top of page

'The Lie In Our Marriage' by Anna-Lou Weatherley

Updated: Jan 25, 2023

Book Description


The Lie in Our Marriage: An absolutely gripping psychological thriller with a jaw-dropping twist (Detective Dan Riley Book 6) by Anna-Lou Weatherley

On a warm spring evening, guests gather in a perfectly manicured garden to celebrate Maggie and Len’s twenty-fifth wedding anniversary. Maggie leans against the apple tree, watching her fun-loving husband and darling children as her heart swells with pride. As the joyful party atmosphere disappears into the night, close by, the lifeless body of a young woman is pulled from a river.


Slipping upstairs to find the special gift for her adoring husband, Maggie stumbles across something else hidden amongst the dusty boxes of family keepsakes…


A printed pink silky scarf that doesn’t belong to her. She holds it up to her face, breaths in the sweet sickly perfume, it’s scent familiar, and tendrils of fear snake through her body. The scarf is stained with blood.


As Maggie rejoins the party and tries to ignore her churning stomach, she pours herself a glass of champagne to toast the man she’s enjoyed decades of happy marriage with. Then she catches a news flash of the local girl’s murder. She stares at the girl with the beautiful face, long ice-blonde hair and, draped loosely around her neck, Maggie recognises it instantly. She’s wearing the scarf.


An utterly addictive and twisty read about the complex web of secrets within a family that will have you racing through to the mind-blowing end. If you love Lisa Jewell, Gillian Flynn and Behind Closed Doors, you won’t be able to put this down!



BLOG TOUR REVIEW 


Review for 'The Lie In Our Marriage' by Anna-Lou Weatherley. 


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Anna-Lou Weatherley, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous 


Publication date 18th January 2023. 


This is the first book I have read by this author. It is also the sixth book in the 'Detective Dan Riley' series but can be read as a standalone. 


I was originally drawn to this book by its stunning eye catching cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'An utterly addictive and twisty read about the complex web of secrets within a family that will have you racing through to the mind-blowing end. If you love Lisa Jewell, Gillian Flynn and Behind Closed Doors, you won’t be able to put this down!' I am a huge fan of Lisa Jewell so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 45 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Thornton Vale, Thornton, Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture.


This book is written in a mix of third and first person perspective and the protagonists are Detective Dan Riley and Maggie Wendover. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. To have the benefit of both first and third person perspective ensures you don't miss out on anything.



AN ABSOLUTELY INTRIGUING, THOUGHT PROVOKING, UNPUTDOWNABLE HEART RACING AND EXPLOSIVE BOOK IN WHAT PROMISES TO BE AN ADDICTIVE SERIES!! 


Wow!!! This book is fantastically written and had me hook, line and sinker from beginning to end. The descriptions were so in depth and vivid that the hair on my arms was standing on the ends and my heart was pounding throughout. The synopsis, title and cover were perfect for the storyline.


I absolutely loved this unique page turning explosive page turner. I was absolutely absorbed throughout this page turner. It is filled with tension, suspense, lies, secrets,  murder and omg the twist!!! I DID NOT see that coming!!! A MASSIVE CONGRATULATIONS Anna-Lou Weatherley !! It is getting harder and harder to shock me but by God you did that over and over and over!!! What an ending!!! One of the most gripping unputdownable nerve wracking psychological thrillers I have EVER read!!! You lady have one hell of a talent and I cannot wait to get hold of your previous and future books in this series. I cannot remember the last time I was so hooked by a book but you managed that big time!!! The storyline is filled with crime, shocks, suspense, tension, deceit, and murder. There was so much going on and it was very fast paced and kept me on the edge of my seat throughout. It is also very thought provoking and intriguing!! The ending was absolutely heartbreaking and my heart really went out to Maggie who was just trying to do the best for her family. This book was an absolutely explosive start for me in what is promising to be an absolutely gripping series and I cannot wait to get stuck in to more books in this fantastic series. 


Clear your schedule before you start as I read this in one sitting as I could not put it down!! Practically every chapter ended on a cliff hanger so no way could I put it down!! Absolutely hooked!! I would absolutely love to see this turned into a movie!!!!  


Although this is the sixth book in the series I had would have had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


It is always worrying when starting a new series as you have no idea who the characters are. It is very important for me to bond with not only the lead protagonists but also any characters that may make repeat appearances during the series too.


The characters were all strong and realistic and thanks to Anna's absolutely fantastic writing skills they all come to life when you are turning the pages. My heart went out to Maggie whose life absolutely crumbled around her. It is really thought provoking and makes you wonder how far you would go to protect your family. Maggie has so much going on around her but has to try and stay strong for her children. It is hard to say too much about the characters as I am worried I will give too much away and I really don't want to spoil it for future readers. I really liked Detective Dan Riley who I really enjoyed getting to know. The way that Anna has written this book with the reader seeing both Anna and Dan's perspectives is fantastic as you can see everything that's going on and she has weaved the chapters and storyline perfectly. I was questioning many of the characters throughout but never did guess what had really happened. Anna portrays neighbourhood life perfectly with the different character traits. I cannot wait to meet Detective Dan Riley and the rest of his team in the previous and past books on what really does promise to be an absolutely addictive series!!!! 


Welcome to my favourite author Anna-Lou! Bring on the next book in this gripping series!! I cannot wait to read all the previous and future ones!!! Here's to the next success 🥂 


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the prologue and the first two chapters of Anna-Lou's 'The Couple On Cedar Close' which promises to be just as addictive as this book! 


Overall an absolutely heart racing, nerve wracking, thought provoking, unputdownable addictive start to what promises to be an absolutely fantastic new series!!! 



Genres covered in this book include Domestic Thriller, Domestic Fiction, , Mystery, Thriller, Suspense, Police Procedural, Mystery, Suspense, Crime, Thriller & Mystery Adventures, Psychological Fiction, Crime Fiction and Psychological Thriller amongst others. 



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of 'Gone Girl', Shari Lapena, Karin Slaughter, Melinda Leigh, Kendra Elliot, Lisa Regan, Paula Hawkins, Lisa Jewell, Gillian Flynn, 'Behind Closed Doors' , Freida McFadden, Rachel Abbot and anyone who loves an explosive ending!!! 



390 pages


This book is just £1.99 to purchase and £8.99 in paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!! 


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook. 


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews 



@TheLieInOurMarriage  @AnnaLouWeatherley @DetectiveDanRiley @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger 



  












About the author



I was born in Hampshire but grew up in London where I still live today with my two children. I was originally a dancer who re-trained after a 'disco accident' in Ibiza to become a journalist - I've even won some awards, though I don't like to talk about them - ha! I've been a women's lifestyle writer for over fifteen years and am the former editor and acting editor of the fabulous J-17 magazine and Smash Hits respectively and have written for all the major glossies including Grazia, Company, Marie Claire and More, where I was their resident tell-it-like-it-is advice columnist - loads of fun! I've also written for NME, Loaded and Front magazine (I can be down with the lads too!).


During my journalistic career I've seen and done some amazing stuff, highlights include becoming a nun (for a day), rally racing with the late, great Colin McRae, bunjee jumping off a 350 ft bridge in designer heels, whiskey tasting for a week in Kentucky (don't remember much of that) and hanging out with all manor of A-list celebrities (er, Take That and Jordan, anyone?).


After I had my son I started to write novels (having children does strange things to a person) and had my first young adult novel, Ibiza Summer, published in 2004. My first adult novel (it is a little racy) Chelsea Wives was published in 2012, followed by Wicked Wives in 2013.


When I'm not writing, which isn't often, I like to hang upside down on a pole - I'm a qualified pole fitness instructor, and drink fancy wine (though not necessarily at the same time, that would be dangerous). I adore creating exciting, three dimensional, glamorous and flawed characters against a backdrop of exotic locations. Revenge, sex, sin, glamour, excess, crime and intrigue is my speciality. My next novel, title to come, promises all the above and more!



Author social media




Twitter @annaloulondon https://twitter.com/annaloulondon





Purchase Link








25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page