top of page

'The Locked Away Life' by Drew Davies

Updated: Aug 9, 2022


Book Description


At the grand old age of eighty-two, Esther Saul has just one regret in life. Today, she’s going to change that.


For decades, Esther has barricaded herself in her vine-covered manor house. She spends her days tending to her rose-filled garden, glued to the pages of her favourite books, and listening to her beloved records. But, one spring morning, Esther wakes up and realises that time is running out.


Forty years ago, the love of her life betrayed her – the only man she allowed herself to trust. Where is Thackeray, the handsome Scot with a devilish smile and piercing blue eyes? Will she ever learn the truth? Will she ever understand why he lied to her? Esther has to find out. If she doesn’t act soon, her one regret will haunt her forever…


But she’ll need some assistance. That’s where Bruno comes in. After Esther places an advert in the local library, seeking internet lessons, the eighteen-year-old knocks on her door. Esther can see how out of place Bruno is in their sleepy village, and that the paid position could be his one-way ticket out of there.


An unexpected friendship forms between the two strangers, who have nothing in common except that they have spent most of their lives in hiding. It’s the beginning of a journey – featuring a secret motorcycle ride, an escape plan, and a garden party with whisky, apple pie, and dancing the jig. Along the way, can a locked-away life finally start living?


Just as heartbreaking as it is heartwarming, this utterly gripping page-turner is for anyone who has ever felt left behind, came close to giving up, or needed a friend. Perfect for fans of Sally Page, Ruth Hogan and Mike Gayle.





 BLOG TOUR REVIEW 


Review for 'The Locked Away Life' by Drew Davies. 


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Drew Davies, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous 


Publication date 4th August 2022.


This is the first book I have read by this author. I was originally drawn to this book by its  eye catching unique cover and intriguing as well as hilarious sounding synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'Perfect for fans of Sally Page, Ruth Hogan and Mike Gayle.' I am a huge fan of Sally Page so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture  that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 2 prologue, 27 chapters and 2 epilogue. The chapters are a mixture of length ranging from short to medium and some long in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Northamptonshire, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture.


This book is written in third person perspective with the protagonists being Esther Saul and Bruno Thackeray. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. 


'The Locked Away Life' discusses some topics that may trigger or upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Drew discusses/includes  mental health, cancer and upsetting "scenes"


 LOVE, LOVE ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS BOOK!!! DON'T BOTHER READING ANY FURTHER JUST GO GET YOUR COPY NOW!  I PROMISE YOU WON'T REGRET IT!!! 


I want to start by saying I am normally a crime/psychological thriller reader but I loved the sound of this beauty so wanted to give it a go!!! Well I'm extremely glad I did!! Once in a while in the land of books you will come across that one book that will stay with you forever!!! This is it!! It is an absolutely page turning, refreshing, laugh a minute read!!!! It is perfectly written to hook the reader in and the title, cover and synopsis is perfect for the storyline. 


I absolutely LOVE, LOVE, LOVED this book which got me hook, line and sinker!! I absolutely devoured it in one reading and was completely absorbed throughout!! The storyline is absolutely stunning and I was completely invested from beginning to end. I have always been drawn to books with intergenerational plots. There is just something about them that is so sweet and uplifting. It is an absolute rollercoaster of emotions and I found that one minute I was laughing and the next I was crying!!


Clear your schedules and get the tissues out before you even turn the cover of this book as you are about to get locked into a stunningly, beautiful, gorgeous story of a lifetime!!! 


There are very few books that are both heartwarming and heartbreaking but Drew manages to do both perfectly!! The relationships between the characters were absolutely beautiful and I adored seeing the bonds form. I will go into the characters shortly. The fact that Drew has done his research absolutely shines through. One of my pet hates is when an author doesnt take the time to review the topic they write about and then the plot is littered with unnecessary mistakes. While the bulk of the storyline is focused on the friendship of 18 year old Bruno and Esther who is an octogenarian there is part of this book that is extremely saddening. It took me quite a while to decide whether I was going to say anything about this particular part of the storyline but have come to the decision I won't as I really don't want to spoil a single page of this beauty for anyone. All I will say is that I am ABSOLUTELY disgusted to discover that THAT is still legal in the UK, heartbreaking. You will have to pick up a copy to see what I mean. This is the most memorable book I have read this year, and more and if you are looking for a book that will both break and warm your heart, make you laugh and cry and so, so much more you are in the right place!!


 I was devastated when I came to the end of this book and really hope that Drew is writing his next success as I am writing this!!  


The characters were all an eclectic mix and each one of them were realistic and strong. I was completely invested in them all!! Dear Esther!! Now that is a woman who is one in a million!! She is eccentric, caring, fun and the type of woman everyone needs in their life!! She was a complete breathe of fresh air and I adore the fact that she is loosely based on Drew's Nan, such an amazing tribute!!! Honestly, next time someone asks me if I could bring one fictional character to life I will be telling them Esther Saul!! Her past was so heartbreaking but it was absolutely amazing what she did in the end!!! This is one woman who will stay with me for a long time. As well as being invested in the amazing Esther's story I was just as invested in Bruno. It was so sad to read how he felt about certain things and then to find out what he felt he must do and then to realise that thing is legal and something REAL people would do is just soul crushing. Soooo many teasers I know so you really must get the book!! Anyway, to watch Bruno and Esther's relationship grow and strengthen was beautiful, it actually felt like an honour to watch!! I was so glad that Bruno had such an amazing support network which sadly many in his position do not. Bruno's family were so sweet and supportive, as any should be!! I really liked his mum, dad and sisters but for some reason it was his Dad that stuck out to me out of the four. Watching Filip and Esther communicate and look out for each other warmed my heart. I must say I was quite shocked in regards to Dominic, pleasantly so!! Dominic is another character that made me laugh with his cheeky attitude. I cant leave without giving a mention to one of the other characters who stood out to me who were Mitch and his gum and cheesestraw missiles. Mitch made me both laugh and cry on several occasions and he is another character that will stay with me. 


The ending made me smile, laugh and cry and I was absolutely gutted to come to the end of this explosion of emotions but cannot wait to make up the next page turner by Drew. Speaking of which, congratulations Drew on an absolutely gorgeous book and welcome to my favourite authour list!!! Here's to your next success 🥂!! 


Overall an absolutely stunning explosion of emotions that will have you laughing one minute and crying the next!! 


Genres covered in this book include Fiction, Romance Novel, Contemporary Romance, Humourous Literary Fiction, Romance Literary Fiction and Women's Humourous Fiction amongst others. 


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Sally Page, Ruth Hogan, Mike Gayle and every single person reading this review!!! AN ABSOLUTE MUST READ!!! 


348 pages


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle or free on kindle unlimited (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!! 


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook. 


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews 



@TheLockedAwayLife @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @DrewDavies










Author Bio:


Drew Davies was born in London and grew up in Whanganui, New Zealand. He attended the Unitec School of Performing Arts in Auckland and won a Playmarket New Zealand Young Playwright of the Year award in 2000. After a brief stint on a kiwi soap, he has worked in Search for the past 15 years. Drew’s other claim to fame is that Stephen Fry once called him droll. Either that, or he got his name wrong. He now lives in Wanstead, London.




Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Drew Davies here: https://www.bookouture.com/drew-davies






Purchase Link










19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Yorumlar

5 üzerinden 0 yıldız
Henüz hiç puanlama yok

Puanlama ekleyin
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page