top of page

The Irish Lake House by Colleen Coleman. Review.


Book Description:


Clutching the faded postcard tightly in her hand, Daisy looks around the sun-soaked Irish village. So this is the place her mother ran away from all those years ago… What secrets did she leave hidden here for Daisy to find?



Daisy Clarke is searching for a new beginning. So when she inherits a lake house on the stunning west coast of Ireland that was mysteriously left to her late mother Rose, she wonders if this could be the fresh start she’s been looking for.



Daisy has never visited the tiny village of Innisfree, with its rolling green hills and cobbled streets, but she remembers how her mother’s eyes would fill with tears whenever it was mentioned.Because when she was pregnant, Rose ran away from this magical place in the middle of the night with a heart-breaking secret she never shared…



Arriving in Ireland, Daisy meets James, the handsome lawyer handling her inheritance. With his warm Irish charm, gorgeous sense of humour, and sparkling sapphire blue eyes, he soon makes her heart flip whenever she sees him. And when he offers to renovate the lake house and help her uncover her family history, Daisy begins to wonder if she can open her heart once more.



But when Daisy discovers the shocking truth behind her inheritance and her true family, it changes everything… When the dust settles, will she be able to build a future with James? Or will the secrets of her mother’s past destroy her hopes of a future in the beautiful Irish village she has grown to love?



An absolutely gorgeous, uplifting and heart-warming romance about new beginnings, second chances and finding love. Perfect for fans of Debbie Macomber, Cate Woods and Susanne O’Leary.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Irish Lake House' by Colleen Coleman.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Colleen Coleman, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 13th November 2023.


This is the first book I have read by this author but it most definitely won't be my last!!


This novel consists of 49 chapters and an epilogue The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


OMG! OMG!! I cannot remember the last time I was so gutted to come to the end of a book!! Well done Colleen on an absolutely beautiful book!!!! I absolutely fell in love and it genuinely felt like I was packing my bags and being whisked away from my Irish holiday when I read the last page. Absolutely gorgeous!!!


The book is so well written with its stunning and vivid descriptions that I genuinely felt that I was standing with Daisy throughout feeling the Irish breeze in my hair and smelling the ocean. The synopsis and cover suited the storyline perfectly.


I absolutely loved this gorgeous escapism read that swept me away from the beginning to the end!!! Daisy's life in London as a book illustrator isn't going the way she hopes, her boyfriend wants to take the next step and move in but Daisy is having doubts so when an Irish lawyer called James gets in contact to tell her she has inherited a house from her mother Rose she heads off to Ireland with her best friend Kayla. I was completely glued to the pages from the very first word to the last and I loved travelling to Ireland with Daisy and Kayla. I was absolutely devastated when I came to the end and realised I had to pack my case back up and return to drizzly Wales but when I landed in reality with a thump the first thing I did was added all of Colleen's previous books to my wish list!!! Colleen's stunning evocative descriptions leave you going through and doing everything Daisy is doing and feeling the same emotions. It is ram packed with friendship, mystery, community, romance, secrets and just everything you could ask for in a beautiful read!! The community reminded me very much of where I live where everyone knows everyone and everything but where they also have each others backs when needed and Colleen described it all perfectly. It is an emotional rollercoaster ride of emotions that had me smiling away on so many occasions. I haven't been to Ireland for many years (physically) but this beautiful books makes me want to pack my physical suitcase and head straight there!!! A gorgeous heartwarming book that will leave you wanting more!!!



The characters were all solid, realistic and I loved that they all had their own unique personalities. I wasn't only completely invested in Daisy and Kayla but all of the characters surrounding them and that came in and out of their lives. I was rooting for Daisy and Kayla throughout especially after their heart-breaking history they both deserve much needed hope and happiness!! I loved watching the community interactions and how it reminded me of the village I live in. I also loved watching all the friendships and relationships developing and changing and I would definitely love to meet the majority of the characters again!!! Colleen's fantastic evocative descriptions brought each and every one of them to life and I felt like they are people I could read about again and again.....a series maybe 😉. Congratulations Colleen on creating a fantastic group of characters set in a stunning location with a beautiful storyline. This would make a gorgeous film and I'm looking to meet the next characters you create!!!


Colleen I fell in love with your heart warming, page turning and stunning book which took my heart away and left me gutted when my holiday ended. This is exactly the reason you are now on my favourite author list!! I have already added all your books on my wish lists and I cannot wait for my next Irish adventure!!! Please get these put on the big screen!! Here is to your next gorgeous success 🥂


Overall an absolutely stunning, heart warming romance that will have you heading off to Ireland in the blink of an eye.



357 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle and £8.99 in paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews



@TheIrishLakeHouse @ColleenColeman @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger









Author Bio


Colleen Coleman is an Irish-Canadian novelist. She is the winner of the much-coveted Novelicious Undiscovered People’s Choice Award launched to find the next ‘chick-lit star’. She spent over ten years working as a teacher of English and Philosophy before finally taking a deep breath, scrunching her eyes shut, putting her pen to paper and vowing not to lift it again until she wrote the words The End. As a result, her first novel was born. Colleen lives between London, Ireland and Cyprus with her very patient husband and very, very chatty twin daughters.



Social Media Links











Purchase Links:








6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page