top of page

The Llama Farm On New Moon Lane' by Laura Briggs. Review and Competiton!!!


Book Description


Young and quiet, Lucy Granger leads an introverted life in Reading, living in a flat and working in design at a graphics company—until it is upended when she both sells her idea for a mobile game and suffers an unexpected medical diagnosis shortly afterwards.


Facing a mandated medical rest period, she decides to use her windfall earnings to take a year's holiday, renting a farm on New Moon Lane in a country village in Yorkshire. As Lucy settles into her holiday home for some tranquility, she soon learns that she is not the only tenant, when a llama named Llarry strolls out of the farm's supposedly-derelict barn. He is shortly followed by others in a menagerie of abandoned animals left behind—from a sickly donkey who likes eating crisps to a flirtatious cockerel sleeping in the back garden.


To Lucy's consternation, no one is willing or able to take them on, leaving her with a strange mix of furry and feathered friends to find homes for. Reluctantly adapting to her circumstances in order to deal with this problem, Lucy will discover other surprises about the animals in her care, and the place she is temporarily calling home. About herself, as well.


Will her ordinary life ever be the same after her experience on New Moon Lane? More importantly, should she really want it to be?



BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Llama Farm On New Moon Lane' by Laura Briggs.


Read and reviewed for Laura Briggs and Rachel's Random Resources Tours.


Publication date 27th April 2023.


This is the first book I have read by this author. It is also the first book in 'The Llama Farm On New Moon Lane' series.


This book is set in Reading and Yorkshire, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I absolutely love that this book is set in Yorkshire which I absolutely love visiting and holidaying there, which I must admit was another thing that drew me to it and I cannot wait to see if I recognize any places mentioned.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. I am also a huge animal lover so any animal based books is a bonus for me!!


This novel consists of 21 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonist is Lucy Granger. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


This book has fantastic descriptions that set you straight in the scenes. The cover, title and synopsis suit the storyline perfectly.


Where the heck have you been hiding all my life Laura!!! Love, LOVE, LOVED this absolutely gorgeous page turner!! An absolute must read!!!



OMG!!! I absolutely LOVED this gorgeous pageturner and I cannot WAIT for the next book in this series to come out!! It is just guaranteed to be stunning!! As I previously mentioned, any books that revolve around animals is a HUGE bonus for me!!! I am a MASSIVE animal lover and all my pets have been rescues to then volunteering in rescues, working in rescues and now running my own little cat rescue (Golden Oldies Cat Rescue And Hospice which you can look up on Facebook if you are interested) so this book was a huge must read for me immediately!!! One of the things I thought was cute about this book is that several of the chapters are grouped under a title which gives the reader a bit of a hint about what to expect from those chapters. Chapters 1 to 4 are titled 'In Which Lucy Takes A Cottage'. Chapters 5 to 8 are titled 'The Rest Of The Menagerie Appears'. Chapters 9 to 13 are titled 'Red Coat And Green Wellies'. Chapters 14 and 15 are titled 'Lucy Tries Bravery'. Chapters 16 to 18 are titled 'Rabbits In Rockets' and Chapters 19 to 21 are titled 'The Wide World Is Not Lonely'. Lucy Granger is a software designer for Halcome Interworld in Reading. She's brilliant at her job but is getting fed up and stressed with the pressure she is put under to design faster and faster constantly. She hates her flat where she has the view of burnt food and a boy selling stolen goods. Lucy is ordered by her doctor to rest and remove herself from stress after a medical emergency and procedure that takes 8 months to a year to recover from. However, Lucy's luck is about to change when Pingtech software game designs accepts her submission for a new game which is a huge success. With her advance and royalty fees she decides to take a much needed break. With Lucy's impeded immune system and need to avoid stress, large crowds, pollution and large crowds she hunts in the country for a summer rental. When she discovers New Moon Lane' in Darby, Yorkshire it ticks all of the boxes ordered by the doctor and it looks perfect. It is run down and needs a lot of work but at a bargain price and coming with 5 acres of land it's a steal and Lucy can't say no. However, what Lucy didn't take into account is ending up with a menagerie of animals which have been left/delivered there!!! Lucy firstly discovers a grumpy but flirty rooster called Kenny, a curious and adorable Llama called Llarry and an elderly poorly donkey called Dimitri. Later Philomena the Llama and Fiona the Alpaca are delivered to an already overwhelmed Lucy who is a city girl and hasn't got a clue what to do with a dog let alone all these strange animals!!! Lucy contacts the realtor Tonya to find out what's going on just to be told the caretaker who used to look after them has left and given the very unhelpful advice to just sell them!!! Lucy is very shy and gets nervous around people but being in the countryside where everyone knows everyone else's business and surrounded by animals she has no idea how to look after she quickly realises she needs all the help she can get!!! However, is it going to be enough? Has Lucy swapped one life of stress for another with a completely different type of stress? You'll just have to grab your copy of this absolutely gorgeous page turner today to get the answers to these questions and many more!!!! I really did absolutely love this unique, stunning page turner from the first page to the very last and cannot wait to get my hands on the next book in this stunning series the second it is available!!! Laura's excellent writing skills and evocative descriptions drops the reader straight into the middle of Lucy's life and the Llama Farm leaving them smelling the fresh Yorkshire air, feeding the menagerie of animals, relaxing and having a gorgeous holiday in the stunning countryside!!! I absolutely adored the cozy rural town vibe and I'm looking forward to my next holiday to The Llama Farm and Darby !! I was absolutely hooked throughout and could not put this down. I told myself time and time again I would just finish the chapter and then go to bed but something happened each and every time meaning I just had to read just one more, and then another until before I knew it I had completely devoured the book in one sitting. I genuinely felt like I had gone on holiday with Lucy and was devastated to come to the end of my holiday, returning back to reality and having to 'unpack my suitcase'!! I have never read a book filled with so many different animals before which made it unique but was also added to this uniqueness is for once there wasn't any romance!!!!! As much as I enjoy a romance in books it is refreshing to discover a book that focuses entirely on the main protagonist and all the fantastic and funny animals she is surrounded by!!! It really is just amazing and I absolutely love it and I really cannot compliments this book enough!!! This book is just what the doctor ordered for my own stress and each page I read I could feel myself relaxing more and more!!!


This is one of those books that are very easy to read and perfect for any reading situations whether you are laying on a beach or curled up in front of a fire. It is an absolutely ideal read for anyone who is looking for a gorgeous and relaxing read that will have you hooked from beginning to end. I absolutely LOVED the realism of this storyline which made it so easy to picture everything that was going on which had been helped by Laura's fantastic evocative writing skills. I cannot wait to get hooked into more of Laura's books so I hope she is busy writing her next one!! This is definitely one of those books that will turn a frown upside down and make life seem a lot brighter. It is packed with fun, animals, friendship, a huge breathe of fresh air and everything you could ask for in a fantastic feel good book. Grab your copy today and fall in love with The Llama Farm yourself!!


Well done Laura on an absolutely stunning and perfect start to what promises to be a gorgeous series!!!



This may be the first book I have read by Laura but I cannot wait to get hold of more books by this extremely talented author!!!


It is always worrying when starting a new series as you have no idea who the characters are. It is very important for me to bond with not only the lead protagonists but also any characters that may make repeat appearances during the series too.


The characters were all an eclectic mix and each one of them were realistic and strong. I was completely invested in them all. It also makes them more realistic, believable and made me feel even more for them than I normally would. I absolutely LOVED Lucy who really resonated with me, especially when it came to her awkwardness around people and wanting to stay away from city's and relax in the countryside!!! She really struggles talking to people becoming really nervous and I absolutely LOVED watching her character and personality grow and develop throughout. It was beautiful seeing her slowly coming out of her shell and getting to know the locals more. It was fun watching her learn more about the animals she has been left to look after, developing her games which sound like so much fun that I would love to play them myself, decorating her new home, learning new cooking and felting skills, especially when she was felting mini versions of her animal friends which 'looked' so cute!!! I also loved seeing how she interacted with the animals who all had their own cheeky little personalities!!! Some of the other characters I loved getting to know and looking forward to meeting again include Dave the milkman, Arthur Elliot the vet, Fran her neighbour and her son Liam who has additional needs (I also felt a particular bond with Liam as my twin boys also have additional needs with having autism). I also loved meeting Kenny, Llarry, Dimitri, Philomena and Fiona and look forward to seeing all humans and animals again and hopefully very soon!!!! Each of the characters and animals are memorable and unique in their own ways and they are a group that I wont be forgetting any time soon!



Pick up this book and get lost in this absolutely gorgeous page turner!



Congratulations Laura on an absolutely stunning read that I just could not put down!!! I am absolutely mind blown that I have never read any of your absolutely gorgeous books yet!! I am looking forward to reading more of your previous and future books. I would absolutely love to see this book turned into a movie!!! Welcome to my favourite author list and here's to your next success 🥂


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the first chapter of Laura's ''A Winter's Moon Welcome' which is the next book in this series and it promises to be just as gorgeous as this book. It is one I'm definitely looking forward to reading myself!!



Overall an unputdownable, gorgeous, STUNNING page turning book filled with llamas, a donkey, a rooster, an alpaca, fun, laughter, friendship and so much more!! A perfectly relaxing and stunning unique read!!!!




Genres covered in this book include Nature Writing, Small Town & Rural Fiction, British Short Stories, Garden & Horticulture, Rural Life Humour, Novellas, Contemporary Women Fiction, British & Irish Short Stories, Nature Writing & Essays, Fiction Mashups, Women's Short Stories, Rural Life Humour, Women's Contemporary Fiction, Literary Fiction, General Humour, Women's Friendship Fiction, Contemporary Fiction and Women Writers And Fiction amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Sophie Kinsella, Sariah Wilson, Lindsey Kelk, Abby Jiminez Emily Henry, Sarah Hope, Bridget Jones, Mhairi McFarlane and Sophie Kinsella, animal lovers and just anyone looking for a stunning read!!



162 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle, at time of review which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews





@TheLlamaFarmOnNewMoonLane @TheLlamaFarmOnNewMoonLane @LauraBriggs @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger













Author Bio


Laura Briggs is the author of several feel-good romance reads, including the Top 100 Amazon UK seller 'A Wedding in Cornwall'. She has a fondness for vintage style dresses (especially ones with polka dots), and reads everything from Jane Austen to modern day mysteries. When she's not writing, she enjoys spending time with family and friends, caring for her pets, gardening, and seeing the occasional movie or play.





Social Media Links


Author Facebook: http://on.fb.me/1JjeMoI


Author Twitter: http://bit.ly/1ME9ivJ




Purchase Link




Giveaway


Win an e-copy of The Llama Farm on New Moon Lane (Open Internationally)


*Terms and Conditions –Worldwide entries welcome.  Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below.  The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then Rachel’s Random Resources reserves the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time Rachel’s Random Resources will delete the data.  I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.








1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page