top of page

'The Lost Bones' by Ruhi Choudhary


Book: The Lost Bones

Author: Ruhi Choudhary

Pub Day: May 9th 2022


About the Book:

The woman’s skin was almost transparent. Her light hair darkened at the tips. Her lips were blue and slightly parted. But all Mackenzie could focus on were the eyes. Those arctic eyes that looked glassy like glistening marbles. She could see her own reflection in them staring back at her. The woman looked almost like a carefully crafted doll. Detective Mackenzie Price knows what makes a killer tick. But when she finds the body of a young woman dumped in the trunk of her car, she knows this case is going to be the most personal and twisted yet. Looking down at the victim, Mack recognises her instantly: Sophie Fields, the fiancée of Mack’s co-worker who vanished months before. Reeling in shock, Mack keeps one crucial piece of evidence to herself, too horrified to share it: a crumpled piece of paper bearing the words “You’re welcome, Mackenzie.” As Mack pieces together Sophie’s last known movements, another body is found with a note. This time the victim is Courtney Montenegro, Mack’s childhood bully. As Mack looks at the note it becomes clear that the killer has an unusual MO: they want to protect her at all costs. But why? The only evidence connecting the victims are identical pieces of material left at both crime scenes. With no other leads, Mack unearths a cold case which may lead her to the killer. Sophie had a sister who disappeared years before. Did she get too close to the truth and pay the ultimate price? With an obsessive killer still on the loose, Mack knows that she needs to get deep inside their mind to work out who is next on the hit list. Can she get to the killer in time before someone close to her loses their life? A completely gripping read that will have you on the edge of your seat, this addictive crime thriller is perfect for fans of Lisa Regan, Kendra Elliot and Melinda Leigh.


BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Lost Bones' by Ruhi Choudhary.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Ruhi Choudhary, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 9th May 2022.


This is the fourth book I have read by this author and it is the fifth book in the 'Detective Mackenzie Price' series but can be read as a standalone. I have previously read the first book in the series 'Our Daughter's Bones', the third book 'Little Boy Lost' and 'The Taken Ones' which is the fourth book in this series, which I enjoyed and would recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. I am also a fan of Ruhi's and loved 'Our Daughter's Bones', 'Little Boy Lost' and 'The Taken Ones' and if this is half as good as they are it is sure to be a great read. It also stated in the synopsis that this book is 'A completely gripping read that will have you on the edge of your seat, this addictive crime thriller is perfect for fans of Lisa Regan, Kendra Elliot and Melinda Leigh.' I am a huge fan of all three of these authors so am looking forward to see if it lives up to this. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 53 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Lakemore, USA 🇺🇸.


This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonist Detective Mackenzie Price. The benefits of third person perspective especially if omniscient are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


'The Lost Bones' discusses some topics that may trigger some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Ruhi discusses/includes sexual abuse. Due to these I would recommend reading age of 16 plus.


Wow, Wow just WOW!!! Ruhi you have absolutely smashed it yet again!! What another explosive book in an epic series!!!!


The whole thing was brilliantly written and filled with in depth vivid descriptions that put me right next to Mackenzie and I was just completely lost in the story. The title, synopsis and cover represented the storyline perfectly.


The description was completely accurate saying it is perfect for fans of Melinda Leigh, Lisa Regan and Kendra Elliott. I would like to add that fans of C. L Taylor and Carol Wyer, Angela Marsons or any other amazing (and my top) authors will absolutely sink their teeth into this!!


The storyline itself had me hook, line and sinker from the start and kept me on the edge of my seat as well as up at night flipping through the pages that I just couldn't put down. I completely absorbed it in one sitting. Packed with suspense, secrets, crime, lies, secrets, twists, shocks and the BIG BANG at the end. I thought I had my suspicions of who was up to what but I was proven wrong and damn lady I DID NOT EXPECT that nucleur ending!!! Where did that come from!!! Just mega wow!!! Completely left me speechless and sitting there with my mouth hanging open like a dog. One event at the end was absolutely heartbreaking and I was very close to tears and during another event I was hoping so badly something would happen but won't say more as not to spoil it for future readers. I could not compliment this book enough, it just had everything!!


WHEN ARE THESE BOOKS GOING TO BE TURNED INTO BLOCKBUSTER MOVIES!!! WOULD ABSOLUTELY LOVE TO SEE IT ON THE BIG SCREEN!!!


Although this is the fifth book in the series I had would have had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


I absolutely loved meeting all the realistic characters again with all their big personalities, strengths and flaws. First time I "met" them I knew I was going to love the characters from the first page and I was 100% RIGHT and they have become like friends that I miss each time I have to wait for the next book!! I thought Mackenzie was a fantastic, strong female lead, always a bonus having a female lead being one myself!! It was also interesting to see her more raw and vulnerable side in this book, well not interesting but hopefully you know what I mean!! Nice to see a strong protagonist at her worse along as her best. Nick was brilliant, a good friend to Mackenzie and with a kind heart, I would love to see their friendship develop into more as they are so perfect for each other!!! Sully makes me laugh with his new hobby every few hours but it is a nice unique trait about him, he also makes a fantastic boss. I enjoyed meeting Andrew in this book and a certain part almost had me in tears. I absolutely LOVE Peterson and his random facts at extremely random times made me laugh out loud on so many occasions, I'm looking forward to learning more from him!! I absolutely love this team and they all worked well with their different personalities. I really cannot wait to read more about them. They were exactly what a good crime book needs, a mix of funny, serious and I just couldn't get enough of them.


Well done Ruhi on another massive success and I hope your busy writing your next book as I for one cannot wait. If not your book then I really hope your getting a movie produced of this fantastic series. People will love Mckenzie. Nick and the rest of the team!!


Some of my favourite quotes/sentences in this book include the following:


😂 "“Remember when I got kidnapped, Daddy? Just think about that before you take things away from me." Out of the mouth of babes 😂 😂


Overall if you are looking for a heart racing, page turning psychological crime that will leave you shocked and demanding more this is the book for you.


Genres covered in this book include Mystery, Thriller, Crime fiction, psychological thriller, and Police procedural. amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Angela Marsons, Carol Wyer, C. L Taylor, Karin Slaughter, Lisa Regan, Kendra Elliott, Melinda Leigh and anyone who has read any of Ruhi's previous books in this series and well jist anyone who is looking for an epic read!!!



332 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle or free on kindle unlimited (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@RuhiChoudhary @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86











Author Bio


Ruhi Choudhary discovered her passion for writing when she was seven years old and wrote her first Star Trek episode. Being a fan of the dark and twisted, she found her calling in crime thrillers. She likes to write stories that make you a little uncomfortable and characters that you struggle to make up your mind about but stay with you. She lives in Toronto and spends her days training to be a scientist and wishing it rained more often! Ruhi's social media: Twitter: https://twitter.com/RuhiSChoudhary






Buy Link:






15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comentarios

Obtuvo 0 de 5 estrellas.
Aún no hay calificaciones

Agrega una calificación
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page