top of page

'The Little Island Secret' by Emma Davies


Book: The Little Island Secret Author: Emma Davies Pub Day: July 21st 2021

My Rating: 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 About the Book: At the bottom of the meadow is a tiny crescent of beach, and beyond it the wild grey sea. I’ve pictured this view in my head so many times, and now I’m here, I know it will change everything. The whitewashed cottage with a peeling green painted door to my right must be his house… When Abby steps off the ferry and onto the tiny island of Kinlossay, she squeezes her daughter’s hand and prays this trip will be the escape they both so desperately need. For now, at least, Beth is safe from the bullies making her life a misery, and perhaps Abby might find out more about the mysterious man behind the letters she’s been receiving… Cameron first got in touch to see if Abby’s shop stocked his favourite book. And has written every day since to tell her of his life on his rugged little island, where buttercups dance on rolling fields and the sky never stops moving. The weekend he once came to visit her - singing with Beth in the kitchen, kissing Abby’s lips so tenderly - is a memory she will treasure forever. But then, one day, the messages stopped. Abby received the heartbreaking news that Cameron had passed away. As she watches her daughter run laughing along the windswept beaches he described so perfectly, Abby wonders if this goodbye trip could also be a new beginning. But then she sees a face across the street that she recognises instantly, and her heart shatters. If Cameron is dead, who is this man? What devastating secrets has this little island been keeping? The truth will change Abby and her daughter’s life forever – but only if they let it… Lose yourself on the wild shores of a remote island in this absolutely gripping and heart-wrenching story about holding on to hope and the incredible things we do for love. Filled with secrets and surprises, fans of Debbie Macomber, Rosanna Ley and Sheila O’Flanagan will adore this stunning and totally uplifting page-turner.







BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Little Island Secret' by Emma Davies.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Emma Davies, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 21st July 2021.


This is the second book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'After The Crash' which I would highly recommend.



I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'Filled with secrets and surprises, fans of Debbie Macomber, Rosanna Ley and Sheila O’Flanagan will adore this stunning and totally uplifting page-turner.' I am a huge fan of Debbie Macomber so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a fan of Emma Davies and if this is half as good as 'After The Crash' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 25 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Cambridge, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 and Scotland 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually visited and stayed in both Cambridge and Scotland so am interested to see if I recognise anywhere the book is based on or set in, although the Isle of Kinlossay, Scotland isn't a real place.


This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonist is Abby Prendergast. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on.


Another huge success by Emma Davies!!! This book is beautifully written and filled with vivid descriptions to the point where I can hear the sea crashing and smell the beach while curled up on the sofa reading. The cover and synopsis suit the storyline perfectly.


The storyline is just beautiful and had me completely absorbed throughout. It is filled with loss, hope, grief, love, secrets and is just a beautifully realistic story that will stay with me for a long time. The settings were perfect for the storyline and it really felt like Abby was talking directly to me throughout. I believe it will really make the reader re-evaluate life, hope and loss, it really is a very easy to read book filled with meaning. I absolutely adored that this book is partly set in a bookshop and thay both Abby and her daughter Beth are massive bookworms. There's just something about reading a book based on people reading and their love of books!! This book is jist beautiful and I was gutted when I came to the end as it felt like the end of a holiday for me. On the other hand I also absolutely loved the ending which was absolutely perfect!!!


I absolutely adored all the characters who each had their own unique and strong personality. They were all realistic and I loved the community vibes both in Cambridge but definitely more so on the Island. I was gutted to be saying goodbye to them at the end. I love that both Abby and Beth were huge bookworms as I previously mentioned but also that they were both such strong female lead characters. I also watching the friendships and relationships between each of the characters grow and develop. The ones that will stick with me the most apart from Abby and Beth are definitely Mr Ridley, Fiona, Maureen, Cam, Alfie and the gorgeous puppies!!!


This would make an absolutely fantastic movie and I would love to see that happen. A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to Emma on yet another stunning and memorable novel.


Overall a beautiful, addictive and heartwarming book that will stay with you for a long time.


Genres covered in this novel include Romance, Holiday Fiction and Romantic Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Debbie Macomber, Jodi Picoult, Nicholas Sparks and anyone who is looking to take off for a gorgeous beach break.


261 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon or free on kindle unlimited which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@EmmaDavies @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author Bio


After a varied career, Emma Davies once worked for a design studio where she was asked to provide a fun and humorous (and not necessarily true) anecdote for their website. She wrote the following: 'I am a bestselling novelist currently masquerading as a thirty something mother of three.' Well the job in the design studio didn't work out but she's now a forty something mother of three and is happy to report the rest of her dream came true. After many years as a finance manager she now writes full time, and is far happier playing with words than numbers. She lives with her husband, three children, and two guinea pigs in rural Shropshire where she writes in all the gaps in between real life. It's a county she adores, her love of its beautiful people and landscapes providing endless inspiration for her books, and in fact the only thing that would make Shropshire more idyllic is if it were by the sea. Pop over to her website www.emmadaviesauthor.com where, amongst other things, you can read about her passion for Pringles and singing loudly in the car. You can also wave to her on twitter @EmDaviesAuthor or find her on Facebook (a little too often than is good for her).


Social Media










Buy Links

Amazon: https://geni.us/B096Y81K8Fcover Apple: http://ow.ly/tabY50F78F3 Kobo: http://ow.ly/K8lA50F78DT Google: http://ow.ly/duDZ50FuNEu


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page