top of page

The Island Cottage by Jane Lovering. Review.


Book Description


When Brid Harcus is sent to the Orkney Islands, in the far reaches of Scotland, she has high hopes

for her trip being short, straightforward and lucrative.


Her mother has inherited a cottage from her Great Aunt Jennet which has been unlived in and

unloved for decades, and the time has come to make it habitable and saleable. Easy, right?


But Midness Cottage has other ideas. For one thing it’s rather more ‘fixer upper’ than Country Living,

with a resident goose and her goslings who have made themselves at home. And Brid definitely

hadn’t planned for the strongly-held local belief that the cottage is meant to be the home of the

Orkney Witch, and whomever lives in it must fulfil this role. Not the best message for the estate

agent brochure and of course Brid doesn’t believe in magic, let alone have healing powers.


But Orkney does have healing powers. Its beauty and peace are enchanting, its people welcoming,

and Brid’s handsome new friend Magnus is rather charming too. When her life back in York starts

calling her home, will Brid sell up and ship out? Or did the last Orkney Witch cast a spell and leave a

legacy of love if only Brid believed in magic…



BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Island Cottage' by Jane Lovering.


Read and reviewed for Jane Lovering, Boldwood, Boldwood Book Club, Boldwood bloggers, Books and Tonic, Netgalley and Rachel's Random Resources Tours.


Publication date 9th January 2024.


This is the first book I have read by this author but it definitely won't be my last!!!!


This novel consists of 23 chapters. The chapters are short to in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



OMG!!! I absolutely LOVED this absolutely gorgeous page turner and I cannot WAIT to get stuck into Jane's next book and see what other gorgeous stories she bas come up with!! This book is a stunning read that will whisk you off to the beautiful Orkney Islands in Scotland where you will feel the wind whip your hair, smell the fresh air and hear the goslings (yep, goslings) cheeping. Brid is sent to this beautiful Island to empty and sell her mother's Great Aunt Jennet's cottage after she passed away. Brid isn't too happy and is worried about leaving her parents and taking time away from her job but thinks that the money will come in handy to get her own place. However, when she arrives it isn't the gorgeous cottage she was hoping for and things get even worse when people start turning up asking her to heal them. There is one huge benefit and that's the wild and sexy Magnus whose brother lives just next to the cottage. However with her parents and job needing her what will Brid decide to do?? Throw in a Goose and her babies, a pregnant ex, a determined estate agent, an orca, a magic book and so much more and you get this gorgeous read that will lift your heart and mind!!! I absolutely adored this beautiful escapism read that whisked me away from rainy Wales to the (OK the weather seemed just as bad) stunning Orkney Island. This is one of those books that is perfect to read on the beach or (in my case) curled up on the sofa with the heating on!! This is one of those books that even though I told myself just one more chapter I ended up carrying my kindle around with me and devouring the whole book in one sitting so grab your copy and enjoy your trip to the Island Cottage!!!



Get ready to escape mundane life and fall in love with this gorgeous page turner!!!


Jane's evocative writing skills drew me deep into the book bringing the atmosphere and characters to life all around me. It is one of those books that I could not put down.The characters were all an eclectic mix and each one of them were realistic and strong. I was completely invested in them all. My heart went out to Brid who gets the shock of her life when she arrives thinking it will be a quick and easy job to discover the complete opposite and then struggling with her emotions on what to do with her life. I loved seeing her personality develop throughout the book as an individual and in her friendship with the very rugged, very fit Magnus!! Magnus is also an amazing character that I loved getting to know and I adore the fact that he showed and explained his feelings even when he seems to be this tough man. It wasn't just Brid and Magnus I loved getting to know and became invested in but also the other characters such as "dizzy" Kizzie, Cranky Cushie (the goose) ans her goslings, Innis and Torstein. I wasn't a fan of Donal who I thought was to be a slime ball but you can't like everyone!! They all had their own unique personalities which makes them more realistic, believable and made me feel even more for them than I normally would. Jane's fantastic and evocative writing skills makes you feel the same as the characters were. Each of the characters are memorable and unique in their own ways and they are a group of people that I wont be forgetting any time soon, will miss and would love to meet time and time again!! Grab your copy of this page turner and get sucked in to The Island Cottage today!!


Pick up this book and get lost in this absolutely gorgeous page turner!


Congratulations Jane on an absolutely stunning read that I just could not put down!!! A gorgeous book in that I fell in love with and I cannot wait to read more of your previous and future books. I would absolutely love to see this book turned into a movie!!! This is the exact reason I would like to welcome you to my favourite author list and here's to your next success 🥂


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the prologue and first chapter of Jane's 'The Recipe For Happiness' which promises to be just as stunning as this book and is one I'm definitely looking forward to reading myself!!!


Overall an unputdownable, gorgeous, STUNNING page turning book filled with mystery, spookiness, drama, romance, secrets, fun, laughter, romance, geese, magic, friendship and so much more!!


254 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £9.99 in paperback via Amazon, at time of review which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews





@TheIslandCottage @JaneLovering @boldwoodbloggers @theboldbookclub @LoveNotes @BoldwoodBooks @Boldwood @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @ NetGalley@KindleUnlimited











Author Bio


Jane Lovering is a bestselling and multi-award winning romantic comedy writer. Most recently Jane

won the RNA Contemporary Romantic Novel Award in 2023 with A Cottage Full of Secrets. She lives

in Yorkshire and has a cat and a bonkers terrier, as well as five children who have now left home.



Social Media Links







Purchase Link





3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page