top of page

The Last List of Mabel Beaumont By Laura Pearson. Review



Book Description



The list he left had just one item on it. Or, at least, it did at first…


Mabel Beaumont’s husband Arthur loved lists. He’d leave them for her everywhere. ‘Remember:

eggs, butter, sugar’. ‘I love you: today, tomorrow, always’.


But now Arthur is gone. He died: softly, gently, not making a fuss. But he’s still left her a list. This one

has just one item on it though: ‘Find D’.


Mabel feels sure she knows what it means. She must track down her best friend Dot, who she hasn’t

seen since the fateful day she left more than sixty years ago.


It seems impossible. She doesn’t even know if Dot’s still alive. Also, every person Mabel talks to

seems to need help first, with missing husbands, daughters, parents. Mabel finds her list is just

getting longer, and she’s still no closer to finding Dot.


What she doesn’t know is that her list isn’t just about finding her old friend. And that if she can

admit the secrets of the past, maybe she could even find happiness again…


A completely heartbreaking, beautiful, uplifting story, guaranteed to make you smile but also make

you cry. Perfect for fans of My Name is Ove, Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine, and The Keeper of

Stories.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Last List of Mabel Beaumon' by Laura Pearson.



Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Laura Pearson, Book And Tonic, Boldwood Books and Rachel's Random resources Tours.



Publication date 4th August 2023.




This is the third book I have read by this author but it most definitely won't be my last and I've already added the rest of her books to my wish list.




This novel consists of 42 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!




An absolutely fabulous, beautiful, heart warming, stunning must read!!! Absolutely love, love, loved it!!! This book has fantastic descriptions that set you straight in the scenes. The cover, title and synopsis suit the storyline perfectly.




I absolutely LOVE, LOVE, LOVED this stunning, unique feel good page turner!! Well done Laura on a thought provoking page turning beauty!



The storyline itself was absolutely unputdownable so make sure you clear your schedules before starting to read it!!



I absolutely adored this beautiful and unique storyline of second chances!! It was absolutely gorgeous watching the characters all grow, develop and change as they each went through their own heartbreak, dramas, life changes, mystery, romances and much more. I was rooting for each and every one of them throughout!!! If you are looking for a stunning read filled with romance, humour, second chances, friendship, feel good moments and so much more then this is definitely the perfect book for you!! Laura's evocative writing skills sucks the reader seep into the pages bringing the storyline to life along with all the amazing characters. While reading this book you will kept swept away and left feeling happy and filled with warmth. This book is an absolutely stunning and thought provoking read that is perfect to lift your spirits!! I love the fact that there is a hint of mystery weaved through the storyline as the reader discovers more about each of the characters and their pasts. When turning the pages of this must read Laura takes you on a rollercoaster of emotions from heartbreak, happiness, love, sadness, bliss and so much more!! I felt like I was next to Mabel throughout the book. I devoured this book in a few hours as it is one of those that I just could not put down. there were so many times that I told myself that I would just finish the one chapter and then go back to it but that chapter ended in a way that I could not put it down and then the next one did and then the next and so on until I came to very last page. I would absolutely love to see this beauty turned into a movie and I will be at the front of the queue to go and see it!! Laura's writing skills will absolutely absorb you into the book and whether you are in the world you will be devoured in the story in the blink of an eye.


Clear your schedules and grab your tissues. I could not put this stunning heartbreaking, heartwarming stunning book down and devoured it in a few hours!!!



The characters were all an eclectic mix and each one of them were realistic and strong. I was completely invested in them all and I already miss most of them even though I have just closed the pages. I absolutely adored meeting Mabel who is an absolutely amazing and complex woman. In fact all of the characters are intriguing, relatable, strong and I absolutely loved meeting each and everyone one of them. The only disappointment is that they are not actually real as I would love to sit down and have a cuppa with them and get to know even more about them all. It absolutely loved being able to see the characters develop their friendship, amongst other things, seeing them grow in strength and empowering themselves and each other. Mabel and Arthur both reminded me of my own grandparents and they are definitely characters I won't be forgetting any time soon. One of the other things I absolutely adored was the multi generational friendships between the characters and seeing different personalities coming together and discovering all their histories, friendships and secrets. An absolutely amazing gang of characters who will stay with me for a long time and I am already missing them. Laura's evocative writing skills didn't just bring the storyline to life but also this amazing group of characters so another huge well done Laura.


What are you waiting for?!? Pick up one of my favourite, stunning, feel good page turners and get ready to get sucked in to this addictive book!!!




A MASSIVE WELL DONE to Laura on a HUGE success!!! I loved every page of your book and I cannot wait to read more past and future amazing books. This is exactly why I would like to welcome you to my FAVOURITE authors list and I cannot wait for your next page turner. Here's to your next success 🥂!




Overall an unputdownable, unforgettable, stunning book of second chances, friendship and everything you could want in a page turner!!!



310 pages.



This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £9.99 in paperback, at time of review, via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.




Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews.




@TheLastListOfMabelBeaumont @LauraPearson @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @BoldwoodBooks @BoldwoodBloggers @BookAndTonic @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnimited @Netgalley




























Author Bio


Laura Pearson has an MA in Creative Writing from the University of Chichester. She lives in

Leicestershire with her husband, their two children and a much-cuddled cat.




Social Media Links









Purchase Link










11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page