top of page

The Librarian by Valerie Keogh. Review


Book Description



Since that fateful night I have always kept myself to myself. Reserved. Private. Alone.


Some people think I am too quiet. That life is passing me by. But I know there is safety in my own company. That no one can hurt me if I don’t let them get too close.


Until the day I meet him. A handsome, charming stranger. A chance for me to take a risk…finally?

Or a man who threatens everything I’ve worked so hard for?


You’ll be sorry…


And that’s when my whole life begins to fall apart…


Don't miss the brand new thriller by Valerie Keogh! Perfect for fans of Sue Watson, Shalini Boland and K.L. Slater.






BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Librarian' by Valerie Keogh..


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Valerie Keogh, Boldwood Books and Rachel's Random resources Tours.


Publication date 21st April 2023


This is the first book I have read by this author.

I was originally drawn to this book by its gorgeous eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated 'Don't miss the brand new thriller by Valerie Keogh! Perfect for fans of Sue Watson, Shalini Boland and K.L. Slater.' I am a huge fan of all three of these amazing authors so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Boldwood. I have yet to read a book published by Boldwood that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 52 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonist being Ava Warrington. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


WHAT did I just read!!!! WOW!!! I mean seriously Wow!! I was NOT expecting that lot fair play!!! This has GOT to start with a MASSIVE WELL DONE VALERIE KEOGH!!!! Ooopps sorry, yes, needed a minute to get over that but I've just left you hanging there... Sorry.... Let me tell you more...


Firstly let's start off with the writing style, etc!! This book is an extremely well written book by this amazing author which had me hook line and sinker!!! It is so smoothly and beautifully written with vivid descriptions I completely forgot I was even reading a book a few times. The blurb, title and cover really fit the storyline.


As you can tell I LOVED the storyline. I found it to be realistic, very fast paced and I read it in a day. I loved the setting and atmosphere and just well... Everything!!! Twists after shocks after turns!!! Arggghhh... Its so hard to NOT say anything about them as it will give too much away and spoil it for future readers but it definitely left me speechless over and over!!! I have read hundreds of psychological books and it gets harder and harder to keep my interest and to shock me but Valerie managed it hook, line and sinker Just brilliant fair play and all links in and wraps up perfectly!!! I cannot remember the last time I flew through a book so quickly. Each and every time I went to put it down to do something my fingers were itching to pick it back up as I just HAD to know what happened next!! Valerie's evocative writing skills ensures you are dragged deep into the storyline seeing everything that is happening and feeling the tension and suspense that Ava is going through. My heart was in my throat throughout reading this fast paced, gripping and gritty psychological thriller! This may be the first book I have read by this author but if all her books are like this I cannot wait to get stuck into them and I have added all her previous books to my wish list already. It is ram packed with twists, friendship, tension, stress, suspense and everything you could ask for in a psychological thriller. I can't say more than that as I don't want to spoil it for future readers so if you want to know you'll have to grab yourself a copy!! You won't regret it!!



Just like with the storyline the characters come to life with Valerie's fantastic writing skills. They are well rounded, realistic and strong making them all the more believable. Ava has her dream job working in the Tate but as she managed to get it as soon as she graduated she has times where she feels she has missed out on life. She is a worrier and regrets something that happened 10 years ago but we don't get to find out what this is until later in the book. The 10th anniversary of this event is coming up and she is stressed out about it. She goes out for a drink with her friend Poppy as Poppy wants to do some man hunting. Poppy starts chatting to a guy she meets and Ava goes to leave but is offered a drink by another man at the bar. When Poppy turns him turn he tells her she will be sorry as she is leaving. It doesn't take long that strange events start to happen from broken equipment at work to dead birds in her garden. Could the man she turned down be exacting his revenge? You'll just have to grab your copy to find out!! I really connected with Ava and felt for her as she just wants to keep her head down and get on with her life to the best that she can with her worries over her head. I won't go into more details as I don't want to risk giving anything away but Valerie has done an amazing job constructing an addictive and explosive psychological thriller with fantastic and varied characters that you just won't be able to put down!!


Congratulations Valerie on an explosive success!!! Welcome to my favourite author club!! Here's to many more successes 🥂!!!


Clear your schedules before picking this up as you will not be able to put it down!!! "


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the first chapters of Valerie's 'The Widow' which looks just as addictive as this one!


Overall an absolutely page turning, addictive, gripping and explosive must read that will keep you addicted from the very start to the fantastic ending!!!


Genres covered in this novel include Psychological Suspense, Hard-Boiled Mystery, International Mystery & Crime, Crime, Thriller & Mystery Adventures, Spy Stories & Tales Of Intrigue, Suspense Thriller, Thriller, Suspense, Psychological Thriller, Psychological Fiction, Psychological Literary Fiction, Thriller & Suspense Literary Fiction, and Mystery amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of The Girl on the Train, Behind Closed Doors, fans of Miranda Smith, Sheryl Browne, Sue Watson, K.L. Slater. Shalini Boland, Lisa Jewell, Ruth Ware, Gillian Flynn and anyone looking for an explosive page turner!!!


281 pages.


This book is just £1.89 to purchase on kindle via Amazon, free on kindle unlimited and £11.44 in paperback which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


#TheLibrarian #ValerieKeogh #BoldwoodBooks #BoldwoodBloggers #BookAndTonic #RachelsRandomResources #rararesources #BookReview #BlogTour #BooksOnTour #BookReview #BlogTour #BooksOnTour #Goodreads #NetGalley #Amazon #AmazonKindle #Bookstagram #Bookblogger #NetGalley #KindleUnlimited @TheLibrarian @ValerieKeogh @BoldwoodBooks @BoldwoodBloggers @BookAndTonic@Netgalley @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited https://kcmw86.wixsite.com/bookworm86 https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks https://m.facebook.com/Bookwork86/?__tn__=%2As-R https://www.instagram.com/bookwormwhitlock86/

https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/34299953-kirsty-bookworm86 https://mobile.twitter.com/kcmw86






Author Bio


Valerie Keogh is the internationally bestselling author of several psychological thrillers and crime series, most recently published by Bloodhound. She originally comes from Dublin but now livesin Wiltshire and worked as a nurse for many years. Her first thriller for Boldwood will be published in August 2022.


Social Media Links


Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/valeriekeoghnovels


Twitter: https://twitter.com/ValerieKeogh1


Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/valeriekeogh2/


Newsletter Sign Up: https://bit.ly/ValerieKeoghNews


Bookbub profile: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/valerie-keogh






Purchase Link


Amazon: https://amzn.to/3XwIaWF













0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

댓글

별점 5점 중 0점을 주었습니다.
등록된 평점 없음

평점 추가
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page