top of page

'The Killer's Family' by Miranda Smith


Book Description:


We should never have kept our father’s secret. Before, my sisters and I were close. Now, a year after our father’s funeral, we barely speak to each other. Molly won’t accept the truth. Rachel can’t forgive him. And I spend all my time digging through his life, trying to understand. Then we hear the news. A woman has been found by the docks, her wedding ring stolen. The reporter says it appears the local serial killer has returned… But I know that can’t be right, because I know who the killer was. Henry Martin. Our father. Someone is sending us a message. Someone knows we lied. Now my sisters and I must work together to find out who is targeting us. How do they know what we’ve hidden? What do they want? And what other secrets lie buried in the past, putting us all in danger? A brilliantly twisty suspense thriller that will have you flying through the pages and gasping at the twist. Fans of Lisa Jewell, Gillian Flynn and Ruth Ware will love The Killer’s Family.


BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Killer's Family' by Miranda Smith.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Miranda Smith, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 31st March 2022.


This is the fourth book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'The One Before', 'His Loving Wife' and 'Not My Mother' which I highly recommend.



I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'Fans of Lisa Jewell, Gillian Flynn and Ruth Ware will love The Killer’s Family.' I am a huge fan of Lisa Jewell so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Miranda and if this is half as good as 'Not My Mother', 'His Loving Wife' and 'The One Before ' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists 75 chapters spread over 4 parts. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonists are Molly, Cara and Rachel. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


WHAT did I just read!!!! WOW!!! I mean seriously Wow!! I was NOT expecting that lot fairplay!!! This has GOT to start with a MASSIVE WELL DONE MIRANDA SMITH!!!! Ooopps sorry, yes, needed a minute to get over that but I've just left you hanging there... Sorry.... Let me tell you more...


Firstly let's start off with the writing style, etc!! Extremely well written book which had me hook line and sinker!!! It is so smoothly and beautifully written with vivid descriptions I completely forgot I was even reading a book a few times. The blurb, title and cover really fit the storyline.


As you can tell I LOVED the storyline. I found it to be realistic, very fast paced and I read it in a day. I loved the setting and atmosphere and just well... Everything!!! Twists after shocks after turns!!! Arggghhh... Its so hard to NOT say anything about them as it will give too much away and spoilt it for future readers but it definitely left me speechless over and over!!! I have read hundreds of psychological books and I really do think this one is definitely in the top 3 when it comes to dropping bombshells. I am, in fact still shell shocked!! Just brilliant fairplay and all links in and wraps up perfectly!!! However, one thing wasn't wrapped up which was right at the end and an explosive ending it was!!! For once I actually love the fact that you don't get to find out who did what I'm talking about as it leaves you guessing long after you finish the book. I can't say more than that as I don't want to spoil it for future readers so if you want to know you'll have to grab yourself a copy!! You won't regret it!!


THE plot throughout is rammed with suspense, mystery, lies, surprises, tension and did I say surprises!!! Well done Miranda ythis is exactly the reason you are on my favourite author list!! I am looking forward to reading more of your books and when oh when is this going to be turned into the movie of the year!!! Gone Girl and many others have NOTHING on this one!!!


I loved getting to know every single one of the characters and thought they were portrayed perfectly with great character development. They were all realistic with their own little quirks and I liked each (well almost each) one for different reasons. I was completely invested in them and thought they were all unique with their own quirks. I was completely shocked when it came to the reveal but I can't say anything else without spoiling it for others!!!


Congratulations Miranda on yet another explosive success!!! This is why you are one of my favourite psychological thriller authors. Here's to many more successes 🥂!!!


Clear your schedules before picking this up as you will not be able to put it down!!! "


Overall an absolutely page turning, explosive must read that will leave you shocked!!!


Genres covered in this novel include Thriller, Suspense, Psychological Thriller, Psychological Fiction, Domestic Thriller and Mystery amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of The Girl on the Train, Behind Closed Doors, fans of Miranda Smith's previous books, Sheryl Browne, Shalini Boland, Lisa Jewell, Ruth Ware, Gillian Flynn and anyone looking for an explosive page turner!!!



341 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon or free on kindle unlimited (at time of review) which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@MirandaSmith @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86





https://m.facebook.com/Bookwork86/?__tn__=%2As-R




Author Bio:


Miranda Smith writes psychological and domestic suspense. She is drawn to stories about ordinary people in extraordinary situations. Before completing her first novel, she worked as a newspaper staff writer and a secondary English teacher. She lives in East Tennessee with her husband and three young children.




Buy Link:



Audio:



Listen to a sample here:



27 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

1 comentário

Avaliado com 0 de 5 estrelas.
Ainda sem avaliações

Adicione uma avaliação
Lauren Becker
Lauren Becker
04 de abr. de 2022

This sounds fantastic. Love a well-done mystery!


lauren @ www.shootingstarsmag.net

Curtir
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page