top of page

'The Italian Daughter' by Soraya Lane


Book Description


The Italian Daughter: An absolutely unputdownable and stunning page-turner (The Lost Daughters Book 1)


Italy, 1946. “Estee, I bought this ring years ago and have kept it safe ever since. You’re the only woman I’ve ever loved.” She reached for Felix’s hand and gently closed it over the box. “No,” she whispered. “I want you to propose only when you’re truly free.”


Estee always believed that she would spend her life with her childhood sweetheart Felix. But when her incredible gift for dance gave her the opportunity to move to a big city and provide for her mother, she knew she had to sacrifice her happiness for her family’s future and a chance at a better life.


But years later, in a city of over a million people, Felix finds Estee. Due to marry the daughter of a prominent family, he is prepared to sacrifice everything to be with the love of his life. But Estee knows what is at stake: his family’s love and his livelihood could be lost forever if she says yes. Can she really follow her heart if it means him losing everything?


London, present day: Lily clutches a faded piece of paper in her hands, knowing that her life will never be the same again. Whilst grieving for her late father, she is told that her grandmother was born in a home for unmarried mothers, the only clues to her past contained on a handwritten Italian recipe and an old theatre programme.


Desperate for answers, Lily accepts a job on an Italian vineyard – a dream her father once shared. Lily receives a warm welcome from the owner’s charming son Antonio and as they chat long into the night, Antonio offers to help her discover her family’s heritage.


But arriving in Estee and Felix’s village, Lily unearths a tragic love story which has the power to change her future. As she unravels the truth of her own legacy, she begins to fall for Italy and for Antonio. Can Lily give up everything she has ever known to rebuild her life or will the risk of heartbreak force her home?


An utterly enchanting and heartbreaking novel about lost loves, family secrets and enduring hope. Perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Lucinda Riley and Victoria Hislop.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'The Italian Daughter' by Soraya Lane.



Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Soraya Lane, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous



Publication Date 23rd September 2022.



This is the first book I have read by this author. This book was previously published as 'Death In Dulwich'. It is the first book in the 'Lost Daughter' series.



I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching beautiful cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'Perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Lucinda Riley and Victoria Hislop.' I am a huge fan of Lucinda Riley so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).



This novel consists of a prologue, 34 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in London, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧 and Italy 🇮🇹. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture.



This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonists being Lily and Estee. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.



Well I am ABSOLUTELY gutted to come to the end of this book as it ends my stunning sofa holiday 😭


This book is beautifully written and completely absorbs you in the stunning atmosphere of Italy completely sucking you in with the vivid descriptions leaving you feel the warmth of the the sun and smell of the wine. The synopsis and cover suits the storyline perfectly.


The storyline is authentic and realistic as well as easy to read and heartwarming. It is just one of those absolutely stunning books that promises the reader gets completely lost in the pages for hours. I absolutely loved the beginning where Lily picked up the box from Hope House along with the other women and am hoping the rest of this series continues with each of those women collecting their boxes while the readers watches it all unfold. However Soraya is planning the rest of the series it is guaranteed to be just perfect. I genuinely felt like I had packed my suitcase leaving rainy Wales for the stunning Italian sun. I could see the vineyards, taste the hazelnut chocolate and feel my heart pound while certain events were unfolding. It wasn't all happiness though and my heart really went out to Estee and Felix. What happened to them was unbelievably cruel and I had tears streaming down my face so make sure you have tissues at the ready. You will also want to book the day off whatever you had planned as once you pick up this book and turn the pages I can guarantee you will not want to put it down!! I found myself picking it up every spare second I had and not wanting to put it down so ended up reading it in one sitting in the end!! I loved that Lily started with just two clues and then following her as it took her all over Italy. It was definitely a unique way of exploring places and I am looking forward to seeing if this is how the rest of the series will go. The storyline was filled with a range of emotions and was heartwarming, devastating and had lies, lost and new love, relationships, family, friendship and history all going on in this beautiful atmosphere. I loved the fact that we get to read both past and present time lines and Soraya has woven them together absolutely perfectly!! It felt like a lovely break away from a rainy Wales!! I loved how the story ended and I would love to read more about the life in this gorgeous Italian place. An absolutely stunning read!!!


AN ABSOLUTELY STUNNING MUST READ!!


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


This is one of the few books that I have listened to on Audiobook while also reading it on kindle. I must say a HUGE congratulations to the narrator Zoe Mills who did a great job bringing this story to life. I would listen to it in the car and while walking at any opportunity and Zoe did a fantastic job on both male and female characters voices!!! I'm not only looking forward to reading more books by Soraya but also to listening to more books narrated by Zoe!


Clear your schedules, grab your tissues and get ready to go on a journey of a lifetime!!!


It is always worrying when starting a new series as you have no idea who the characters are. It is very important for me to bond with not only the lead protagonists but also any characters that may make repeat appearances during the series too.


The characters were all unique with their own realistic traits, strengths and weaknesses. It was intriguing to watch

Estee and Felix's & Lily and Antonio's relationships grow, develop and change throughout the the storyline. I genuinely felt sorry for Estee throughout but also Lily as she had so much to consider while learning new things constantly about her family. It was also intriguing to see how not only Estee and Felix's & Lily and Antonio's relationships changed throughout the book but also how Lily bonded with Antonio and Matthew's families. It was absolutely amazing to watch the personalities and relationships between all the characters grow, develop and bond and although I don't believe their story will be told in this series again I would love to see what happens in the future with Lily, Antonio and the families. I adored Antonio's family and how they were so welcoming and loving and each of these characters stories would make beautiful books which I would love to read!! Hint hint Soraya!!! All characters worked perfectly with the storyline and I would love to meet them again and hope to see this made into a series or even a movie!!!


Well done Soraya on an absolutely stunning start to what promises to be a gorgeous new series, I will definitely be looking for your books any time I need to be swept off to another country!!!



A MASSIVE WELL DONE to Soraya on a HUGE success!!! I loved every page of your book and I cannot wait to read more of your past and hopefully future books. Congratulations you are now one of my favourite authors! Here's to your next success 🥂


Overall a true page turning, perfect and stunning romance that will sweep you off your feet and land you in Italy and in the past!!


Genres covered in this book include Romance, Literary Sagas, 20th Century Historical Romance, Historical Fiction, Mystery, Romantic Fiction, Historical European Fiction and Historical Literary Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Santa Montefiore, Lucinda Berry, Sue Roberts, Nicholas Sparks, Victoria Hoslop and anyone looking for a stunning page turner.

305 pages


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle or free on kindle unlimited (at the time of review), £7.99 in paperback and £16.99 on Audiobook via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@TheItalianDaughter @TheItalianDaughterTheLostDaughterBook1 @TheLostDaughterBook1 @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @SorayaLane @ZoeMills












About the author


Soraya Lane graduated with a law degree before realising that law wasn't the career for her and that her future was in writing. She is the author of historical and contemporary women's fiction, including the #1 Kindle bestselling novels The Last Correspondent and The Secrets We Left Behind.


Soraya lives on a small farm in her native New Zealand with her husband, their two young sons and a collection of four legged friends. When she's not writing, she loves to be outside playing make-believe with her children or snuggled up inside reading.



Author social media



Instagram @SorayaLaneAuthor





Newsletter sign up:





Purchase Link






13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page