top of page

'The Key To The Last House Before The Sea' by Liz Eeles


Book Description


Tears trickling down her cheeks, she recognises her grandmother’s writing scrawled across the manila envelope. Inside is an engraved key that sits heavy in her hand. Will the tumbledown cottage be the start of a new life – or will it tear her life apart?


With her back to the sparkling sea, single mum Nessa stands in the doorway of the stone cottage her grandmother left behind. If she can just fix up the crumbling walls and make the empty hearth cosy again, it will be the perfect home for her little daughter Lily – and their only option if they want to stay in the village of Heaven’s Cove. But a rap on the door soon shatters her plans…


Although Gabriel Gantwich has a smile on his handsome face, the papers he’s clutching say his father’s company owns the house. They plan to knock it down, destroying Nessa’s last link to her family history – and Lily’s last hope for a home in Heaven’s Cove.Reeling, Nessa is furious that an outsider could take away her child’s future. She has just thirty days to renovate the cottage – and prove it’s hers. As she and Gabriel clash over every detail, Nessa barely notices that even though they argue, their talks are fuelled by the same passion. And beneath his tough exterior, Gabriel appreciates the beauty of the sunset bathing the clifftop cottage in soft pink light as much as she does…


But one stormy night, Nessa gets a desperate phone call about Lily. Forced to choose between her family’s past and her daughter’s future, will she end up losing everything? Or will Gabriel finally realise what truly matters, and help Nessa make this beautiful place a home?


An absolutely stunning, heartbreaking and uplifting read that will sweep you away to the wild Devon coast. Perfect for anyone who loves Trisha Ashley, Debbie Macomber and Jean Grainger.


This book can be enjoyed as a standalone.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Key To The Last House Before The Sea' by Liz Eeles .


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Liz Eeles, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 19th August 2022.


This is the fourth book I have read by this author and it is the fourth book in the 'Heaven's Cove' series but can be read as a standalone. I have previously read the first book in this series 'Secrets At The Last House Before The Sea', the second book in this series 'A Letter To The Last House Before The Sea' and the third book in this series 'The Girl At The Last House Before The Sea' which I also would highly recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'Perfect for anyone who loves Trisha Ashley, Debbie Macomber and Jean Grainger'. I am a huge fan of Debbie Macomber so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a fan of Liz and if this is half as good as 'Secrets At The Last House Before The Sea', 'A Letter To The Last House On Before The Sea' and 'The Girl At The Last House Before Sea' it is sure to be a great read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 40 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Devon, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually visited Devon on several occasions so am looking forward to see if I recognise anywhere.


This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonists being Nessa, Valerie and Gabriel. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


Love, love, LOVE this stunning series!! Well done Liz you have done it yet again!!! Another absolutely stunningly written book whose vivid descriptions completely arrested my attention. I could feel the sand in my toes and the wind in my hair. The cover and synopsis suited the storyline perfectly.


I absolutely LOVE the Heaven's Cove series and Heavens Cove has become an absolutely stunning escape for me. I always look forward to seeing Liz's next book come out as I know it's time to mentally pack my suitcase and set off for a stunning holisay surrounded by an absolutely fantastic community!! This book is a perfect summer read filled with mystery, romance, deceit, love, family, secrets and is perfect for anyone looking for an escape. I was absolutely hooked from page one until 2.30am in the morning when I finished having not being able to put it down. The overall atmosphere worked perfectly with the storyline and I felt myself surrounded by the sea and sounds of Devon and most definitely wanting to go back. The plot was very realistic making it all very easy to picture. It's hard to say too much about the storyline that's not in the description and that won't give too much away. It is such an easy smooth read though that you can read curled up in front of a fire or laying on a sunbed at the beach. I am so glad the way it all turned out and for me it ended perfectly. I am also pleased to say that the ending wasn't what I was expecting which is a lovely bonus as I enjoy being surprised so well done again Liz!! An absolutely stunning book that would make an absolutely gorgeous movie!!!


Although this is the fourth book in the series I had would have had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


An absolutely stunning page turner that will completely captivate your heart and mind from beginning to end.


I was completely invested in Nessa, Valerie and Gabriel's characters and I enjoyed seeing what was going on from each of their very different perspectives. I also absolutely loved meeting some of the characters from Haven Cove. These characters have become like friends to me through the four gorgeous books in this series and I always love "meeting" them again and seeing what they have been getting up to. The characters are all vivid, strong and realistic and I loved the community surrounding the area. The author captured a typical village lifestyle perfectly. I loved getting to know Nessa, Valerie and Gabriel along with meeting Liam, Rose and several of the other lovely characters again. It was great watching how all the characters developed and bonded throughout the book and I think some of them will stay with me for a long time. It's always great seeing strong female leads in books and Nessa was definitely memorable!! I did miss Belinda in this book although she was mentioned, strange as I couldn't stand her when I met her but she has definitely grown on me through this series so hopefully she will be in the next gorgeous adventure at Heavens Cove. If not then it will stay be an amazing read as this has been with May amazing characters I will definitely miss until the next success!!


Congratulations Liz on yet another addictive, stunningly beautiful book. This is exactly why you are one of my favourite authors and I cannot wait to read the next book in this stunning series as well as checking out your other books. Here I'd to this and your next guaranteed success!! 🥂


Overall a heart warming, stunning charming page turning and addictive novel in a gorgeous series. Another must read from Liz!!



Genres covered in this book include Romantic Cometic, Contemporary Romance, Womens Fiction, Contemporary Fiction and Romance amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Trisha Ashley, Debbie Macomber, Jean Grainger, Summer and beach reads and anyone looking for a relaxing heart warming read.



338 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle or free on kindle unlimited (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@LizEeles @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author Bio


Liz began her writing career as a journalist for newspapers and magazines before moving into the health sector as a communications manager and press officer. The low point of her career was abandoning an interview with Cliff Richard after two questions because she was about to faint – her excuse is that she was newly pregnant at the time.


Liz is from Gloucestershire but now lives by the sea in West Sussex with her husband and grown-up daughter. She spends a lot of time meaning to meditate, avoiding exercise, and missing her son who lives in London.


Social Media Links






Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Liz Eeles herehttps://www.bookouture.com/liz-eeles





Purchase Link:



You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love athttp://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo













13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page