top of page

'The Little House By The Sea' by Tracy Rees


Book Description:


The cottage gate swings open to reveal the inky-blue sea and the sandy cove beyond. It’s exactly how Kitty imagined it, except she didn’t expect to be standing here alone…


Thirty-year-old Kitty Roberts spends her days searching for the perfect home for two… until her boyfriend, the only man she’s ever loved, dumps her. Devastated to lose not only her first love but her best friend too, she flees to the tiny seaside village where she spent carefree summers as a child, before her family fell apart.


At first, Kitty’s escape proves to be exactly what she needs – golden sunsets over warm, sandy beaches, lovably eccentric new neighbours and even a blush-inducing run-in with Cory Hudson, a handsome, professional surfer with a heart-stopping smile.


But just as Kitty feels herself beginning to heal and allows herself to open up to Cory, he reveals that his time in the seaside village is nearly up. What’s more, some surprising reactions to Kitty in town make her wonder if her connection to this place might go deeper than she thought.


It seems there’s a secret in her family’s past that is about to turn Kitty’s life on its head once more… Is she ready for the truth? And will it bring her and Cory closer together, or drive them apart?


A page-turning story that will make you smile, laugh and wish you could visit the little cottage by the sea! Absolutely perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan, Heidi Swain and Carole Matthews.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Little House By The Sea' by Tracy Rees.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Tracy Rees, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous.


Publication date 24th August 2022.


This is the second book I have read by this author. I have also read Hidden Secrets At The Little Village Church which I would definitely recommend!!


I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis. I am also a huge fan of Tracy after falling in love with her book 'Hidden Secrets At The Little Village Church'. If this book is even half as good as that then it is bound to be a page turning success!! It also stated in the synopsis that this book is 'Absolutely perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan, Heidi Swain and Carole Matthews'. I am a huge fan of Jenny Colgan and could definitely do with an escape so am looking forward to see if it lives up to this. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 48 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Pennystrand (fictional), South Wales 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁷󠁬󠁳󠁿 , UK 🇬🇧 . The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned . The fact that this book is based in South Wales, where I live, is just the icing on the cake so will be keeping my eyes closely peeled for place names.


This book is written in first person perspective with the main protagonist being Kitty Roberts. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them.


OMG!!! What an absolutely gorgeous, beautiful heartwarming book!!! Yet another stunner by Tracy!!


The book is beautifully written with vivid descriptions and lovely settings. The cover, title and synopsis worked perfectly with the storyline. The gorgeous descriptions ensure the readers are completely immersed into the storyline feeling the sea air on their skin.


The storyline itself is so uplifting and heartwarming and I was completely engaged and absorbed throughout. It is filled with friendship, faith, change, loss, adventures and mysteries and it ended absolutely perfectly. It was a realistic storyline and I absolutely love the fact that it was set in Wales!!! Although the actual setting was fictional it made me want to rush off to visit. It sounds like an absolutely gorgeous village and makes a perfect setting for this stunning page turner. I also love the fact that Kitty works in an estate agents and that we get to discover all these different houses with her, what an absolutely fantastic idea for a book!!! I have read hundreds of books but I have never ever come across one that has a protagonist that works as an estate agent so well done Tracey for being the first for me!!! This book is a stunning story of new beginnings and finding yourself when your down and I absolutely loved it!! It was such a smooth read and I just absolutely flew through the pages. It was completely unputdownable and I managed to devour it in a day. Tracy hit my favourite author list after I read and fell in love with Hidden Secrets At The Little Village Church and after reading this stunner it just adds to the fact that this extremely talented lady is one of the best!!! I cannot wait until her next guaranteed success!!


The characters were all very realistic, well defined and strong. I was completely invested in Kitty and loved watching her heal and grow in strength when she moves to the stunning Pennystrand. She is just a very likeable character who has been brutally cheated on by her scumbag boyfriend and sets off to Wales for 6 months where she meets several colourful characters who help her get back on her feet. I absolutely adored Roly who was such a kind hearted, down to Earth and genuine man. I would absolutely love to have a boss and a friend like him in life and he is just one of the characters I would absolutely love to meet again!! It was beautiful to see the friendship and relationships develop and grow between Kitty and Cory, Rory, Cherry and many other characters and I am really hoping that this is the first book in what is guaranteed to be a gorgeous series so I can meet them all again, well all except Mitch would be nice!!!


A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to Tracy Rees on an absolutely fantastic page turning book. I cannot wait to get my hands on the next book in the Pennystrand series and get to find out more of some of the amazing characters I've met. This is exactly why you are one of my favourite authors !!! Here is to your next success 🥂



Overall another absolutely stunning heartwarming page turner by the fantastic Tracy that will keep you up until 2am!



Genres covered in this book include Romance Novel, Contemporary Fiction, Romantic Comedy, Women's Romance Fiction, Romantic Comedy and Domestic Fiction amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Jenny Colgan, Carole Matthews ,Lucy Diamond and Heidi Swain. I would also recommend it to anyone who loves a heart warming story or anyone who enjoys peeking at comments in a visitor book.



305 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle or free on kindle unlimited (at time of review) and £8.99 for paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@TracyRees @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio:


Tracy Rees was the winner of the Richard and Judy 'Search for a Bestseller' Competition and her books are paperback, ebook and audio bestsellers. A Cambridge graduate, she had a successful eight-year career in nonfiction publishing and a second career practising and teaching humanistic counselling before becoming a writer. She lives in Wales.




Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Tracy Rees here: https://www.bookouture.com/tracy-rees





Buy Link:



Audio:




Listen to a sample here:



You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo











6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page