top of page

The Last Message by Catherine Hope. Review




Book Description


A message meant for another. A love meant only for her.

'The Last Message is the perfect romantic page-turner. This powerful and emotional story of grief, healing, self-discovery and love will tug at even the hardest of heartstrings. I was captivated and rooting for Lizzie and Nick right up to the very last page' Holly Miller


If you love Holly Miller's The Sight of You, Rebecca Serle's In Five Years and Nicholas Sparks, you won't want to miss the breathtaking love story of the year that will grip your heart in every way.


This year I am sending my last message to you.

I don't know if I'll ever be able to forgive myself,

and I will never forget you,

but I have to find a way to let you go.


When Lizzie is woken in the night by a text message clearly not meant for her, she is intrigued and haunted by the words she sees. After losing her beloved twin brother, she knows something of grief and the struggle to rebuild a life.


Nick, a widower for three years, is haunted by the disappearance and presumed death of his wife, but when he meets Lizzie, he finally finds a kindred spirit.


When these two lonely hearts are drawn together, an unexpectedly deep and powerful emotional connection is formed. Perhaps finally this is the chance for both of them to live again - if they can overcome scars of the past which have a longer reach than either could have imagined.





Book Review


Review for 'The Last Message' by Catherine Hope.



Read and reviewed via Headline Publishers for Catherine Hope NetGalley and Headline Eternal Publishers.



Publication date 11th April 2023.



This is the first book I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its stunning cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Headline Eternal. I have yet to read a book published by Headline that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).



This novel consists of 50 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is based in the fictional Savage Cove, Washington, USA 🇺🇸.


This book is written in a mix of third and first person perspective and the protagonists are Lizzie and Nick. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. To have the benefit of both first and third person perspective ensures you don't miss out on anything.



'The Last Message' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Catherine discusses/includes cancer and loss.



WOW!!!! What can I say?!?! One thing I have got to say before getting into my review is clear your schedules and grab the tissues as you will need them!!! One of the most STUNNING books I have ever read!!!



This book is beautifully written with vivid descriptions setting the picture perfectly in the readers mind. The title, description and cover works perfectly with the storyline.



This book is a stunning story of loss, love, grief and moving on with life. It is an absolute rollercoaster ride of emotions filled with heartbreak, family, love, loss, secrets, friendship, caring, moving on, and so much more. Catherine's writing and descriptions are so evocative I really felt I was right next to both Lizzie and Nick the whole time. While you are reading you can feel the sand on your feet, smell the sea air and taste the delicious treats from Sol. Reading this book really does make you feel that you are standing with Nick and Lizzie and going through their pain, love, struggles and suffering. While you are reading this you are going through a journey of love and loss, heartbreak, secrets, love, anger and forgiveness and so, so much more. It really is a rollercoaster ride of emotions. I was utterly glued to the pages and I could not bring myself to put it down. I was carrying the book to read it every chance that I got and I had tears absolutely streaming down my face several times and both happy and sad!! Lizzie is heartbroken after losing her brother Rob to cancer and is determined to keep her promise to him to live her life and travel the world. Nick is heartbroken after losing his wife 3 years ago and still hasn't got over the way it happened. Lizzie loses her phone on the ferry over to Savage Cove and receives a text message from an unknown number that changes her life. Nick is walking his mischievous dog, the aptly named, Houdini when he bumps into Lizzie. They end up bumping into each other more and end up meeting on the beach on several occasions. As their feelings towards each other grow and develop they both hide secrets that could tear everything apart. This book is a stunning story filled with emotions about love, self-discovery, hope, healing and grief that sweeps you onto the stunning Savage Cove where secrets are held, hope is given and lives are changed. Catherine made Savage Cove come alive and portrayed the Cove perfectly. perfectly, I would absolutely love to see Catherine bring Savage Cove back to life in another of her stunning books and I am keeping my fingers crossed that she will live. I was devastated when I turned the last page and realised I had come to the end of my holiday there and had to unpack my suitcase and return to rainy Wales!! You need to clear your schedules and get the tissues at the ready because you will not be able to put this book down and devour it in one sitting like I did!!! I was gobsmacked by the twist at the end which I did not see coming so a HUGE congratulations Catherine for managing to shock me. It isn't an easy feat as I have read so many books of different genres that it gets harder and harder to not work out what is happening, especially in romance books so a huge congratulations is in order!! This is one of those books that will stay with me for a long time and I cannot wait to jump straight into the next book by this amazing author and have already added all her books to my wish list. This would make a stunning movie and a gorgeous series (Hint, Hint Catherine ;) !!


Clear your schedules as you will not be able to put this stunning page turner down!!



The characters are strong, well rounded, realistic and I became completely invested in both Lizzie and Nick. I felt each of their pain, heartbreak, betrayal, guilt , anger, sorrow and so much more. My heart broke for each of them who went through so much change and more (but I can't say more as I don't want to spoil the storyline for anyone) . Both of them were such strong protagonists that willl stay with me for a long time!!! My heart went out to Lizzie after she lost her brother, then her phone and ended up questioning what to do as her life changed on Savage Cove. She did annoy me on several occasions when it seemed she was quick to run away from what was happening and when she refused to let other things happen as she had made a promise that, personally, I think she took too literally. However, I really liked her character and loved watching her relationship with Nick develop throughout the book. I absolutely adored Nick who is sweet, loving and a genuine guy. My heart tore apart for him when a certain event happens, sorry for the tease but you will just have to get your copy to find out what I mean but I can promise you, you wont be disappointed!!! I have got to mention the absolutely adorable, but the very naughty Houdini!!! I am a huge animal lover so any pets and animals in books get bonus points for me and this on e gets extra because he is such a big part in this story and because he is such a wicked chap!! I also adored Nick's Dad Walter who is such a handsome and sweet gentleman who says it as it is and his adorable dog Candy. It is so sweet how close Nick and Walter have and is lovely to see how they look after and protect each other. I also enjoyed getting to know Claire who Lizzie meets in Sol after watching her on several occasions when she is enjoying a drink absorbed in a book herself. Walter and Claire are both lovely characters who both have a wicked sense of humour!! I loved the majority of characters in the book and there were only two that I could not stand but I cannot name them or say any more as it will give too much away but when you have read this amazing book feel free to message me and share your thoughts on them with me!! Regardless of how I felt about the characters they all worked perfectly together to make this gorgeous book an unputdownable memorable one that will send you off onto a stunning holiday away to Savage Cove!! Catherine did a fantastic job of bringing each and every one of them to life and I would love to meet them all (well, almost all) again. Another hint Catherine!!



Congratulations Catherine on an absolutely stunningly beautiful unputdownable book!!! I am looking forward to reading more of your previous and future books. I would absolutely love to see this book and series turned into a movie!!! Welcome to my favourite romantic author list and here's to your next success 🥂



Overall an absolutely unputdownable, thought provoking, addictive and compelling beautiful, heart-warming book about grief and moving on with a twist you wont see coming!!!




Genres covered in this book include Women's Friendship Fiction, Women's Contemporary Fiction, Women's Domestic Fiction, Contemporary Romance, Women's Romance Fiction, Romance, Romance Novel, Family Drama, General Fiction, Contemporary Women's Fiction, Domestic Fiction, Literary Fiction, Women's Fiction, Contemporary Fiction, Women's Literary Fiction, Romantic Comedy and Contemporary Romance Fiction and amongst others.




I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Fiona Valpy, Lucinda Riley, Barbara O’Neal, Jojo Moyes, Debbie Macomber, Susanne O’Leary, Pamela Kelly, Nancy Thayer. Amanda Prowse, Diane Chamberlain and anyone who loves a page turner.




416 pages.



This book is just £2.99 to purchase on kindle and £10.99 in paperback at time of review, via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@TheLastMessage @CatherineHope @CatherineHopeBk @catherinehopebooks @HeadlinePublishing @Headline @HeadlineEternal @eternal_books @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited



https://kcmw86.wixsite.com/bookworm86



https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks


https://m.facebook.com/Bookwork86/?__tn__=%2As-R



https://www.instagram.com/bookwormwhitlock86/



https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/34299953-kirsty-bookworm86


https://mobile.twitter.com/kcmw86










Author Bio


Catherine Hope's love of reading began at a young age. Her parents always had a book close by, although they read vastly different genres, which rubbed off on her as she devoured everything from romance to espionage. She fondly remembers her mom with a book propped against her cosy covered teapot at lunchtime.


Catherine started telling stories as a child, and it naturally grew into a passion for writing. Her goal is to breathe life into her characters and worlds and transport her readers into the pages of heartache and triumph. Catherine is excited for her debut release coming in early 2023 - The Last Message, with Headline Eternal.


When Catherine's not writing or thinking up fresh stories, she spends time with her family, friends, and menagerie of pets. But she's always ready to jet off to explore the world, where many of her experiences find their way into her books. Catherine lives in a small town in Ontario, Canada.








Purchase Link










5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page