top of page

'The Lake House' by Laura Wolfe

Title: The Lake House

Publication Day: March 17th 2021

Author: Laura Wolfe


Description:

You can always trust your closest friends. Can’t you?

This trip was a chance to reconnect away from our busy lives. The five of us used to be so close—going right back to our college days, when we shared a rickety house and all our favorite clothes, as well as every high and low of our lives—but that was then.

Now, the thought of three days in a small cabin far from anywhere, surrounded only by water and trees, with my four oldest friends makes my stomach sink and my hands sweat. Because if they knew what I’d done—the betrayals I’ve committed—they’d never forgive me. And neither would you.

The straight-A student, the sports star with a bright future ahead of her, the sheltered girl who blossomed away from her family and the hippie child who was going to save the world. Their lives have turned out so differently to how we pictured all those years ago. I try not to think about why.

But then danger strikes, and too late I discover I’m not the only one keeping secrets. And I wonder: who will go furthest to keep the truth hidden?

Gripping, addictive and totally unputdownable, The Lake House will have you reading late into the night. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, The Woman in the Window and Big Little Lies.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Lake House' by Laura Wolfe.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 17th March 2021.


This is the first book I have read by this author. It most definitely won't be my last.


I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis. The synopsis stated this book is perfect for fans of Shari Lapena and others. I am a huge fan of Shari's books so am interested to see if it will live up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 31 chapters. The chapters are medium to long in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Wisconsin, USA 🇺🇸 .


This book is written in first person perspective with the protagonist being Megan. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them.


This book is very well written with vivid descriptions capturing the imagination. The synopsis and cover suited the storyline perfectly.


The storyline was filled with suspense and completely gripping. It was also realistic which makes it even easier to picture. An absolutely sensational read which had me hooked from page one. It had me guessing throughout and I would have never worked the out, especially the shocker at the end!!! I love it when books shock me as it gets harder and harder with all the crime books I read. Every chapter seemed to end on a cliffer and it was definitely unputdownable and addictive! I completely devoured it. Laura has filled this book with suspense and you can feel the tension bubbling throughout.


The characters were solid and completely realistic. They all had their own strong personalities and it was intriguing reading the memories of what happened in their past which was woven into the storyline perfectly.


I am looking forward to reading more books from this very talented author and I would also love to see this one turned into a movie!!


Overall a completely addictive psychological thriller that will have you hooked until the explosive ending.


Genres covered in this novel include Mystery, Thriller, Suspense, Psychological Thriller, Crime Fiction and Psychological Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Shari Lapona, Jess Ryder and Shalini Boland.


302 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@LauraWolfe @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86








Author Bio:

Laura Wolfe writes fast-paced and twisty mystery and suspense novels. Her new and upcoming releases include TWO WIDOWS (Bookouture, August 2020), SHE LIES ALONE (Bookouture, November 2020), and THE LAKE HOUSE (Bookouture, March 2021.) Her equestrian-themed YA mystery books have been shortlisted for multiple indie book awards. Laura is a lover of animals and nature. When she is not writing, she can be found hanging out with her highly-energetic kids, growing vegetables in her garden, or spoiling her rescue dog. She enjoys living in Ann Arbor, Michigan

Author Social Media Links:





Buy Links:

Audible:

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page