liked her attitude. At her age many kids I know would have been stroppy brats but she was so mature and realistically so. She was such a pleasure to get to know. Jason, well phew, what a handsome and romantic Irish man. It wasn't just the main characters that made this book but also all the neighbours too, I really enjoyed meeting them all. I enjoyed watching Helen and Lydia's relationships grow and their bond develop. Sorcha, Saskia and Brian all stood out to me too. Emma portrayed Irish Country life perfectly and it was exactly the same when I went on holidays for a fortnight many years ago, the close knit community where everyone knew each other and was so helpful.


Susanne I fell on love with your heart warming, page turning and stunning book which took my heart away and left me gutted when my holiday ended. Welcome to my favourite author list. I have already added all your books on my wish lists and I cannot wait for my next Irish adventure!!! Please get these put on the big screen!!


Overall an absolutely stunning, heart warming romance that will have you heading off to Ireland in the blink of an eye.




Genres covered in this book include Romance Novel, Contemporary Romance and Holiday Fiction amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Debbie Macomber, Nicholas Sparks and just anyone and everyone whether you are looking to get away or for romance this is the book for you!!!



279 pages.


This book is just £2.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@SusanneOLeary @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86


https://kcmw86.wixsite.com/bookworm86


https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks

https://m.facebook.com/Bookwork86/?__tn__=%2As-R




Author Bio:


Susanne O'Leary is the bestselling author of more than twenty novels, mainly in the romantic fiction genre. She has also written three crime novels and two in the historical fiction genre. She has been the wife of a diplomat (still is), a fitness teacher and a translator. She now writes full-time from either of two locations, a ramshackle house in County Tipperary, Ireland or a little cottage overlooking the Atlantic in Dingle, County Kerry. When she is not scaling the mountains of said counties, or keeping fit in the local gym, she keeps writing, producing a book every six months.

Visit Susanne at her website, http://www.susanne-oleary.co.uk or her blog, http://bit.ly/11F4e4S Find her on Facebook, http://on.fb.me/1A2NAbr and on Twitter, http://bit.ly/1rH67dK




Buy Links:








28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page