top of page

The Inn On Bluebell Lane by Kate Hewitt. Review

Updated: Aug 13, 2023


Book Description


As Ellie looked at the inn, with its white walls and purple flowers, she couldn’t believe this was her new home. It looked like an idyllic image from a postcard, but would her life here be as picture-perfect?


When Ellie and her family move to a tiny village in rural Wales, it’s meant to be a new beginning for all of them. They have decided to take over her husband’s family inn, leaving behind their old life and troubles in America.


But soon after they arrive, Ellie realizes everything is in a far worse state than she’d ever imagined. And as her husband, Matthew, begins to tackle the renovations, it’s clear that Matthew’s mother, Gwen, has very firm ideas about what can and cannot be changed. And although Ellie tries, she finds it’s not easy to form a closeness with her prickly mother-in-law, especially now they’re living under the same roof.


As the children struggle to settle into rural life, Ellie’s eldest child, Jessica, makes it clear her parents have made a terrible mistake, and Ellie soon wonders if she’s in over her head. Her reality feels a million miles away from the idyllic rural bliss she had hoped to create for her family.


When disaster strikes, Ellie is left wondering why she ever brought her family to this place. But even as things go from bad to worse, she feels sure that the Inn on Bluebell Lane needs her family to restore its fortunes, and that perhaps her family need this magical place to bring them all back together once more…


A gorgeous, escapist story that will leave you imagining the scent of bluebells on every page. Perfect for fans of heart-warming family dramas by Debbie Macomber and Erica James






BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'The Inn On Bluebell Lane' by Kate Hewitt.



Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Kate Hewitt, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous



Publication date 4th August 2023.



This is the sixth book I have read by this author. I have also read 'My Daughter's Mistake', 'When We Were Innocent', 'The Child I Never Had', 'That Night At The Beach' and 'The Wife's Promise' which I would highly recommend. It is also the first book in 'The Inn On Bluebell Lane' series.



This novel consists of a 36 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



'The Inn On Bluebell Lane' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Kate discusses/includes cancer.



WOW!!!! What can I say?!?! One thing I have got to say before getting into my review is clear your schedules and grab the tissues as you will need them!!!



This book is beautifully written with vivid descriptions setting the picture perfectly in the readers mind. The title, description and cover works perfectly with the storyline.



This book is devastatingly heartbreaking and beautiful. It is an absolute rollercoaster ride of emotions filled with heartbreak, anger, family, love, loss, secrets, friendship and so much more. I absolutely LOVE, LOVE, LOVED the fact that it is based in Wales but not just Wales, South Wales which is where I live. I loved recognising the place names and trying to work out where Llandrigg is based on, I came up with a few ideas but would love to know if I was right!!! Kate portrayed Wales perfectly and I my sister in law is from America so I adored all the similarities I was reading. The storyline was just absolutely stunning, not that I ever expect any less from the fantastic Kate Hewitt who, whenever I pick up a copy of her book I just know I am going to fall in love with it and the characters!!! Kate's fantastic and evocative writing skills brings everything and everyone to life leaving the readers smelling the fresh Welsh (although also cold) air, hearing the (many) sheep in the field and visualising the beautiful Bluebell Inn. I completely related to the storyline having moved to a different part of Wales and feeling out of place in an area where everyone is already closely linked and a new face sticks out. I loved that we get to see and feel how each of the main characters are feeling and what they are doing and I really felt I was right next to them all throughout. Reading this book really does make you feel that you are standing with them and going through their pain, love, and suffering. While you are reading this you are going through a journey of love and loss, heartbreak, secrets, love, and anger and so, so much more. It really is a rollercoaster ride of emotions. I was utterly glued to the pages and I could not bring myself to put it down. I was carrying my phone to read it in kindle every chance that I got. I adored the gorgeous ending and cannot wait to get stuck into the next book in this gorgeous series which is called 'Christmas At The Inn On Bluebell Lane'. This book really is an absolutely gorgeous and fantastic start to a new series. You need to clear your schedules and get the tissues at the ready because you will not be able to put this book down. There are some tough topics are explored with realism and sensitivity, that all culminated in a very gripping and powerful page turner. This is one of those books that will stay with me for a long time and although it could be a difficult read at times with emotions running high I would seriously recommend it to anyone and everyone!!




The characters are strong, realistic and I became completely invested in each and every one of them. They all had their own problems, secrets, feelings and all had unique personalities and I just absolutely loved getting to know them all. I felt each of their pain, heartbreak, happiness, anger, sorrow and so much more. My heart broke for each of them who went through so much change and more (but I can't say more as I don't want to spoil the storyline for anyone). I enjoyed getting an inside look into their family lives and relationships with their husbands, children, as well as sibling interactions, that added another layer to the story. Kate does an absolutely amazing job of bringing the story to life and the characters leap out of the pages as your turning them. It is so hard to say what I feel about the characters without giving anything away so I won't say anymore about them as I don't want to go into too much detail at the risk of spoiling it for other readers but yet again Kate has done another amazing job at bringing each of the characters to life. Well done Kate!!!



Congratulations Kate on yet another absolutely gorgeous, heartbreaking beautiful book!!! I am looking forward to reading more of your previous and future books, especially the next book in this srunning series. I would absolutely love to see this book turned into a movie!!! This is why you are on my favourite author list and here's to your next success 🥂



Overall an absolutely unputdownable, thought provoking, addictive and compelling devastatingly beautiful heartbreaking book!!!



365 pages.



This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £8.99 in paperback (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews






@TheInnOnBluebellLane @TheInnOnBluebellLane @KateHewitt @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited































Author Bio:


Kate Hewitt is the author of many romance and women’s fiction novels. A former New Yorker and now an American ex-pat, she lives in a small town on the Welsh border with her husband, five children, and their overly affectionate Golden Retriever. Whatever the genre, she enjoys telling stories that tackle real issues and touch people’s lives.




Social Media Links





Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Kate Hewitt here: https://www.bookouture.com/kate-hewitt







Buy Link



You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo







1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page