top of page

'The Liar's Daughter' by Rona Halsall

Author: Rona Halsall

Book: The Liar's Daughter

Publication Day: 26/04/21


Description:

The call comes on an ordinary Sunday afternoon to say your sister has been admitted to hospital with a serious head injury. But you don’t have a sister… do you?

You’ve never doubted your parents. You’ve loved them without question your whole life. But your stepmother is uncharacteristically speechless, and your father isn’t well enough to understand.

So you get in your car.

Turn the key in the ignition.

Knowing everything behind you is a lie.

Not knowing what lies ahead: the truth… or something far darker?

A deliciously dark and twisty tale of deception, secrets and family ties, The Liar’s Daughter is perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, The Woman in the Window and The Family Upstairs.

*Previously titled: The Missing Sister



BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Liar's Daughter' by Rona Halsall. This book was previously called 'The Missing Sister'.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Rona Halsall, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 26th April 2021.


This is the third book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'Her Mother's Lies' and 'The Ex Boyfriend' and highly recommend them both.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis. I am also a huge fan of Rona's previous books and if this is half as good as her previous books it is sure to be great. It also stated in the synopsis that this book is 'perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, The Woman in the Window and The Family Upstairs'. I am a huge fan of 'The Family Upstairs' and 'The Girl On The Train' so am looking forward to see if it lives up to this. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 41 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 and Wales 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁷󠁬󠁳󠁿UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. The fact that this book is partly based in Wales is even better as I live in Wales.


This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonists being Eva and Nancy. The benefits of third person perspective especially with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


Wow!!!! Well done Rona on another amazing success!!! An absolutely fantastic unputdownable psychological thriller. Extremely well written as are all Rona's books I have previously read with vivid descriptions that absorb you into the storyline. Absolutely love the new cover and name which suit the storyline perfectly.


The storyline is chillingly realistic and it kept me on the edge of my seat and then in the edge of my bed until late at night as I just could not out it down!!! I loved that it was seperate into three sections with the Now and Then and the different perspectives ensuring that the reader missed absolutely nothing. There isn't just the one storyline but all the smaller ones which blend in nicely without any confusion but ensuring there's always something going on. I would never have worked out any of the explosive secrets that were planted throughout and I loved the suspense it creates. Well done Rona as I am getting harder and harder to shock but you definitely managed it!! I was captivated throughout and the storyline was absolutely rammed with secrets, loss, love, desceiot, suspense, tension and red herrings all the way up until the very perfect ending.


The characters were also very realistic and well developed. I enjoyed getting to know each of them and loved finding out about their true stories. Eva and Nancy are both very strong women neither of which give up and I do love a book with a strong female lead. I am glad that the storyline went into their background as it showed the reasons they each did what they did along with their character development throughout.


Congratulations Rona on what promises to be another HUGE success and for, yet again, manage to shock me when many fail. This would make an epic movie and I look forward to your next novel.



Overall an addictive, page turning psychological thriller that will shock you.


Genres covered in this book include Mystery, Thriller, Suspense and Psychological Thriller amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of 'The Girl on The Train', 'The Family Upstairs' and any fans of Rona Halsall and those who enjoy a surprise twist.



305 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@RonaHalsall @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio: Rona lives on the Isle of Man with her husband, two dogs and three guinea pigs. She has been a bookworm since she was a child and now she's actually creating stories of her own, which still feels like a dream come true. She is an outdoorsy person and loves stomping up a mountain, walking the coastal paths and exploring the wonderful beaches on the Island while she's plotting how to kill off her next victim. She also makes sure she deletes her Google history on a regular basis, because... well, you can't be too careful when you spend your life researching new and ingenious ways for people to die. She has three children and two step-children who are now grown up and leading varied and interesting lives, which provides plenty of ideas for new stories!

Social Media Links:


To find out more about Rona's novels, go to www.facebook.com/RonaHalsallAuthor or follow @RonaHalsallAuth on Twitter.





Buy Links






15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page